We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet, pricey for off season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Save Saved
You added Tamarack Lodge and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tamarack Bike
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Falls Church
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet, pricey for off season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had never travelled to Mammoth Lakes before but had a few days before our reservations in Yosemite. We booked Tamarack based on reviews and their website. The historic lodge and our deluxe one bedroom cabin definitely met expectations. It helped that the weather was perfect. We loved the cozy living room with fireplace and all the amenities in the kitchen and bath. Beautiful view of the lake from our front deck.

One gripe though is that we stayed here from Monday to Wednesday. Because it is off season, the restaurant -- which we had planned to enjoy -- was closed! We didn't want to have to drive back and forth to the town on unfamiliar roads after dinner and wine. That is a small complaint but it would have been appropriate to have been advised of this when we made our booking.

Also, the hotel charges a resort fee of $20 a day...for services that we never used. The breakfast was really poor--hard boiled eggs and stale bagels--and the only thing we wanted to use on the property were kayaks, which were an additional $20 per hour. So in addition to our pretty steep room price we were charged for items that frankly should have been part of the room rate.

All in all, though, we really liked the place. Just would make sure next time what is and isn't included in the rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    34
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
28
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after a long drive from Las Vagas through death valley on our honeymoon and felt very lucky that they had rooms free.
We loved this place - cute and cosy rooms, breathtaking location, helpful staff. We had French onion soup which the restaurant kindly cooked for us in the bar which was delicious.
Would highly recommend, we would love to come back in winter!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

What recommends this place is the stellar and pristine location on Twin Lakes. But if you are up for it, you are better off, value wise, camping in the adjacent Twin Lakes campground.

The biggest problem with the Tamarack is that for the $250 and up they charge - comparable to a business class hotel in any major city, you are not getting anywhere near the service or amenities you should for that price.

We stayed in one of the cabins and it was, well, OK. Despite their upscale marketing pretensions, it is pretty much a rustic cabin with tattered furniture and a nice view. The breakfast, included in your $20 "Resort Fee" (along with internet access) is a joke, worse than a Motel 6 (bring your own). There's a general air of cheapness that pervades this place. A few examples: no napkins or paper towels in the cabins, no extra towels in the bathroom, and old cookware in the kitchen. None of these would be worth mentioning at a $100 a night cabin. They become bigger issues when you realize what you are paying.

Perhaps the biggest feeling we were being had was coming across their asinine marketing ploy that is borderline unethical: if you "like" them on Facebook you can check out late, at noon! Really?! Would a hotel really interested in service stoop to this?

For the money, stay elsewhere, or car camp next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The lodge was just perfect. A rustic wood room from the 20's. My 90 year old mother loved it. The staff was the best (Larry & Tina ) so helpful, with integrity.
Just don't book with Hotels.com they are a rip off.

Yolanda in Tucson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

What a great spot. BUT my booking said breakfast is included then I had to pay 20$ for breakfast and wifi. And the breakfast was cold blue eggs bagels and coffee served in the lobby. We booked.one of the cabins on the lake and we got one right at the back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Tamarack Lodge on the shores of Twin Lakes is a quiet setting with cabins and rooms in the lodge. While I did not stay there, I did frequent its lobby and "facilities" while flyfishing at the lake. That is the purpose of writing this review. I found Tamarack Lodge to be an exception in that it allows non-patrons to use the restroom facilities. I was so surprised that I returned the kindness by purchasing lunch. The staff at the reception desk was exceptionally pleasand and helpful. What a refreshing atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are a family of 5 (with kids aged 15, 13 and 10). We spent 3 nights at Mammoth in August and stayed in a sensational lodge at Tamarack, right on the lake where our angling-mad son could fish all day long. We were self-catering but used the Lodge to rent boats, kayaks and for general advice. The property was spotless and had everything we needed fr a relaxing break. No TV but you can hire DVD players if needed. Would definitely go again - in Mammoth try the sandwiches at the New York Deli - amazing! We went to the Mammoth adventure centre for the day and rode down the new mountain bike trails from the top of Mammoth Mountain (11000 feet!).
We used Mammoth as a stop after Yosemite and en route to LA (5 hour drive to LA).

Room Tip: If you are staying in a lodge ask for on near or on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#5 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Lodge and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.