We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, but what else?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tamarack Lodge and Resort to your Saves list
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lift & Lodging
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, but what else?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

What recommends this place is the stellar and pristine location on Twin Lakes. But if you are up for it, you are better off, value wise, camping in the adjacent Twin Lakes campground.

The biggest problem with the Tamarack is that for the $250 and up they charge - comparable to a business class hotel in any major city, you are not getting anywhere near the service or amenities you should for that price.

We stayed in one of the cabins and it was, well, OK. Despite their upscale marketing pretensions, it is pretty much a rustic cabin with tattered furniture and a nice view. The breakfast, included in your $20 "Resort Fee" (along with internet access) is a joke, worse than a Motel 6 (bring your own). There's a general air of cheapness that pervades this place. A few examples: no napkins or paper towels in the cabins, no extra towels in the bathroom, and old cookware in the kitchen. None of these would be worth mentioning at a $100 a night cabin. They become bigger issues when you realize what you are paying.

Perhaps the biggest feeling we were being had was coming across their asinine marketing ploy that is borderline unethical: if you "like" them on Facebook you can check out late, at noon! Really?! Would a hotel really interested in service stoop to this?

For the money, stay elsewhere, or car camp next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    17
    11
    13
See reviews for
33
70
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The lodge was just perfect. A rustic wood room from the 20's. My 90 year old mother loved it. The staff was the best (Larry & Tina ) so helpful, with integrity.
Just don't book with Hotels.com they are a rip off.

Yolanda in Tucson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

What a great spot. BUT my booking said breakfast is included then I had to pay 20$ for breakfast and wifi. And the breakfast was cold blue eggs bagels and coffee served in the lobby. We booked.one of the cabins on the lake and we got one right at the back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Tamarack Lodge on the shores of Twin Lakes is a quiet setting with cabins and rooms in the lodge. While I did not stay there, I did frequent its lobby and "facilities" while flyfishing at the lake. That is the purpose of writing this review. I found Tamarack Lodge to be an exception in that it allows non-patrons to use the restroom facilities. I was so surprised that I returned the kindness by purchasing lunch. The staff at the reception desk was exceptionally pleasand and helpful. What a refreshing atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are a family of 5 (with kids aged 15, 13 and 10). We spent 3 nights at Mammoth in August and stayed in a sensational lodge at Tamarack, right on the lake where our angling-mad son could fish all day long. We were self-catering but used the Lodge to rent boats, kayaks and for general advice. The property was spotless and had everything we needed fr a relaxing break. No TV but you can hire DVD players if needed. Would definitely go again - in Mammoth try the sandwiches at the New York Deli - amazing! We went to the Mammoth adventure centre for the day and rode down the new mountain bike trails from the top of Mammoth Mountain (11000 feet!).
We used Mammoth as a stop after Yosemite and en route to LA (5 hour drive to LA).

Room Tip: If you are staying in a lodge ask for on near or on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Loved this place! The people who run it could not have been nicer or more accomodating. Our cabin was lovely. I felt as if I was in my own little cabin in the woods. The restaurant was wonderful; fit for a foodie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Lovely, cozy, icy jungle resort alongside the lake and a small water fall makes it a perfect spot for a relaxed weekend. You can plan hiking, bike riding, fishing and a good picnic spot.

Rooms are quite expensive but worth the location and natural beauty around. Friendly staff. We reached very late in the night and the hotel restaurant was closed for the day. But staff were kind enough to prepare soup and salad for hungry and tired souls!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Lodge and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.