We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3372 Main St, US 395 at SR 203/Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent - nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We - a Danish senior couple on a car tour across the US - were heading for San Francisco and stopped at Motel 6 in Mammoth Lakes. Had been in Kingman East Motel 6 as well.
Again a pleasant surprise. Very good value for the money.
Clean, inviting and little things that were not in order were attended to immediately. Lightbulbs out of order.
Everything you need: TV, microwave, fridge, internet and a nice bed with cotton sheets, clean.
Everything was clean, as a matter of fact.
Enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    105
    110
    30
    15
See reviews for
57
126
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this Motel 6 numerous times over the past 2 decades. In all cases the rooms were fairly clean and in decent condition (as in not falling apart), and my last stay was no different. The motel was not particularly full on my last stay, but I don't recall the guests as being particularly rowdy here. I always got a good night's rest after a day of skiing.

Yes the pillows suck and the blanket and towels are thin and the bed has that awful looking bedspread but that's just part of the Motel 6 experience. You can always bring your own towels and pillows and even blankets if it bothers you that much. For the money (and Mammoth is notorious for expensive yet subpar lodging) I can live with these shortcomings. That said, management should note a few things.

This Motel 6 was probably remodeled about 10 years ago and it could use a bit of a facelift again. The toilet and tub were OK but the sink had numerous cracks around the drain. The double-pane windows are a welcome relief from the old single-pane ones it used to have, but as always the door doesn't particularly seal well. Not a problem in summer, but definitely an issue in winter when I usually visit Mammoth. I had to run the heater pretty much the entire night.

Another issue is that the outlets are extremely worn anld wouldn't hold a plug anymore. The few that did work properly were already taken up for the TV and the fridge/microwave. The TV in my room was somewhat problematic in that you would only get snow for a few minutes until it warmed up. It's an old CRT-style TV and perhaps Motel 6 should finally upgrade these to flat screens.

I will continue to stay here though, and for people who aren't picky about their lodgings it's sufficient.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

For the money you pay, you get seriously good customer service. They really charge the least in town and have a great cancelation policy. It's motel 6 though, it doesn't feel like home, the sheets/blanket don't feel new and the towls are very thin and not soft.. good location.. I always come here when I'm at Mammoth by myself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked this upon our NYE trip where most hotels were already fully booked. At first we were skeptical, but decided we wouldn't even be in the room most of our trip so it should work. Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly front desk staff. Our room was very clean and more updated than we expected.There was no weird activity surrounding the hotel and the other guest were normal, so we felt safe. The village and restaurants are in walking distance and there's a bus line nearby that will also take you into town for free! The best part about this hotel is they acknowledged my 15% off coupon without a hassle (even though it was a holiday) and they accept pets which is a huge plus in my books! I would definitely return to this hotel again the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012. The pool was suppose to be warm but was ice cold. Smelly rooms. Had to ask front desk for hairdryer (they only had one to loan out). OVERPRICED FOR THE HOTEL. We booked online through their website. Our printed confirmation showed we paid for 3 rooms all with 2 queen beds, however when we checked in they said it was 3 King rooms. They said they don't have rooms with 2 queen beds (EVEN THOUGH THAT'S WHAT THEIR WEBSITE CONFIRMATION SAID WE PAID FOR) and we would have to pay more for 2 full beds as they were more! Our kids were hungry, it was late, we were tired of arguing and paid more

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

You can never go wrong with motel 6.......mammoth is 79 dollars prime time, little more than 29 dollars we spent in Mojave..anyway staff is hard working, place is clean and quiet. You can easily walk to all places to eat and shop. Ski shuttle is right out front. Same with mountain bike tram....roll all the way to hotel without peddling. Coffee is hot and always ready to roll. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Above pool nice. East lot also fun to watch bears at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This motel was perfectly located on our way from Yosemite NP to Death Valley NP. The room was nice,clean and quiet and the price was great for this location. The staff were friendly. Pool area was nice. I will stay there again during another road trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes

Address: 3372 Main St, US 395 at SR 203/Mammoth Lakes, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes offers a great getaway for all seasons! The top skiing in the country! Mammoth Mountain is 1 mile and June Lake Ski Area is 15 minutes. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Motel Six Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Motel Six
Mammoth Lakes Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.