We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bed and shower after a big backpacking trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3626 Main St. (SR 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful bed and shower after a big backpacking trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here after several days of hiking and climbing in the John Muir wilderness. Just wanted to clean up and get some rest in a real bed. I'm going to go ahead and give this five stars in consideration what you get for the price since this is Mammoth lakes (I paid $79). The two King bed guest room was gigantic with space to sprawl all your gear whether skiing or backpacking. The fridge worked. Shower was strong enough and came with all the basic amenities. Room wasn't spotless, but reasonably clean. So this is a great place if you have a group and need a cheap place to crash so you can save your money for climbing gear and other impulse buys at REI... lol. Super bonuses: Walking distance to a bar and grill called Whiskey Creek that serves 6 types of Mammoth brewery beer on tap. Ski bus stop is just outside the premises. In the morning, great bakery w/ coffee called Schat's that is a few steps away in the opposite direction of Whiskey Creek. Most of all, the owner is committed to improving this property. I stayed a year ago and since then the rooms have been painted, beds replaced, and Direct TV installed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    38
    18
    31
See reviews for
23
44
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I first must say that the front desk was wonderful! Very pleasant and helpful. Being a traveler and staying away from home quite often, I must say that the rooms are very CLEAN! :-) Overall, I had a wonderful experience lodging here and i would recommend this place to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The most important thing is that a motel is clean and the room I got is clean.
It requires some maintenance though. The dead bolt is gone and the tap leaks. I asked for another room and that room the lock didn't work so I just stuck with the original room.
I've seen better Econo Lodges then this one so I give it a poor rating. It is also pricey for what you get.
Also, I received a phone call and an email from Choice Hotels and was advised that this is no longer a Choice franchised establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Check in was good, rooms were adequate, clean and had a table and 2 chairs and a microwave.
Bathroom was ok.
Parking was tight and not very defined. Egress was by the road at the rear.
Pool was closed but the spa was open - did not use.
Breakfast was poor
Motel is a little away from facilities so had to drive for most things - only 2 restaurants in close walking distance. We ate in one night thank goodness for the table and chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel figuring it would be a decent place, but with mnimal extras. Did not quite expect what I actually had.

The front desk peresonnel were nice, they actually offered an upgrade, but upon entering the room, I definitely would not have liked to have seen my original room. Besides being generally tired interior; you could where former locks had been, some minor mildew in bathroom, curtains not completely hung correctly.

Wasn't expecting much, however my biggest complaint was that when I went to check out in the morning, nobody was available for me to turn in my keys. I expect hotels to have personnel availabe after 6:00 AM, however, nobody was there. Called on the phone for the front desk, nobody responded. After leaving to fill up my gas tank I came back and eventually someone was there around 7:00 AM

I don't use the pool, but as others have noted it was empty during the summer months.

This caused me to start later than I had wanted to when heading to Yosemite.

As a one night stay it was okay, but I had a better and nicer stay in a similar econo lodge the previous two nights for less half the price. I think the Comfort Inn chain needs to do a better job of policeing their franchise hotels.
About the only other good thing about this hotel was that is was close to Devil's Postpile National Monument.

This is an instance where I wished I had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn for a night in June. We were on the way to Yosemite. The town was nice. The room was OK. The breakfast was inadequate. The parking and landscape were bad. The rate was cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helendale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wish I'd looked at the reviews on this site first. The pool is drained, the spa is cold. They wouldn't clean the room. The first day they put the do not disturb sign on the room and blamed us. The next day we specifically asked for the room to be cleaned and they didn't. We left the next day. When we asked the front desk for information about the area they couldn't answer. They directed me to a poster for a pancake breakfast that was 2 weeks old. Then he was rude to another guest. When the guest walked out on him and he looked at us and said, "what's wrong with that joker?" The positives are it's the cheapest place in town (for very good reasons) and the breakfast is adequate. The room had 2 double beds and a double cot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn

Address: 3626 Main St. (SR 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Wildwood Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Econolodge Mammoth Lakes
Econo Lodge Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.