We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3626 Main St. (SR 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Honaunau
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“truly awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place was terribly run down. Okay if you're not particular and looking for the best price in town. We were overcharged and told that the "regular" clerk was on vacation, so couldn't help us. Breakfast was tang, milk, tea or coffee. A couple of cereals, packaged oatmeal (no microwave, just hot water), powdered sugar doughnuts or chocolate chip cookies. Was quiet, but off season. Parking was very tight and not a lot of spaces. There was a microwave, refrigerator and hair dryer in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    38
    18
    31
See reviews for
23
44
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I chose this place because the pictures looked good and it seemed like a step up from where I usually stay. We got a call from the manager asking where we were. She was calling to tell us she was going to leave the room key on the outside of the door because she was going to go to bed. It's very typical for the motels and condos to do this in Mammoth Lakes, especially since most people arrive between 9pm and 2am.

Upon arrival, we found a BIG issue. Parking. There was no place to park. We ended parking on the street in the back due to lack of spots. The parking lot was also extremely tight, very difficult to maneuver in even with just a few cars.

When we got to the room, we had a hard time figuring out how to get the room open since the key is a put it close type rather than a put it in and pull out. This is a very neat idea, especially since the other hotels have an issue with the put in and pull out type freezing over and getting stuck because of ice getting stuck inside.

The inside of the room was spacious. The TV had DirectTV with plenty of channels to choose from. There was a fridge and microwave. Then comes the bad stuff. We found the walls were cracked, the chairs were missing support to keep your butt from sinking below the supports. When they painted the room, they were rather sloppy. They didn't even bother to take the picture frames off the wall because you could see paint on all sides of the frame. There was also paint on the plug of the coffee maker, which I thought was interesting.

The shower had plenty of hot water, but the fan did close to nothing to help evacuate the steam. When the room got all steamy, we noticed that someone had drawn a dick on the window. (Means they don't clean the window, in case the paint and dirt didn't give it away) The glass window was only single paned, providing a very cold breeze to be generated. The walls were very thin and since our room was right on the road, you could not only hear but also feel the cars' noises throughout the room. Upon more thorough inspection, we found that the supports holding up the roof on the outside of the building were definitely not up to code since pieces of the 4"x4" were notched out and it wasn't securely fastened

The continental breakfast could barely even be called a snack. There was hot coffee. for food they had cereal (which appeared to have been there a while), chocolate chip cookies (which weren't fresh), and donuts (which appeared to have been hostess ones from the grocery store). The WiFi didn't really work and quite frankly, I would just consider that the motel has no working WiFi.

Although the owner is very friendly, with all the other issues, this place was definitely over priced for it's value and I would choose to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The owner is very very nice. I drove from new iersey staying at hotels across the country and the friendliness of the staff is what inspired me to write a review for them. For the price it was a great hotel. I didn't expect a 1300 sq ft room in top condition , only idiots should expect that when paying $70 for a room. My only complaint would be the rigid stairs right in front of the lobby door....they weren't very friendly for my dogs paws and its a pet friendly hotel. Maybe they should lay carpet on half of them. However it is in a ski town so the stairs Are meant for boots and such. I was so happy to have stayed at a cheap hotel that finally provided soap and shampoo. They even had a hot tub and the front desk guy was nice enough to make sure the temperature of it was perfect for us! Teeny tiny breakfast provided in the morning too. It was very clean and spacious for a cheap hotel in such an expensive place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very inexpensive but very run-down place to sleep between days on the slopes. Very clean, though blankets and curtains had holes. It's a place to sleep (though that's tough on the very hard beds). Had a jacuzzi, but did not look clean enough to get in, shed behind the pool area piled with junk and trash. Bus stop to slopes right out front and the staff is very friendly. All furniture and the place itself is ramshackled or broken. Hair dryer, bedside clock, both didn't work. Sinks are in the room with tub and toilet in the enclosed bath.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the parking lot or the back, overlooking an apartment complex. Backside rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I think this is a very basic hotels and has all the necessary items. There aren't very much to boast about. They have a very friendly staff and its in a convenient location close to the mountain. Great for last min reservations and it actually gets fully booked. Don't expect a printer to print anything or an office. Beds were old so not extremely comfy. I guess I would return if I wanted to save money and booked last min. No fitness center, no restaurant.. just hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

For $70 a night on the weekend, this place is a great deal. It is within walking distance of the Village. The large outdoor hot tub is great. Beyond this, the hotel will meet nothing beyond your basic needs (which is fine if that is all you're looking for!). The front desk staff lacked customer service skills. The breakfast was OK (some pastries, cereal, oatmeal and coffee) but I was rather turned off by the gallon of milk that sat on the counter all morning. The room was very small, but served its purpose of a place to sleep and shower. So basically, if you just need a place to crash while you enjoy Mammoth, this place will do just fine, but don't set your expectations too high!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked a room here knowing i was going to be in and out and just there to hit the slopes. The room was decent sized, but the bathroom was... well, what you'd expect.

The air/heat unit was loud, but if you didn't keep it on, the room got stuffy pretty quick. It was clean enough, but the bed wasn't the most comfortable. BUT - the room just worked. It did it's job.

Why 2*? the front desk doesn't stay open late to check you in, but they'll leave a key out for you - which is a plus... but they will charge you as a no-show for the first night, which doesn't help those of us who collect the points. Probably not a big deal to most, but it was odd when I tried to contact customer service about it.

I'd stay again if i needed a place to stay - but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn

Address: 3626 Main St. (SR 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Wildwood Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Econolodge Mammoth Lakes
Econo Lodge Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.