We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3626 Main St. (SR 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

it is exactly what u would expect for a 1 1/2 star place. not the cleanest. we stayed in room 115, there were 4 of us, only had 2 towels in room one of which was dirty. when i requested 3 more i was only given 2, as they had none left. hot tub was fine and is outdoors. room was very large and had a pull out sofa bed. really close to mammoth village/ mountain. about a 10min walk great for walking home after going out. nice staff. mini fridge and microwave in room. old soap left on window sil in bathroom. overall acceptable. oh beds were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    38
    18
    31
See reviews for
23
44
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during the summer.
The room was small. The breakfast was basic and you have to take it to your room. I was on the first floor so this was a little tricky. However, I think you get exactly what you paid for.
Nice location and friendly staff are the positive aspect of this review.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Wyoming
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I booked over the phone and got a "deal" for $70 a night by the person working at the front desk, that included our 2 dogs. We arrived later that evening and were told the person working earlier did not know the rates, so we were charged another $10... so with tax, we ended up paying $91 a night.

The room was pretty trashed. it wasn't filthy, but the walls and carpet were not very clean. My guess is we got the room that they put people with dogs in.. which to some extent is expected, however... the bathroom was used as a cage by someone earlier with dogs, and had chuncks of door and wall missing, as they were chewed to shreds, along with a TP holder that was gone. This room really should not be rented in the condition it was in.

The bed was firm, but do-able. Internet did not work, as they did not pay their bill (this is what it said when you tried to log into the hotel connection). Technical problems was the excuse from the front desk.

It's a tough call for the cheapest lodging in Mammoth, as rates are rediculous all over town for such crummy accomodations. It's really about what you can afford and are willing to put up with more than anything. My suggestion is, pay a few more bucks for a better place... if you are really broke, and can get a room here somehow for under $65 a night... it might be OK for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

When in the Mammoth Lakes area and you are looking for a 'no frills - great value' stay, look no further. I had stayed at another 'value oriented' lodging in the past and was turned away by the trend of negative input. The Econo Lodge has the best franchisee -- 'Kenny'! He is personable, responsive to requests, and in this business environment, very professional. The ammenities were clean, TV was perfect, and the hot tub was the best in Mammoth. Warm rooms with hot water, the hot tub was a great meeting place and new friends to discuss the days' skiing adventures with, and was walking distance for Village nightlife - ( a shuttle is available for those who do not want to walk 4 minutes ). It does not get much better than this! PS - I did not know Kenny prior to this visit so check it out for yourself!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenny55, General Manager at Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for your great stay at EconoLodge. We do appreciate your business and visit to our hotel. See you Soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We have stayed at most of the hotels and condos in and around Mammoth as we are season pass holders for the mountain. On this particular trip it was myself and 2 friends. We were going to be arriving in Mammoth late and decided since we would only be staying at the hotel for a few hours we would take a chance on the Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn since it seemed reasonably priced.

We booked the room online and upon arrival we were charged an additional $38.75 in fees and taxes. When we entered the room we were immediately greeted with a strong odor of urine. We thought it could have possibly been animal urine since they allow pets at the hotel but after pulling back the sheets it appeared someone at one time had not made it to the bathroom. This bed was not used by after learning of the urine stains.

It was also freezing in our room. This was mainly because of a broken window and the several inches of snow on the window seal and floor. This snow was not melted and had been accumulating for who knows how long. The room was at least 32 degrees and the unmelted snow was proof.

We notified the front desk and since they refused to do anything about the window (since it was after midnight) we requested additional blankets. They seemed bothered that we were asking for additional blankets and once provided it was obvious the blankets had not been washed. They smelled like a mixture of cigarette smoke, garlic and anchovies. The front desk clerk instructed us to fill the hole in the window with a bath towel and they would have someone fix it in the morning. Wow, this was a great idea and it did stop the snow from coming in the room. Tape and cardboard also would have been a good choice and preferably before we arrived.

We were very disgusted in the way we were treated and the quality of our room but decided to stick it out since we only needed somewhere to sleep for 5 hours or so. We all put on our snowboard clothing and slept in that using only the blankets that did not smell like death.

Sometime around 2:00 AM we heard noise at the front door and people talking loudly. Then our door opened and we jumped to our feet. The two guys that had just opened our door looked as shocked as we did. It was later learned that they were staying in the room next door but somehow their key managed to open our door. Since my group was all guys we laughed it off. We later questioned, what if this had been our wives staying in the room and the two guys who had opened the door were not decent people.

While getting ready in the morning I was lucky enough to find a dead mouse behind the trash can in the bathroom. For some reason none of us even seemed surprised by this.

By the way there was a heater in the room and it did run the entire time we were there. The snow was still on the floor when we left so I guess it’s safe to say that it didn’t work.

We complained to the front desk clerk while turning in our keys in the morning. He did apologize for the “less than desirable stay” and offered a 20 percent discount on our next stay. (There wont be a next time, trust me.)

Leaving this experience behind us we had a great breakfast at the Good Life Café and an awesome day on the mountain.

If you are used to staying in unsecured transient camps this might be the place for you. If not I would look elsewhere.

If you must stay here avoid room 113. Its bottom floor in the middle of the building.Maybe this room is only handed out to those who book online at a discount.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenny55, Manager at Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
I really don't know if this review belong to this hotel or not still we would say sorry for your experience. After reading your review it seems like there was nothing right with the room at all. Also, we were sold out this past president weekend and none of the guest have complained or brought to our attention about window being broker or anything. Also, we don't have room No. 113 therefore it seems like this review must be for different hotel or something. We know very well that we can't rent room that is not been made up. Yeah sometimes housekeepers do make mistakes but the management of EconoLodge knows how to take care of the problems. Still on behalf of, EconoLodge we are very sorry for your stay whereever it was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

I have stayed here many times and have always had a very positive experience. I've greatly enjoyed the hot tub under the stars which always seems to be kept at just the right temperature. Other hotels at which I've stayed in the area--that would be nine others--rarely managed to provide this simple feature in any sort of reliable way. The rooms with double beds are exceptionally spacious and a number of the single rooms upstairs have lovely views. The continental breakfast is on a par with other hotels in Mammoth. What is exceptional here, apart from the price, is the warm and welcoming ambiance and especially attentive service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stay here if you want to sleep in grime that other people left behind. Bottom line if you don't read the rest, you can find a cheaper nicer place to stay in Mammoth (holiday haus) or a slightly more expensive place that is far superior (private cabin). The man behind the counter was extremely rude. The first room they tried to get me to stay in smelled like urine, I asked for a different room. The room they moved me to was like a fishbowl, everyone in town was looking right into my room. There were spiderwebs on the walls and BEER BOTTLES under my bed. Tacky Indian (not native american) religious decorations adorn the room... which wasn't clean at all. There was an old tomato slice from someones dinner under my comforter. At 3am a drunk was pounding on the walls and yelling for someone to let him into his room.. this went on for a half an hour. I tried calling the front desk but no one ever answered. I finally had to deal with the man myself. The towels are very rough and the sheets on the bed made my skin itch. Also, if you stay here they charge $40 to check your luggage with them. All other hotels in Mammoth will check your luggage for FREE. This place offers free coffee, but it's stale and watered down. for $1 you can get high quality coffee down the street from stellar brew.

I left this hotel and was glad to find a different one that is owned and operated by Americans who understand the English language. There are many other places to stay in Mammoth where you will be treated respectfully and will spend less money for a better value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenny55, General Manager at Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Sir,

One thing we have been promising and providing to all our guests are clean rooms and quality service just name few.....

We are very sorry about your unpleasant experience with out hotels. We strive to provide the best possible service to our customers and provide very clean rooms.....We don't charge extra to provide extra amenities and extra services to our guest.....we have held luggage’s for few days for our customers w/o any charges....but we don't hold the luggage for the guest who are not registered even if they want to pay extra....We have sold over 8000 rooms out 11000 total rooms.....we have lots of happy and repeat clients staying with us for few years.....In Mammoth due to heavy snow and moisture, rooms tend to have smell but not urinated....and you know that there is bathroom in each room so that smell is not from urine....we promise to make your next experience very pleasant if you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn

Address: 3626 Main St. (SR 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Wildwood Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Econolodge Mammoth Lakes
Econo Lodge Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.