We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Save Saved
You added Westin Monache Resort Mammoth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I'm not sure how old this hotel is, but it's either new or well-maintained. Our room had all the amenities you would expect from Westin, but it even had little touches that were fitting for its location. For example, it had coat hooks which came in very handy with the multiple jackets we had for our trip (each of us had a casual jacket and a hiking jacket). Our room met my expectations that I typically require, namely a comfortable bed and a clean room. But, what made this hotel excel (and hence the 5 star rating) is the staff. Not only was every single staff member we came across super friendly (which is so critical to how much I enjoy a trip), but they went above and beyond. For example, having never been in the area, we called a number of times asking about different hiking trails. Not only did we get friendly advice, but when we found out that we wouldn't be checking in before the concierge left for the day, the concierge left several handwritten papers explaining a few different trails at the front desk for us to have when we checked in! Also, there were little things that I really valued - for example, when we gave a small tip (just $2) to the bellhop for bringing our luggage to our room, he seemed genuinely pleased to receive it. I don't remember the last time I have experienced that - nowadays, it seems like everyone expects to get a tip whether or not they actually deserve it. My only wish-for for this hotel is that it is in Yosemite vs. Mammoth Lakes which is further from SF where I live. Oh well; can't win them all. But, despite the extra 1.5-2 hour drive, I'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    153
    47
    22
    15
See reviews for
247
209
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Got off on the wrong foot with this place after being told we were unable to use either bar or restaurant at check-in as they were hosting a wedding. Appreciate hotels have to maximise revenue streams, especially out of season, but someone with a little forethough could have advised us of this before we arrived - it's just not what you need after a six hour drive, especially when the place is a ghost town and the only alternative is a bleak Mexican establishment serving horrendous food. If we'd known we coud have made alternative travel plans. Otherwise the hotel was ok.When we did finally get to eat there on our second night, the restaurant food was surprisingly good but a little expensive, but the service was top class. Buck on Concierge was a colourful character who was very helpful with advice on walking routes. The rooms were small for the price but ours a great mountain view and was clean, tidy and well designed in that bland hotel way, so forgiveable. On the other hand, the compulsory purchase of a $25-a-day all-in Valet parking / wireless connection fee is a rip-off and plain wrong. So nothing disasterous, but nothing standout - and that's what we hoped for from a Westin and a hotel that purpotes to be the leading facility in Mammoth.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010 via mobile

The rooms arent big, bit the facilities are newer and nice and you cant get closer to the village in fact your in the village! It does get loud, we heard the Brahman Kelleher show at Lakinuki and I could practically sing along to "Missing You!"

The retaurant food was delicious!

Overall a good time!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport coast, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Mammoth is a dog friendly town and this is one friendly dog hotel. Westin beds for the dogs as well as a special bag of goodies for them upon arrival. They didn't have a bunch of nonsense rules regarding the dogs (like not leaving them unattended in the room.)

The hotel is beautiful and the service was so great. The food was really good & they have special appetizers for a reduced price from 4-6. Our room was spacious and fully stocked with a full mini kitchen. It was just a great experience. 1st time we have travelled with our dogs and we will definitely be back. So many hotels that take dogs are old and run down. This hotel takes them then cleans the carpet and furniture after the guests check out. I am assuming that they just consider the cleaning cost as part of the cost of doing business. It definitely will draw me to Westin in the future whether or not I have dogs with me. The heavenly beds are also a big draw.

The hotel is right across the street from the Village. Lots of entertaining things to do there.

I just have to say after staying here and in Beaver Creek, CO, Westin really has their finger on the pulse of what hotel guests want.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband, nine year old son, and I stayed at the Westin Monache in Mammoth over Labor Day weekend. The Monache is a very nice resort with all of the amenities and centrally located to the village. It even allows dogs; which is a plus. The hotel is very clean and staff were very helpful. Unfortunately on top of their already pricey rates they charge an additional $25/night for valet parking & other misc amneties. I found that to be a bit steep. We ended up using our vehicle quite a bit and parked it ourselves and the only amenity we used was the hot tub and pool. I don't feel that they should impose a charge for stuff that we are not going to use. But besides that additional fee it was a wonderful hotel. We've been going up to Mammoth for many years and I think next time I'll just rent a condo like we have done so in the past. It comes out to about the same price (maybe even a little cheaper for a condo) but at least we get more than one room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Great place, except the room was too hot. The only way we could cool the room down was to turn the air conditioning on, and then it was blowing in our face.
Doona's/bedding as you would expect at a Westin Hotel, really cozy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room and hotel very modern, even had its own fireplace. Got the impression that it was only a few years old.
The hotel is in the newer part of town and unfortunately we were only there for the one night.
We didn't eat at The Westin, as we wanted to try some of the nice restaurants in town for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We were greeted by very friendly staff upon our arrival. We were put in a top floor nicely appointed room. It seemed rather noisy (mechanical equipment, etc.) during the day, however upon retiring for the night, it became a torture chamber. The mechanical noise turned out to be the main exhaust fan for the building. To make it worse, it had a constant rattling sound kind of like dripping water on a metal gutter. The refrigerator was running constant and was also very noisy. The air conditioning was so noisy that we had to turn it off and sleep in a 76 degree room. In the morning, when told of these problems, staff was very apologetic and offered a free breakfast. This was nice of them, but a partial refund would have been better. Lesson learned: CHECK you room carefully before accepting.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.