We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UPGRADES” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Monache Resort Mammoth to your Saves list
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
“UPGRADES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

I will just say that everything about this hotel is beyond excellent! I will not stay anywhere else when visiting Mammoth! My comment isn't about the hotel, it's about other guest! It doesn't take a rocket scientist to choose what kind of room you want when making your reservation so don't wait until check in to "UPGRADE". After driving six hours we are tired and just want to get into our room but then we have those four out of five people in front of us who want an "UPGRADE" which causes the rest of us to wait longer to get checked in. Get a grip people! You aren't the only ones checking into this fine hotel so have some concideration for others!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    170
    51
    26
    16
See reviews for
272
237
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

The Monache was a perfect retreat after a day in the snow. The one bedroom suite is small but well-maintained and terrifically comfortable. The heavenly bed lived up to the hype and the small kitchenette includes a small fridge, cook top, dishes, utensils, blender, toaster etc. so it's fully functional.

Overall the staff was friendly, except for the hostess (morning) at the Whitebark- she was pretty frosty, and seemed annoyed that I did not want to sit next to a column that blocked a view of the beautiful scenery. The valet got a bit backed up and the parking lot is tricky to navigate if you self park (narrow and windy). But none of this eclipsed my enjoyment of the accomodations and convenience ( to Canyon Lodge gondola and Village eateries).

My kids wished they had Disney Channel and a Nintendo game cube like at Embassy Suites . I have 10 year old boys and I could not convince them to stay at the Kid's Club because there was a TV showing a princess movie and an arts and crafts activity- WM should consider getting a Wii Player or something for the older kids. However, they liked the hotel.

From an adult perspective, the Monache is my new favorite reason to come to Mammoth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Our family of five stayed at the Westin from 4/5/10 to 4/10/10. We had a wonderful time. The spring skiing at Mammoth was incredible. The Gondola to Canyon Lodge is right outside the hotel. So you are skiing within minutes of walking out of the hotel. Even better - ski storage is free at the base of the Gondola for Westin guests, so you don't have to hassle with your skis until you are about to get on the gondola. We had our car with us, but never used it until the last day when we drove to Eagle Lodge. Everything we wanted was within walking distance from the hotel. We ate at restaurants in the Village (right across the street) several times and there is a Starbucks there as well for my morning latte habit. We ate at Gomez's (mexican food) - it was good with very friendly service, the Smokehouse, which was also good with good service. Our overall favorite was probably Lakanuki (also the cheapest). My kids LOVED the $5.00 happy hour special Buffalo wings, and I had one of the best Mai Tais I've ever had and it was only $3.50. The pulled pork sandwich was good and we also had some good salads there as well. We also went to Ben & Jerry's for icecream a couple of times and the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Co. for caramel apples. We did eat at the hotel's restaurant, Whitebark, the first night. It was good but not great. Pretty standard for this type of hotel.
There are some things about the hotel that I didn't love. The rooms are pretty small. We stayed in a 1 bedroom "suite", which was the smallest of any Westin we have ever stayed in. The bedroom was fine, but the bathroom was tiny. It was a shower/tub combo and it didn't even have the standard Westin Heavenly duel headed shower. The sink/vanity was ridiculously small - like something that you would find in a powder room. There was very little room to put any of your toiletries out on the sink. The room has what they call a "kitchenette", which I think is a stretch. It has a microwave and two burners. The refrigerator is small and full of honor bar drinks. We had just enough room to fit one gallon of milk and a couple of bottles of water. Luckily I had brought an ice chest with us in the car, so we filled that up with ice and could store our doggie bags from dinner, etc... and some bottles of water. The fridge did have an unusually large icemaker for it's size, which came in handy for filling up the ice chest. The hotel also has a laundry room for guests, which we used to wash ski clothes, etc... and I very much appreciated that feature. The pool area with two hot tubs was nice, and we went in the hot tubs several times.
My two boys (10 and 8) slept in the sofa bed, which when pulled out, took up the entire living room. There was absolutely no extra room for a roll-away bed, so my 5 year old had to sleep with us in the King bed. Next time I will definitely go for two standard rooms instead of the suite, as the suite just wasn't big enough. We paid with Starpoints - so it would have been the same cost. Overall, the hotel is very nice. It is extremely clean and we had good, friendly service from every person we encountered. The location absolutely cannot be beat - but everything is just a little smaller than other Westins, from the front entrance, to the lobby to the rooms. The only negative about the location, is the approx. 120 stairs that you have to go down (and then up) to get to the Village or Gondola. They were a total pain and everyone in our group is young and in good shape. If you were with an elderly person or someone with some physical limitations, it would be very difficult to go up and down those stairs. An escalator or moving carpet would be a huge improvement. We would definitely stay here again because it is certainly the nicest hotel in Mammoth, and the location is extremely convenient. The hotel also has a shuttle, that will take you anywhere in the area that you want to go (it is included in the $25 daily resort fee) - However, we never used it, but saw people using it. I believe it will even pick you up from the airport - which is something that we plan on utilizing next time. The positives definitely outweigh the negatives here, and you will have a great vacation if you stay at the Westin Monache.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Primarily the hotel is impeccably maintained and overall the service is sure, swift and friendly..................restaurant fare for breakfast costs about what you expect in any upscale property. The exploding bugaboo for all guests is the written note announcement AT CHECK-IN that in addition to your QUOTED room/suite rate is "such-and-such" BUT you are also responsible for an additional $25.00 per day resort fee.......the shuttle to and from the airport and around town is allegedly included in the resort fee...however, the glaring presence of TIP CONTAINERS on all shuttles leaves one feeling a bit charged twice.
People do NOT pay an additional $25.00 to shop in Nordstoms or on Rodeo Drive.....the resort fee results in a feeling of being gently ripped-off. Overall, the hotel is smartly turned out but you are not going into the night to the likes of Aspen, Deer Valley, Sun Valley et al..........................bottom line: the Westin's winter rates are not reflective of a ski holiday in Mammoth...............close but not where it needs to be!!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

What a great way to go on a ski vacation. We dropped off our luggage and gear to the bellman at the front, ran inside to check in, and then parked our car into the nice, warm underground parking garage. After that we never needed our car again because everything we needed was just a short walk away -- ski gondola,restaurants, shops, everything. (And no more having to dig our car out of the snow either).

Our room was cozy but very high quality compared to the run-of-the-mill decor of most other properties in Mammoth. Very nice, comfortable bed. Loved the fireplace you can start just a flick of the light switch! Yes, fridge was a bit noisy but not enough to make me not want to stay there. But all in all, everything in the room just screamed quality.

One great feature was the Westin Kids Club. As a guest you send your kids there for FREE in the afternoon to early evening and have some quiet time all to yourselves.

The stairs were definitely a bit of a workout but well worth the effort. The first time is the hardest because your body has not yet adjusted to the mountain air but it does tend to get easier -- especially if you take a little rest between flights. All in all the minor inconveniences were well worth it to stay at the best full-service facility in all of Mammoth!

Oh, and one little tip -- be sure to ask for the handicap room if available because the bathroom is huge and the studio room is so much wider than the other studios!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

The suite was great with a nice fireplace. Right next to a gondola. The staff was extremely helpful. The food was excellent, in particular the poutine and the duck rolls. I will come back to ski at Mammoth just to stay at this great hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

This is it, stay here and enjoy a wonderful hotel, resort. Rooms a little small but very very nice, area is beautiful, just drive up into the mountains a short distance for oustanding scenery.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.