We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Monache Resort Mammoth to your Saves list
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Pedro
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I spoke with Natalie Post here and she gave us wonderful service with our reservations. We had to make a change due to an emergency and her kindness has made this our top choice to stay up here. Still up here, will give another review when we check out. Perfect place in the Village, can catch shuttle to the slopes. LOVE it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you Travelpro4You, we all appreciate your business and the time you spent providing this wonderful review. Natalie is a tremendous member of our team and a great example of the passion and pride our staff exhibits on a daily basis. I hope we can be your hospitality partner every time you are in Mammoth Lakes. We all look forward to your next visit to the Westin Monache.

Be Well!

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    170
    51
    26
    16
See reviews for
272
237
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We, two adults and two children, stayed here as part of our trip from San Francisco through to Vegas and the Grand Canyon. We didn't know too much about the Mammoth Lakes area, in fact it was only just by chance that we happened to book this hotel and this destination.
However, we just loved the area, there is a lot of natural beauty and the surrounding lakes are just amazing. I found the Westin to be extremely comfortable, the room - we had a one bedroom suite - was large enough to accommodate everyone. The location of the hotel is great, only a short distance to the village and other shops and food outlets. We were only here for three nights, I wished we had stayed longer as other parts of our trip were not up to the standard we encountered here.
The parking was free and was really easy to get your vehicle in and out of the car park, there is a laundry on site which is great if you are traveling for a while. There is also a kids club, which our kids really liked.
The swimming pool area was great, even though it was cool weather wise the pool was always heated and the kids loved it.
We had no complaints about our stay here and would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for writing this very nice and informative review. Your overall "wellness" is the central pillar of a Westin Branded stay. I am happy you included our property on your trip through the Eastern Sierra-Nevada's. It would seem we achieved our goal of making you feel better when you depart versus when you arrived. We look forward to your return. Thanks again for your business!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

*Disclaimer* We are members of the Starwood Preferred Guests program and told the hotel prior to our arrival that we were celebrating our anniversary. Upon arrival, we were cheerfully greeted with champagne flutes and smiles at the front desk. We had a deluxe studio suite on a high floor away from the elevator. The hotel is tastefully decorated and smells fantastic. They cram a lot into these rooms! The king suite had a kitchenette, small table and chairs, sofabed and coffee table and a window seat and fireplace. Our fireplace wasn't working and we called down to the front desk who immediately sent someone up to light the pilot light. A few minutes later while we were sitting in front of the fireplace, another knock came at the door. We opened it to find a tray with a welcome platter and handwritten note from the staff thanking us for choosing their hotel to celebrate our anniversary. It was such a sweet surprise! After our dinner at the local Chart House, we returned and retreated to the whirlpool (the whirlpool and heated pool stay open until 10PM). I made sure to inquire about a possible later checkout time on Sunday which we were graciously granted. The king bed is very comfy (although the mattress may be too soft for some). Although we were only here for one night, I'd enthusiastically recommend this Westin to anyone looking for first class service and a beautiful atmosphere. We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Happy Anniversary! Thank you choosing the Westin Monache to celebrate you special occasion. The staff loves to learn about special stays and then "Surprise and Delight" our guests. We are proud to be a Westin Hotel and we look forward to providing all guests with a branded Westin experience. I am happy to read we were able to provide a late check-out; it is much harder to accommodate this request during the busy season. Please make us apart of your vacation plans again in the not-too-distant future!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during the start of the winter season. The hotel was lovely, really luxurious with 2 massive jacuzzi's and a heated swimming pool. It's located within easy access to both Mammoth village and town and there is a free shuttle to take you where you want to go. We also ate in the excellent hotel restaurant. We found the staff really helpful and loved our really relaxing stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Weejen21, thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are all very proud to be associated with the Westin Brand. The Westin mission is to provide a "Wellness" experience based on our 6 pillars - Eat Well, Play Well, Feel Well. Work Well, Sleep Well, and Move Well. I am happy to read you really enjoyed Whitebark, our restaurant. We have a new Executive Chef and he making a lot of positive changes to both the food and wine menus. I hope you will come visit us again soon.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed a night at the Westin Monache , a very welcoming hotel ,staff very friendly and attention to detail was first class. The room was excellent and bed so comfy.
We dinned at the hotel restaurant and had a excellent meal.

My only problem was we only had one night at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for the nice review; we take great pride in being a Westin Hotel. In addition, thank you for mentioning our staff. They work very hard to ensure all our guests enjoy a Westin Branded experience. We hope you return for more renewal, for more nights, in the not-to-distant future. Thank you for your business, we all really appreciate!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Although it is not the easiest place to access, once you arrive you won't have to travel very far. This dog friendly hotel has everything a hiker, mountain biker, fisherman/woman or skier could desire. Located on the immediate outskirts of Mammoth Lakes village, it is just a gondola ride away from the newly built St. Regis and a short drive away from 3 very fishing-friendly lakes where we photographed our first black bear in the wild. On top of this, the room itself exceeded our expectations. It provided cooking facilities - stove top, microwave, small fridge, and sink along with dishes and cooking utensils - along with the pillow top queen bed for which Westin is noted, a large screen TV, and a great mountain view. An across-the-street free shuttle is provided to the lakes, the town, and the Mammoth Mountain gondola. And, it is only a 40 minute drive to the east entrance of Yosemite, the side less visited by most tourists. Who could ask for more!! Staff is friendly and helpful, shopping is abundant, and woody surroundings a bonus. It more than exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this very informative review. Seeing a black bear in the wild is really something special; I am glad you were able to experience that moment. Mammoth Lakes, CA offers an incredible variety of outdoor activities and does have a very active nightlife. Thank you for choosing the Westin; we anxiously await your return.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as a stop between Vegas and Yosemite during October (off-season).
This hotel was a nice place to stay, I booked a one bedroom with balcony and that's what I got - on 5th floor, overlooking the village (as Gold SPG we did get a glass of free bubbly each, but nothing extra). (Actually the free bubbly was a bit weird, we had just driven 6 hours from Vegas, hauled our luggage into the lobby, checked in and then ... had to drag luggage over to sitting area so we could gulp the bubbly before getting up to our room. Nice touch though)

There is a resort fee which covers parking and wifi and is advertised. Wifi was fine when we were there. The weird things is you only get the water once per stay - it's not replenished. Kinda weird for a resort fee ....

The room is comfy and as advertised. Had to get a man to come and set the pilot light on the gas heater though. Windows and doors are double-glazed which is nice but the balcony door lets in a little draught somehow.

View was pretty after the snow. This is a dog-friendly hotel, all the dogs were saw were well behaved and we didn't see any 'evidence' lying around the property so the owners must be pretty responsible.

Overall kind of pricey for off-season, but a very nice place to stay. Would be a lot busier in winter though.

Room Tip: No upgrades for SPG members as this is a condo, so book the room you want.
See more room tips
Green Features: Wanted to skip the housekeeping but my partner likes fresh towels. Get 500 SPG points if you do though!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank You Welly-China-Girl for choosing the Westin Monache for your hospitality needs while in Mammoth Lakes, CA. I appreciate your business and the detailed review. Our mission at Westin Hotel’s is to ensure you leave feeling refreshed and renewed. I hope you will consider us again the next time you are in Mammoth Lakes.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.