We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Monache Resort Mammoth to your Saves list
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
Highland, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Jewel in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The rooms were very clean. Modern furnishings with nice art work. Lovey pool and spa. Great location with several dining options. Robes kitchen with all the amenities. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you Darlene Lynn, we pride ourselves on clean rooms and Westin service. I appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I hope you find more time to visit us again in the future.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    170
    51
    26
    16
See reviews for
272
237
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So. Calif. desert
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have stayed here twice this summer and came back due to our first great experience. The hotel is dog friendly with no added fee. The rooms are modern with a small fireplace and small kitchen. the restaurant is the best in Mammoth , and I don't say that lightly as we are somewhat foodies. Staff is awesome, we met Tom the GM on his first day on the job and he was very kind and interested in our comments and points of view

Room Tip: choose a room with a "nook" , good place to read
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you again, you were the first guests I met. I am still trying to figure out a way to implement your wife's dog lunch idea. I appreciate your continued support and for writing such a nice review. Look forward to the next time we meet.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A must stay for city lovers with dogs( large and small) who want to enjoy nature with their four legged companions! You will receive the same excellent service from this Westin Hotel. The amenities are fantastic and there are no compromises with their services. Their employees are friendly and attentive to your needs. The hotel is located across from the Village which has shopping, the gondola, pet friendly restaurants with patios, and convenient shuttle services. A wonderful place to sleep after a long day of hiking, biking and enjoying the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Mammoth is the most dog friendly town I have ever known. It sounds like you enjoyed your time in Mammoth and at the property. Our goal at Westin is to make you feel better when you leave than when you arrived. Thank you for writing this review and including the staff. They work exceptionally hard to ensure all guest have a true Westin experience. We all look forward to welcoming you back when you pass through Mammoth again.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent hotel, well located to restaurants, entertainment and attractions, in a nice resort town in the eastern Sierras. Across the street from a very nice shopping, dining area. It is within a short drive of Mammoth Mountain. The town provides a very easy to use bus system.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you Honomu, I really appreciate your very nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your Westin and Mammoth experience. I agree, this is a very nice resort town and we are extremely convenient to Yosemite National Park, The Devils Postpile and many other natural wonders of the Eastern Sierra Mountains. I hope you return to the property the next time you are in the area. We all truly appreciate your business!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodacre,CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our second stay at the Westin Monache and it was just as great as the first. Last year we had a one bedroom suite and this time we had just a regular room. We loved the comfort and size of the bed, the kitchen was great (though the burner on the stove took forever to boil water). The bathroom was nice, lots of towels. We opted for the "green" program of not having housekeeping during our 3 night stay and received Starwood points. You can also receive a $5 credit per night to use at the hotel. One of the things I love most is you absolutely cannot hear any noise from room to room next to you or above you. You feel as if you have the hotel to yourself when you are in your room. No voices, no hallway noise, no TV's blaring, no screaming kids (or adults!). This is such a plus for us! We love the proximity to the Village as well. The restaurant is really good. We ate two of our dinners there. Had a couple of very mediocre meals in the Village so it was nice to be able to depend on the Whitebark Restaurant. I felt the staff was attentive overall. Yes, the front desk could use a few more people when it gets backed up. I know this hotel is probably out of our price comfort during the winter but it suites us well for summer and fall. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Higher up and facing the Village directions is nice. Loved the balcony on our first stay.
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not like plastic cups in the bathroom. Not necessary. Pleased with "green" practice of skipping housekeeping and being rewarded for it.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you MarinaMK, for taking the time to write such a nice review. We all are very proud to be a Westin hotel. Also, thank you for participating in the Make A Green Choice program, we take sustainability very seriously. The next time you are on property you will enjoy new and delicious creations at Whitebark Restaurant; our new Executive Chef rolled out his first menu on Friday October 4th. Don't give up on Winter stays just yet! We will be deploying different pricing levels throughout the ski season with mid-week being your best opportunity. Thank you for your continued support!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

While visiting the east side of Yosemite, we booked one night at the Westin Monache. But upon arrival, we fell in love with the area and the hotel, and extended our time in the area by one night. The service team at this hotel are great. They were super helpful with restaurant recommendations, shuttle service to and from dinner and room check in. The rooms are great, with the Heavenly Bed and a great kitchen area complete with everything one would need. We're already plotting a winter return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you MSandersCarroll, I enjoy the Mammoth Lakes Basin as much as Yosemite too!. I am happy to read you left here feeling better than when you arrived. Thank for mentioning the staff, they strive to provide personal & instinctive service. We all look forward to your return this winter. FYI it is snowing outside right now!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great hotel, the rooms are cozy but larger than most standard rooms. The property was immaculately clean and had a beautiful kitchen with everything from a toaster to pots, pans, dishes, granite counters etc., which is a nice feature for the hotel. It also had a beautiful bathroom with soaking tub which I loved. The beds were super comfortable and the room was exceptionally quiet. The happy hour in the restaurant was great, gourmet snack meals at half price and good drink prices. We could walk out the door and be in the Village in a minute or two so the location was perfect, and the chair lift up is right outside the hotel door. We loved our stay, oh, and it's pet friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank You montecoreOregon, This is a really nice review and it touches on all the Westin amenities. The heavenly bed and bathroom really do allow you to get a great night sleep; at Westin it is all about your wellness. The next time you are on property you will be able to sample the new menu; our Executive Chef just released his latest creations to rave reviews. Thank you again for your business and we all look forward to your return.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.