We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, convenient base - with small rooms and...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Monache Resort Mammoth to your Saves list
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good, convenient base - with small rooms and...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently completed our third, annual stay at this hotel - and it is primarily because it is the most accessible, reasonable offering in Mammoth. It helps that we travel with a large school group and get very good rates - otherwise we would probably look further afield.

What works?
Good condition, well maintained rooms and common areas, although the rooms and suites are very small - all very compact.
Good restaurant - White bark. Convenient - and the sushi bar is a nice addition.
Pool and jacuzzi - outside - but nice to have on site.
Accessibility - on the doorstep of the main gondola - really, really great, fast access to the slopes and right within a stones throw of the village too.
Could be better?
Bigger rooms - especially with all that ski equipment!
The steps to and from the gondola - 80-ish? Tough when your adjusting to the altitude and as unfit as heck - however there is a 'long way round' for those with limited ability.
Resort fee - $25 bucks a day - includes (dreadful connection - no...REALLY dreadful!) Internet - if you need it for work - set up a tether before you go! But to be honest - $25 is a bit steep for limited facilities other than parking.
No sushi menu for guests in the dining room of the restaurant - only the bar and sushi 'seats' along the sushi bar. Why? No idea. Basically a bit daft - although this season they added limited Nigiri to the main restaurant menu.
No Spa/treatment rooms

Learning?

Rent a locker and keep / store most of your kit outside the room.
Use open table to book the restaurant before you go - its popular with locals as well as guests.
Approach the steps to the gondola as a good warm up and cool down exercise.
Tether your WiFi before you go so you don't get hacked off with a one bar connection, once in a blue moon!
Forget spa treatments all together - and there aren't any good options outside the hotel either - Take a nice bath soak / bath soak and candle instead.

Hopefully you're going to be on the slopes most of the time - but this is a reasonable hotel option to consider for a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you and your group enjoyed their overall stay. Thank you for sharing your comments for our well maintained rooms, great dining options and convenient location. We value your other insights and will address internet and additional services we can provide at our upcoming meeting. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your fourth stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    170
    51
    26
    16
See reviews for
272
237
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

but its not perfect

POSITIVES:

great pool area.
nice hotel
rooms in good condition

NEGATIVES:
crazy $$$
stairs to get to hotel (I don't care but I heard lots of moaning from others)


still the best place by far in mammoth.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great stay at the Westin in Mammoth. The staff including the valet and reservation is
top notch. The hotel is well maintained and the suites well appointed. The only downside are
the steps leading up from the village but I figure by walking them regularly they help keep me fit.
Great amenities including ski rentals, fitness center, pool and spas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

There really isn't any competition to the Westin in Mammoth Lakes, Ca. I've been coming up here for years as it's my favorite Ski Resort and have stayed at pretty much every hotel in Mammoth. The Westin hands down is by FAR the best. From Valet check in and reception the stay was wonderful. I came back from Snowboarding exhausted and was such a pleasure to have luggage waiting in the room when I got back and not to mention packing the car and my boards for me when I was leaving.

The happy hour and food at the White Bark restaurant was great as well. Simply a top notch hotel with service to match, will be definitely coming back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your support of our hotel over the years. It is a delight to hear that you had an enjoyable stay from check-in to check-out. We are pleased that you enjoyed the White Bark and that you found our cuisine to be delectable and substantial. Thank you again for your review and on behalf of the entire team here at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A wonderful location, spacious and lovely rooms, comfortable beds, a kitchen, a balcony with a view, friendly and helpful staff, a heated outdoor pool and a good complimentary continental breakfast: I would love to stay here again! One drawback, however, for people who are allergic to dogs; the hotel is (very) dog-friendly and even if the rooms are spotlessly clean, you will notice that there have been dogs there before. Maybe the hotel could offer some 'dog-free' rooms so that even people with allergies could enjoy this remarkable place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Reception staff was very welcoming - offering champagne and hot cocoa at check-in. Pool was super warm, so kids could splash around in February while adults relaxed in even warmer spas and all enjoyed views of the nearby snowy mountains and trees. The location is ideal - across the street from the village with great restaurants, shops and the gondola that takes you to Canyon Lodge. All rooms are suites with mini kitchen, easy-start gas fireplace, and giant window seat large enough for a child to sleep on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Mammoth is a great mountain but unfortunaely accomodations worth staying in are slim. the westin is in a good location, a short walk down the stairs to the village where the gondola is to the canyon lodge. heres the unfortunate part, for a good hotel to stay in the westin is it and they know it. prices are high, service is average and the reaturant white bark lacks any type of service. the pool of employees for most areas are ski kids who want to work and ski. this limits quality employees to offer service and care. the other option is the village which is nice but no hotel services.

if you want a hotel stay in stay here but expect to spend more than avarage and get less than expected.

not to the westin standard

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.