We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild About The Westin Monache” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Monache Resort Mammoth to your Saves list
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wild About The Westin Monache”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Westin Monache several times over the past few years and have to say that it "hits the spot" every time. They have to have the absolute best valet staff in the Eastern Sierras. As always, I arrived with an SUV full of gear and food and duffel bags and everything was up in room before we got there. This year they are now providing overnight ski valet and storage down at the Village so that you don't have to lug your skis back every day. The rooms have fully equipped kitchenettes. They even had a blender for our apres ski libations!!! Heavenly beds and gas log fireplaces in every room. Two huge outdoor jacuzzis big enough for 15 people each and an Olympic size swimming pool. They even have outdoor grills and barbecue equipment to sign out. For those who want to do more, they have a lovely little fitness room with televisions and towels. My favorite feature is the Whitebark Restaurant Bar and Lounge. That is where breakfast is served, they have a great happy hour later on and a fine dining restaurant at night. Everything about it just feels special. The breakfast service, however, does not seem to indulge those skiers who want to grab and go to get out onto the slopes, so, give yourself plenty of time if you intend to have breakfast onsite. Or, get room service. But, the food is great in any case. We are Starwood Platinum Preferred Guests and therefore got a free late check-out on the Sunday, which was a huge perk! Can't wait to get back there. Ski you soon!

Room Tip: The gondola view is great when they have music in the village on Saturday nights. You can comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    170
    51
    26
    16
See reviews for
272
237
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've stayed at the Westin in Mammoth 5 times with kids and LOVE it!! We spring for the 2 bedroom which has a full kitchen and loads of space. Pool/spa is surrounded by gorgeous scenery, White Bark restaurant serves an excellent breakfast and staff is great. Have used the kids club when kids were young; now they can enjoy the delicious restaurants right across the street with us. We are usually there during 4th of July and there are many events across the street to enjoy. Bus to Mammoth Adventure Center is very convenient. Highly recommend this property!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We took 3 boys, ages 8, 6, and 5 to ski at Mammoth and met another family (boys 8 and 6). Both families got a room here. Staff was accommodating to allow us to be next to each other so they boys could "visit" each other. The hotel is either new or well-kept. We drove there and were told that only valet parking is available. Luckily, no need for the car while there.

Location: It's next to the Gondola that takes to directly to the Canyon Lodge. you have to walk down an outdoor flight of stairs and across 1 street to the "Mammoth Village". So the hotel is nicely situated to get to the ski resort as well as all the restaurants and shops in the Village. Coming back, there is quite an impressive line to come back down the Gondola that starts around 3:30pm and gets worse but it moves surprisingly fast.

Food: It's next to the Village with lots of options. The restaurant inside the hotel is pricey and high end but friendly to kids. Additionally, with the kitchenette, you actually can prepare meals. The small refrigerator was key, especially with kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was our first trip to Mammoth with the kids. The location was great. The Village and the gondola to Canyon Lodge are across the street. There are 2 big jacuzzis to play in. Only drawbacks were the several stairs that you have to take to get into the hotel from the street and the expensive meals.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed at a variety of locations in Mammoth and the Westin Monache is our favorite overall for location, comfort and amenities. We usually try to get a one bedroom plus a den and that gives us two beds and a pull out couch for a lower price than the two bedroom and it's very comfortable for our family. There is a good restaurant downstairs with a fun bar scene as well. It's very easy to hop on the gondola up to the mountain or walk over to the village area for more restaurant and shopping options. We have not stayed in any of the other village locations though we usually have friends staying there and have heard many complaints about noise, broken elevators, etc. Never had problems like that at the Westin! When staying closer to Eagle, Canyon or the Main Lodge there are very few restaurant options and it is more difficult to get into the Village for dinner but it is usually more economical and if you like to cook at home can be a great option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just spent this past weekend at the lovely Westin in Mammoth. It was great for a family with kids since they had a well stocked kitchenette which meant we could eat healthier and for a lot less than on the ski slopes. You're right outside the Village Gondola which gets you over to the mountain with ease.

It's also up to date and they thought of so many great things like have two big hot tubs along with a well heated pool so both the parents and the kids could enjoy some fun after a day of skiing. The staff is friendly and overall, just a nice vibe. Can't wait to go back in the summer!

Room Tip: If you have kids, definitely ask for a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Salinas, Rivas, Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay here with a friend on a mountain bike trip. We were on the top floor and living it up. The kitchen was perfect for our needs.

The jacuzzi and bbq outside were clutch. Underground parking was perfect to keep our bikes with the truck. Had a great time and a memorable experience.

Didnt have much interaction with the staff and the hotel was pretty dead while we were there but didnt stop us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.