We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ballling!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Save Saved
You added Westin Monache Resort Mammoth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Salinas, Rivas, Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ballling!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay here with a friend on a mountain bike trip. We were on the top floor and living it up. The kitchen was perfect for our needs.

The jacuzzi and bbq outside were clutch. Underground parking was perfect to keep our bikes with the truck. Had a great time and a memorable experience.

Didnt have much interaction with the staff and the hotel was pretty dead while we were there but didnt stop us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    159
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
254
212
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa monica, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Westin Monache is a very convenient and nice place for ski travel in Mammoth. With the gondola conveniently located, you don't need to use a car at all once you check in. Just walk to the village and take the gondola right to the slopes. The service is good and the rooms are nice. Downside is that it is expensive (as is the on site restaurant) and the rooms are a little small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I'm an SPG member and regular Mammoth visitor, and think this should be a Category 3, 4 at most SPG hotel. There is really NOTHING to do for kids, teens in the hotel other than the pool/jacuzzi. They need to add pool tables, ping pong tables, etc. The restaurant is extremely over-priced. There is a lot extra conference area rooms where all this stuff can be added. Nice hotel, but the steps down to the gondola are a PAIN and parking is also a PAIN. I can't believe all the people complaining about dogs! $25 resort fee is a rip-off

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just returned from a fantastic trip to Mammoth using our SPG points at the Westin. The hotel is very nice. We were pleasantly surprised upon check-in to find that our room was a generous size and included a kitchenette. It was the busiest time of year at the hotel yet the staff maintained their cool and handled the volume of guests very well. The hotel is located right near the village and gondola to the mountain. You couldn't beat the location. We enjoyed snow boarding, the tubing/snow play place, and sledding a number of times with our own sleds. We enjoyed a tasty dinner at Skadi, which I would highly recommend. Honestly, there are only positive things to say about the resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you're used to a fantastic SPG experience, don't expect it here. The lobby has two podiums and a total of 9 seats. It is also the smallest lobby I have ever seen at an SPG hotel. We went after Christmas and the place was packed. Our check-in was supposed to be at 3:00 p.m.; we got our room at 4:00. We were comped drinks in the Whitebark Restaurant twice since we arrived at 2:30 and are Platinum members.

The lobby was packed with people wearing large coats and attempting to check in as well as all of their dogs. We were glad there was room in the bar to sit, but everything was crowded.

There are also only two elevators in the building. There were only a few times when the elevator wasn't completely full either of people or luggage carts the whole time we were there.

If you're going there to ski and have everything already booked in advance, then it is a great place to sleep. There is a small kitchenette on the top floors for those who wish to prepare their own meals. Be sure to bring your own spices. There are no salt and pepper packets.

Room service left something to be desired. Every day we had to call about something; no coffee service refilled, no tissues refilled, no ice bucket liner, no cream, etc.

The concierge desk was empty most of the day and the person staffing it was basically useless. For the real information about activities go to www.mammothmountain.com. That is all the concierge did.

The Whitebark Restaurant was decent, although, like everything else in town, the service was slow. There had been blizzard conditions a few days before we arrived and that had stopped the food service trucks from delivering to the town. Since we had time to kill before our room was ready, we tried to eat lunch there. We both had a little bit of altitude sickness and were looking for something bland to settle our stomachs. We ordered the fish and chips. We were told they were out of regular fries, but did have sweet potato fries. We approved the change and made our order. When the fish came out it turned out to be fried salmon (who every heard of such?). We promptly told the manager, who comped the meal and offered us an alfredo dish instead. Apparently, the cook didn't bother to tell our waitress that they were frying up salmon because they were out of cod.

The hotel has valet parking, a very small workout room (20 x 20), and a heated pool and large hot tub. There were no heaters or covered area between the hotel and the pool area. If you swam or hot tubbed, getting in an out were a challenge.

The hotel has a shuttle service to get you around town, but not up the mountain, at least not while we were there. They would take you and pick you up from the airport and the one local grocery store.

The grocery store, though not affiliated with SPG was always crowded and had many items that were sold out, especially bananas and other fresh fruit. The store does have a deli with fresh cooked items.

The local establishments in The Village are small and quickly became very crowded places, especially with all the people coming off the mountain to enjoy happy hour. Some of the restaurants had 2 or more hour waits for tables. The small restaurants felt even more crowded with everyone wearing their winter attire. There were no coat check stations. Skiers and boarders left their equipment outside wherever they found a place to stack them.

Mammoth was an awesome place to visit-- just don't expect what you normally get from a SPG resort. The resort fee does include the valet parking and the shuttle, but there really are not any other resort amenities on site. You can set up an in-room massage, but there are no spa facilities on site.

So, if you're going there for the snow fun in the winter, just be aware you and everyone else and their dogs will be there too. The rooms are great! Service is slow. If you can be patient and have planned out everything in advance, just add more time than you think it will take.

Room Tip: Suites on the curve of the building have more space and are laid out better than the other rooms. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The rooms are great, spacious and all have a fully furnished kitchenette. We actually stayed in a studio on the main floor, pros: high ceilings and no fireplace (safety concern with little kids) cons: close to the lobby with noise, and you have to go through the lobby to get to the pool (attire issues...)

If you are used to getting the royal treatment as an SPG Platinum, forget about it at this location... No room upgrades since it is an "all-suite" facility, no club lounge, you can get continental breakfast for 2 as your Platinum ammenity, but it is only continental, anything else gets upcharged.

Ah, and don't bother showing up early in busy season, we showed up at 2:30 to check-in but room was not ready. They wouldn't unload our bags because they were holding storage space for guests that fly-in and wouldn't take our car either because we had no room number.
Returned at 4 and when the room was still not ready, they said: Check-in "starts" at 3, but it can take longer too.
On our last day, when I dared ask for a late check-out, I was told I couldn't and that I would be charged a full night rate if I was even a minute after 12 in my room. Really nice!

No spa in premises.

One last thing: Dog lover's paradise. Plenty of guests with their dogs in premises. If you have a dog, great. But, the dogs are causing a lot of wear and tear in the property. Plenty of nasty stains in the carpet all over the place, chewed corners, etc. And if your kids are afraid of dogs... well...!

In summary, a beautiful facility, in an amazing place, with great service, except at the reception desk (which is your first and last impression...!)

Room Tip: All rooms have a kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We used our Westin points and stayed 5 free nights (when you book 4 nights, you get the 5th night free!). We then spent $100 a night and upgraded to a one bedroom suite. We love this hotel. It is centrally located across the street from the Village where there are cute shops and restaurants. Most importantly, there is a free gondola right across the street from the hotel where you have a quick 5 min ride right into Canyon Lodge. The rooms in the Westin have a kitchen that is pretty well equipped with pots, kettle, blender, toaster, dishes, etc. We cooked a full breakfast in our room daily before hitting the slopes. They brought us humidifiers in both rooms, brought us up a DVD player so we could watch movies in front of the fireplace. There is a pool and hot tub (as well as gym) on the 2nd floor so we hot tubbed after skiing. They offer a shuttle service to the gondola also for those who don't want to do the stairs in their ski boots! We love this hotel and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.