We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mammoth Mountain Westin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Save Saved
You added Westin Monache Resort Mammoth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mammoth Mountain Westin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Probably the nicest place to stay in Mammoth. Very good friendly staff who will go out of there way to accommodate you. The hotel and the rooms are very nice. They'll let you have your dog there and there are dog sitting services in Mammoth. There is an adequate gym and a very nice pool and hot tub. The restaurant's food is poor quality and the service in the restaurant is lacking at best especially when compared to the service in the hotel. The location is 5 stars all the way and you can't beat the skiing there you're just going to pay a lot for it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    141
    46
    22
    16
See reviews for
231
194
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had had a couple of big days driving and after an amazing but long and windy drive through Yosemite and the Tioga Pass we arrived into Mammoth at dusk on a HOT summers day. The valet was immediately friendly and we walked into reception tired but were greeted with a smile and an upgraded view to our room.
The room was perfect for 2 adults, 2 kids and had basic cooking facilities. We didn't cook that night but were desperate for a healthy home cooked meal so we enjoyed going to the supermarket the following day and doing just that.
We ate in one of the restaurants in the village. That first night.
As the previous poster said there are steps but I guess you get that in a ski resort on a mountain? It wasn't anything too taxing but yes going up did take it out of you.
The village itself is so quirky they have lots of free games in the street ie: table tennis, skittles and all sorts of things like that. There was virtually no-one around so after dinner we settled down around 'the campfire' with a cocktail and just enjoyed the peace & quiet.
The Weston's pool and gym complex was great. While the kids and husband swam I was able to do a quick workout while watching them.
The rate was very reasonable but this is because it's out of season. It would be very expensive over the winter I'd imagine. But it was a great spot and a very relaxing place to take 2 days out if our 3 week drive holiday.
All the staff we met were so obliging. I can't rate this place high enough. It wa great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This property makes it's amenities available to local folks for the cost of a meal; the pool was overrun with ill-behaved, ill-supervised children who essentially screamed, yelled, threw things and splashed everyone in sight. Ruined our afternoon at the pool and no one at the hotel seemed to care. Won't stay there again . . . Oh, and under the headings of "truth in advertising," the website says just "steps to shopping." Yup, that's right! Steps, all 76 of them, steep stairs leading down to the shopping area. Coming up is the hard part @ 7,800 feet above sea level!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is large but architecturally pleasant using lots of stone and wood to fit in with the forest/mountain location. Our room - a deluxe view suite - was large, well appointed and seemingly quite new. We visited the bar and the main restaurant in the hotel for dinner where the food was very good and probably better than most of the places located in "Mammoth Village" which seemed a bit limited. The addition of a sushi bar in the restaurant seemed a little out of place to me, and not particularly popular, but I suppose it adds another option. The pool area is very nice but not huge for a hotel of this size and we struggled to find somewhere to sit. Prices are reasonable for the quality and the good location (right in Mammoth Village) but add in a couple of dinners and this can become a more expensive option. Overall a very good choice for a base in Mammoth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes, France
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
550 helpful votes 550 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here overnight, and were sorry not to stay any longer. We found out at booking that the best of their Deluxe suite, a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom + lounge and kitchen unit would go for cheaper than bookung 2 separate bedrooms, which is just what we did in the Fishing package, for $350. Perks included breakfast for 2 (we booked for a party of 3), and coffee mug or water + map which we never got, and we never asked for them.

Welcome is a bit hit or miss outside. Many cars outside, valet are overwhelmed. But doorman did a good job, and luggage were delivered promptly.

We were very happy with the suite, on the top floor, overlooking the mountain. Plenty of space, and really nice lay out with windows framing the fireplace. Must be exquisite in winter. neither bedroom is really big, but the aptly named Heavenly beds are ... just heavenly. Each bedroom has access to a large balcony, only one of which is furnished. All furniture were pristine and functioning well. All appliances and wares in the kitchen were in perfect conditions. Air con is efficient.
Master bathroom is large, think vast ; it includes the toilet, the bath tub, a shower stall, but only one sink. Weird. It is actually so large that the space seems wasted. The second bathroom is smaller, and does not have the bath tub. Nice, if not abundant toiletries.

We dined out, and only enjoyed breakfast. Typical 4-star fare, excellent OJ. Quick service.

We did not experience service kinks. We did not ask for anything special. But what we needed to have, we got. Besides the missing perks, that is. No big deal.

This suite goes for way much in winter. But the location, the building, the style, the suite made it a real bargain,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Given how much we paid for other hotels during our three week trip in the USA, this was a bargain. Maybe in the Summer you get a better deal? The hotel seemed to be empty. For two days we virtually had the lovely, peaceful pool to ourselves and hardly ever saw any other guests.

Anyway the hotel looks fairly newly built. It is airy and spacious. We had good service on arrival with valet parking and a friendly and helpful lady on reception. There is a resort fee of 25 dollars and I believe this covers parking and internet connection. It's a bit steep but then we have paid 11 dollars per 24 hours in other places to access the internet alone.

Inside it is modern with interesting and contemporary touches in the way of art installation. We had a room overlooking the front of the hotel but never heard any noise at all during our two nights. The rooms at the front overlook the ski lift and some of the mountains. The room is of average size with a small table and two chairs for dining, sofa and chair along with a fairly comfortable bed. Kitchenette area is a bonus but then we have been skiing in Europe so expected the set up they have - dishwasher, microwave, hob and kitchen utensils and accessories. Bathroom is huge!

It was all beautifully clean and kept that way. We had no problems with noise coming from any other room but then I am not sure there were that many peope in the hotel.

We didn't eat in the hotel at all so can't comment on the food. In the kitchenette area they have free sachets of Starbucks coffee you make up in the coffee machine which was a nice touch although they do have a Starbucks in The Whitebait but as we were the only customers, we got our coffee for free from them one morning which was very kind!

I suspect in Winter the prices for the rooms probably double from what we paid.

Mammoth Lakes is a beautiful area. We had a car, of course, so were able to get out and about and see so much stunning scenery within a short drive, it is amazing. Just a short walk down the road brings you to some bars and then further in to town restaurants and supermarkets. The hotel has a guest laundry which is useful. For us we had no prolems and had a relaxing and peaceful stay within a modern hotel with helpful staff in a region of breathtaking scenery so all good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent T, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for visit to Mammoth Lakes and for your stay here at the Westin Monache. The weather has been very nice and we hope you were able to take advantage of the many recreational activities in and around town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting Yosemite National Park. We found the hotel to be comfortable and well presented.

Room was reasonably well equipped with a small kitchenette and decent amenities, space was adequate but the room is not huge. Only issue with our room was a very noisy fridge that could wake up a light sleeper every time it kicked in.

Customer service was very friendly and efficient. Novel idea was the $5 dining credit each time you decline housekeeping (except on your last night).

The Whitebark restaurant on the property is excellent and quite good value too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.