We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1849's ROCKS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   826 Lakeview blvd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
1 review
“1849's ROCKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stay @ the same condo every year and we LOVE it! We are never disappointed and look forward to our trip every March! The condo we stay in feels very comfy and cozy. Our kids call it their "woolly Mammoth home"! Staff is fabulous and very helpful! We love the location and just walk to Canyon Lodge...very convenient specially' when you have toddlers! 1849...you ROCK! See you again March, 2013!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    17
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have been staying at the 1849 condos for about 22 years now. There is no better location in Mammoth. The staff is very friendly and helpful with anything you need. Each unit is independently owned, so some are upgraded and decorated nicer than others but who cares- I'm there to ski !!! Look no further, there is no better place to stay in Mammoth. I'll be back this summer and again for the snow ! See you in the jacuzzi !

Room Tip: Phase II has the better views. 651 has the best view down across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a wonderful location, just a walk across the street to Canyon Lodge. We stayed in Unit 201 which was 3 bedroom, 3 bath. Plenty of space and beautiful view of the mountain. You could almost reach out the window and touch the Village Gondola passing by. You can also hop on this free gondola and go to The Village for shopping and dinner. The staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The bathrooms and kitchen could use a remodel and everything is pretty old. The beds are extremely uncomfortable, enough so that it could make my decision not to stay in this particular unit again. With just a couple updates this would be a dream slope side condo!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that faces mountain so you have a great view and a shorter walk to the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

So many great things to say about this location! We rented two condos across the hallway from each other for a group of friends, following the President's Day Weekend. We were on the 2nd floor of the Snowbird Condos, which is conveniently across the parking lot from the Canyon Lodge. Nice-sized living area and bedrooms, clean and very well maintained with updated fixtures and appliances. I also enjoyed the wall heaters throughout the entire condo! The office staff was very friendly and went out of their to help us with any questions we had. All in all, great trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed in Unit 410 (also called the penthouse) this year for 5 days during Presidents Week.
I'll start with the positives...the location is fabulous, just across from the Canyon Lodge and just a five minute drive from e Village. The hot chocolate, apple cider and coffee available in the lobby was a nice treat. The unit itself is very spacious, and has great view from the living area and sunroom.
Now for the negatives...the unit is in major need of a remodel. It is obvious that when this unit was originally built it was very well done (huge double shower in master, steam shower, designer tile in all baths and kitchen), but now those elements are showing signs of wear and aging (mold, cracked tile, outlets that flip the breaker every time you plug something in, pieces of baseboard missing). Also was disappointed in the cleanliness...the comforters in the 3rd bedroom had obvious stains, hair in bathroom cabinets, dirty sheets and dishes left in condo, dishes in cabinets had many chips and cracks. The office staff did come and get the dirty sheets and dishes when we called down, but they should not have been there in the first place.
Overall, I would rate this condo as average, but the location is fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl W, Manager at 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Jen,
We really appreciate your feedback and will forward this info onto the owners for consideration. This specific unit has alot of history with Dave Mcoy himself living in the unit for many years!
The owners have recently made many upgrades to the unit including paint, carpet, furniture, flatscreen TV's etc...so they definitely understand the importance of keeping an updated unit and will appreciate your comments.

Do remember we have many completely upgraded units from the ground up, in both our Townhome and Hotel style condos. I encourage you to call and speak with one of our managers to ensure a completely remodeled unit on your next visit.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great location directly across from Canyon Lodge. We stayed in unit 302, a 2br, 2ba condo over the President's Day holiday. This unit was modern, clean and offered great views of the Canyon Lodge Base and The Village Gondola. The unit also included an in-unit washer and dryer, which was helpful when traveling with 3 year old and 5 month old boys!

The office staff was friendly and helpful. The hot apple cider and hot chocolate in the lobby are a nice touch. We will definitely stay here again on a future trip.

Room Tip: Be sure to view the photos of the specific condo that you are interested in before booking. I believ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Terrific location right next to the Canyon Lodge entrance! The condo was large, clean, updated, well maintained and had an awesome rec center as well with jacuzzi, sauna, sunken living room with flat screen/fireplace and kitchen. Manager was nice and helpful. Underground parking was nice and accommodating. It was a perfect trip!

Room Tip: Condo 201 had a great view of the mountain and village gondola. Nice balcony too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge

Address: 826 Lakeview blvd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1849 Condos offers privately owned 2-3 & 4 bedroom units that are conveniently located just steps from the slopes in the winter, and just a short drive to the lakes in the summer. After a long day on the mountian take advantage of our pool and 3 hot tubs ready and waiting for you, or simply relax by the fire in your fully furnished condo.We pride ourselves with making your stay the most memorable ever, with customer service that strives to be the best year after year. Dont take our word for it, see our top ranking here on Trip advisor.We hope to see you soon! Stay close, play close! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1849 Condos At Canyon Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1849 Condos at Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.