We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue and Kevin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edelweiss Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Edelweiss Lodge to your Saves list
Edelweiss Lodge
1872 Old Mammoth Road, corner of Old Mammoth and Waterford, P.O. Box 1986, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2 get the 3rd free!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Truckee, California
1 review
“Sue and Kevin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have stayed at many cabins in the mountains that allow dogs and this was the first time we received a doggy basket. It was helpful, thoughtful stuff like a doggy bowl, treats, poop bags and a blanket. Cabin #9 was very clean, comfortable with all the kitchen items we needed. We love Mammoth and we will definitely stay here again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It's our 3 1/2 year old daughter and 2 year old dog's first time seeing snow. Staying at Edelweiss made this experience very pleasant. We stayed in cabin #9, which is the upstairs unit with a large living room and a small bedroom. The rooms are clean and well furnished. There were two large closets. The heating was good with the option of a space heater, which we used in the bedroom at night. The linens and the bedding are not luxurious, but they are appropriate for the price of the room. We actually appreciated not having maid service and being left alone for our entire stay. We were also happy with the location. It's in the quiet part of the town within 5 minute driving distance to shopping and restaurants. Overall, Edelweiss was an excellent choice for our family. We will definitely consider staying there again next time, especially if we bring the dog.

Room Tip: Cabin 9 is in a stand alone cabin. We didn't need to get nervous when our toddler and dog made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dale and Sue run a very organized, hospitable and friendly lodge. The Lodge is starting to show its age, but the price, cleanliness and rustic charm more than make up for that. it is a bit far from the ski resorts, but the red line stops right near the lodge, so distance is not an issue with the availability of the Mammoth mass transit. They also allow pets, so if you like to bring your pet on vacation this place is perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a spontaneous Mammoth skiing trip for my kids who were home on Christmas Break, we were lucky to get this great room at a great price at the Edelweiss Lodge, and it was just what we needed. It was great to have a kitchen, big comfortable bed and pull out couch, good heating, a wood burning stove, nice jacuzzi just outside. This older establishment is more rustic and quaint, and doesn't pretend to be a 5 star place, but who wants to pay 500 a night anyway? This was perfect for us and we would come back here anytime. Thank you Sue and Dale for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

WIfe and I stayed over the Xmas break and we loved it. We stayed in #9, its a single cabin not attached to any other cabin. It was on the second floor and kind of pain for our small dog but other than that it was perfect.

They really sell the dog-friendly aspect. They had a welcome basket for us and then another for the dog with a mat, bowl, couple toys, etc. Almost all the other units had dogs as well.

Checkin and out was extremely easy. We didnt have to even talk to anybody for either. Our keys were on the front door when we got there after hours and we left the keys in a basket when we left. They are very hands off.

Hot tub was great. Very clean and easy. They basically converted one of the units into a hottub room with a shower and bathroom attached. 6-8 person hottub. They use a sign-up sheet in 30 min intervals. We just signed up on the way to the ski hill in the morning and it was easy. Not alot of competition of times anyway.

They have a wood stove in the units. we used it once and it works really well to heat the small units. The normal heaters worked great though. Kept our unit around 70 the whole time due to the small dog.

Gas oven and burners. Using the gas oven to heat a frozen pizza was an experience. I had never used a gas oven before. It worked great but something to be aware of. Kitchen had all the standard items in it. Coffee maker included.

Location was great as well. We thought it would be too far out of the way but it wasnt. Old mammoth rd leads right into the city and main st. Also, Eagle Lodge was right around the corner for an easy in and out to the slopes. AND they have a FREE shuttle that goes until 2am with a stop just down the street at the Snowcreek Athletic Club. We LOVED this and used it all the time. Very easy. Taxis are really easy and available too, surprisingly.

Only complaints would be some people dont pickup after their dogs and a couple days we had to wait for the hot tub to heat up before we could get in. Other than that...Great visit. Very easy and laid back.

Room Tip: #9 was on the second floor but not attached to any other unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed here many times, over 35 years ago when my then best friend lived in one of the units. That apartment was nowhere as refined as the property is now. There are lots of very nice touches - the much better than expected bed and double top sheets, provided bathrobes, the stoneware and glasses in the kitchen, the mostly complete kitchen, then cleanliness of the unit, especially that this property not only allows, but seems to solicit dogs, the friendlinesss of the staff, the overall ambience o "you are on vacation here" vibe....but there are some really striking down sides: the dog poop. yes, this is a dog friendly property. But nowhere did I see a sign asking people to pick up after their dogs or any doggie bag dispensers. I did see a lot of dog doo and had to take care to not step in it. Really nasty on that. REALLY should not have to be careful to not step in dog poop at a vacation property.... good bed and linens, and Kmart quality pillows. Glad I took my own with me. Firewood is provided but there is no kindling - had to buy a small axe to be able to make a fire. Stayed in one of the studio apartments and the conversation noise from the neighbor apartment was unavoidable - I heard every word of every conversation through the common door, even with my TV on. The quality of the TV - I don't go to Mammoth to watch TV, but it would be nice to have a contemporary device to watch the news or resort channel...
This is a good place to stay for a few days. The few drawbacks certainly knock it down a full grade, IMO. Dog poop on the grounds, even at a dog friendly property, is just not acceptable, to me. That being said, it IS a very good value and I will return. Just gotta watch my step...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

As always the room was clean and tidy. It had all the ammentities one would want for a cozy cabin in Mammoth Lakes. The welcome basket with Marta's cookies....and the dog welcome basket were special. This is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edelweiss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge

Address: 1872 Old Mammoth Road, corner of Old Mammoth and Waterford, P.O. Box 1986, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mammoth's top choice for pet friendly lodging. The Edelweiss Lodge was built in the mid-1950's and has been lovingly maintained ever since. It is located in Mammoth Lakes, California, in a quiet residential section of town known as Old Mammoth. Our one acre lot is wooded with almost 50 large beautiful Jeffrey Pines.Guests and their pets receive their own baskets with homemade cookies and local information. The perfect location to get away and enjoy all the outdoor activities Mammoth has to offer as well as the gateway to beautiful Yosemite National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edelweiss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edelweiss Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.