We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again next time we're in Mammoth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Mammoth Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Chicago
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Will stay again next time we're in Mammoth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a very good little budget "boutique" hotel. It's an old building that's been very nicely remodeled. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and stocked with amenities. You can still tell it's an old place, but if you want everything perfectly new and shiny, then you're going to pay a lot more for it. For the price, this was great.

We'll happily stay again.

There are stairs, and no elevator. Free coffee in the lobby. Simple continental breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    101
    41
    12
    7
See reviews for
56
141
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I really really like this Inn. It's very homey - an older building with updated rooms - flatscreen tv, free wifi, white duvet covered quilt on the bed, big clean tiled bathroom.... The hotel has a very nice common room with couches, fireplace, books & magazines, cookies, tea/coffee/water/lemonade/hot chocolate/cider, a spa with hot tub/sauna/steam room, plus an expansive continental breakfast. The staff was uniformly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the hotel, location and breakfast very much. Helpful and friendly staff who were happy to assist. There was a small issue with the WiFi which resulted in us moving rooms as the WiFi did not reach to the far rooms. A minor issue resolved when we moved.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

the location is excellent with a great view to the mountains. the staff is helpful, but is a little inn with no elevators so we had to push our luggage up troug the stairs.
the rooms are huge with a mezzanine that has a capacity for 6 people. the bed was enormous in the first floor, it has a kitchen equipped for staying for a all week. we stayed only one night. two bathrooms and everything very clean, although with simple decor. there's no air conditioned (but when we stayed we didn't need it)
it includes a simple breakfast served in floor -1 which is not the best option.
overall although nice in someways it was pricy for the quality

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent one night in this property and were so glad we made this choice. We arrived early and wanted to do some hiking in the area. We were allowed to check in before we headed off for our hike. The bed was very comfortable and there were so many nice touches in the lobby...coffee, tea, lemonade and ice water as well as some delicious cookies. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast before we went on our way.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here along with my brother and sister-in-law in a deluxe loft suite, prior to our High Sierra visit to Yosemite (during the Rim fire). I had researched the inn on TA and viewed photos on the inn's website, and the room did not disappoint. All the loft suites face the mountains, so the view from our living room was outstanding. My bro and sis-in-law scored the king bed in the loft while my husband and I slept on the pullout sofa in the LR. I have yet to sleep on a pullout that is comfortable and this one was no exception, BUT we got to open our eyes in the morning to see mountains and blue sky (no smoke!) so we were happy.
Loft suites also have 2 full baths and an adequate kitchen if you dont plan on doing much cooking. We mostly used it to warm up leftovers after dinners the night before at CJs and Robertos, both very good and just down the road. Breakfast in the basement was just fine, as previous reviewers have noted, but i will add that the freshly cut watermelon and cantaloupe chunks were a standout. Finding lox and cream cheese was also a surprise. Put that on a toasted bagel and slice a hard boiled egg on top--presto! Deluxe breakfast sandwich! OK, so maybe not to everyone's taste, but there's plenty of other food too.
Kudos to Tim and Harry for their help and suggestions on restaurants. When we were concerned about venturing into Yosemite during the fire and road closures, Tim told us he would try to work it out to find us rooms if we had to turn back (which we did not).
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the inn and at Mammoth Lakes. Devil's Postpile National Monument was my favorite site. Be sure to visit both the postpile area and Rainbow Falls, hiking all the way down to the bottom to gaze up at the falls.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the mountains. The loft suites are on the second floor so mountain view is un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

+ Nice hotel on a beautiful location. Very clean room, with all the comfort as expected, bed was kingsize and slept well. Breakfast had a good variety, except for bread, even juice tasted fresh. Possible to take drinks for underway. At night we had dinner at nearby japanese restaurnt which is also recommended!

- noisy refrigerator. Plugged out, problem solved!

Tip: Minaret vista (9300 f height), devil's postpile, diversity of lakes, japanese restaurant with sushi!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.