We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stop at Mammoth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Mammoth Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Francisco
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Okay stop at Mammoth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at Mammoth Creek Inn based on positive reviews. Motel was decent, but I didn't feel it was as wonderful as the reviews would suggest. Our room was clean, but nothing special. Parking is outside, and the motel is a bit farther away from the lifts than others we like. Decent place to stay in Mammoth, but there are others we prefer and that are better located and a bit better value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    93
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
129
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've been coming to Mammoth since I was about 5 years old and have typically stayed in condos or cabins with big groups of people. This time, however, we were looking for something smaller and less expensive as it was just I and the girlfriend. We found Mammoth Creek Inn on one of the many travel sites (can't remember which one) and it was close to the cheapest and by far had the best location of the various inns around town.

The Mammoth Creek Inn is located directly across the street from The Stove (my favorite breakfast place in town) and about a block from the Vons, which is very convenient. The shuttle stop is also very close, so getting around town was super easy.

This was also the first time we had ever flown to Mammoth. It sure beat the drive from San Diego. Michael picked us up from the airport, which was very nice. Didn't have to fight it out for a cab or wait for a shuttle. The hotel Suburban took us and our gear right to the hotel. Now we landed in Mammoth at about 9:30am, so I did not expect our room to be ready. We walked across the street to The Stove, grabbed some breakfast, headed back over to the Inn and our room was ready. Very nice of them to have a room ready so early for us (before noon), especially the day after Christmas.

The room itself was very nice. We had a basic room, but that still came with a fridge (for the beer I bought at Mammoth Brewing Company, obviously) and a plethora of hooks to hang gear on. The free breakfast was also a huge plus. Nothing fancy, but bagels, oatmeal, cereal, juice, etc. was very nice before a day of riding. I've seen reviews that the breakfast is awful. Not true. If you're not expecting a grandiose buffet (and why would you!?), then you will not be disappointed. This is a complimentary continental breakfast, not the Ritz. They also have a storage closet on the deck that they lock at night. So we didn't have to lug our boards up to the room each night. Another plus. They also have complimentary coffee, tea, and hot apple cider in the living room downstairs. The living room has a new iMac (free to use) and a TV with a roaring fire. This was awesome. Each afternoon when we got back from the slopes we grabbed some cider before we headed upstairs to change and shower.

Michael also offered to drive us to the lifts and pick us up each day. The shuttle is close, but it sure is nice to have personal service up to the lifts. We had him take us to Eagle Lodge one morning, then usually took the shuttle home.

The power did go out one afternoon in a couple of the rooms upstairs (including ours). When I was walking down the hall, I could hear about 3 different people blow drying hair at the same time, so I wasn't surprised. The hotel staff was extremely quick in coming upstairs and turning it back on. All in all took about 3 minutes.

Overall, this hotel is outstanding. It blows the other hotels in Mammoth out of the water. The location is great, the service is second to none, and the value is also very good. Free ride to and from the airport, breakfast, free rides to the lifts, hot apple cider whenever we wanted it, and across the street from The Stove. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our first visiting were very pleased. The part that makes this hotel stand out is that the staff does everything they can to accommodate the guests. For example, were able to get a ride every morning to the village gondola or Canyon lodge and usually a ride home from the Village, we were even provided a ride on New Year's Eve when no cabs were available. Another example, a guest had a dead battery and didn't have AAA. The manager personally worked with this guest to get his car started with jumper cables. The room was simple with all of the basics and the breakfast served is simple, but adequate and the Jacuzzi/steam room/sauna were not fancy, but again adequate for anyone to use to relax at the end of the day. We really enjoyed our experience and the efforts the staff made to accommodate us and we will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed here and our view is that this hotel has gone down hill considerably. The owners do not understand that it is little things that make the difference. So the breakfast may be included but it was awful - the coffee reminded me of the kind of coffee you used to get in the States in the 1970s, the oatmeal was either some kind of sloppy gruel or lumpy and there was no fruit provided. Then there were the towels which are about the worst I have seen in any American hotel - they all looked old and somewhat grubby. The bedrooms are ok but the cleaning was superficial as far as we could see. Moreover, this is the only hotel i have stayed in in years which did not have a bedside light. When we arrived, despite the fact that it was obvious that we had two heavy suitcases and there was no elevator, no offer was made to help us with them upstairs. Finally, this hotel is in a ski resort. In ski resorts its snows heavily which can make it difficult to park your car in the lot or get it out in the morning. No assistance seems to be provided to help with this and guests are left to fend for themselves. This can cause considerable problems and one guest told us she had to wait an hour to get into the lot while another car extricated itself. Finally, the hotel claims to have high speed internet in all rooms. This is not true as it only worked at crawl speed in our room which meant that we had to to go downstairs for it to be functional.

I do not know who runs this hotel but they do not understand what it means to run a place where the standard of service and facilities match those what Americans commonly expect for this kind of price. All judgements of value are relative but if this is what you get for this kind of price in Mammoth then it does not say a lot for Mammoth as a whole.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at Mammoth Creek Inn for three nights this past week, and had a great time. Everyone we encountered that worked for the hotel was so helpful and friendly- from our pickup and the airport to a post-skiing pick up when we had a few too many drinks, they really went out of their way to accomodate us. The rooms were comfortable, great showers and beds- my only complaint would be that we had a lot of noise in our room because it was under the stairs, ask for a room on another floor if you are a light sleeper. Great food recommendations, they helped us figure out where and when to ski as well. Very convenient for buses to the Village/ski resorts, and there are some great restaurants as well as the movie theater within walking distance. We had an evening flight out of Mammoth that last day, while we skied they watched our luggage, and let us use the spa after getting back for showering and freshening up. We will definitely come back to the Mammoth Creek Inn on our next skiing adventure, and will recommend it to everyone we know!

Room Tip: Junior Suite (w/o kitchen) was spacious- ask for a room on upper floors or further away from the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

On our way to Death Valley we spent one night in a Deluxe Loft.

The two-level suite was simply huge with a nice living room and modern kitchen downstairs and a bright and airy bedroom upstairs. There were two bathrooms, a larger one with tub downstairs and a beautiful ensuite with big shower upstairs. The bed was very comfortable and everything was perfectly clean. We also didn’t hear any noise from other guests.

The Inn has a cosy Lobby with a big fireplace where guests could help themselves to complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate. A very nice touch.

We would love to come back, maybe in the winter. Mammoth Lakes must be magical in the snow and staying at the Inn would be the perfect cosy winter getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, West Lothian
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Mammoth Lakes as part of our 3 day visit to Yosemite National Park. This was our 2nd visit to Yosemite so we decided to stay outside the park and see some nearby sights. We arrived late to Mammoth Creek Inn after a day walking around Hetch Hetchy. We arrived to the log firm burning in the lounge and were greeted warmly at check-in. Our room was fairly spacious and clean. The bathroom was large with a nice shower and bath and the bed was VERY comfy and large. The hotel lounge area had free hot drinks and treats at all times of the day. We paid a visit to the jacuzzi every night after a hard day's hiking - it was a welcome treat! The complimentary continental breakfast was delicious and a great start to the day. Overall a great stay. As an aside if you fancy a pizza during your stay, try Giovannis not far from the hotel, it's excellent!! Also make sure and visit the Devil's Postpile and Minaret Mountain while you are in Mammoth Lakes - well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.