We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mammoth Creek Inn to your Saves list
Mammoth Creek Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Livingston, West Lothian
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Trip to Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Mammoth Lakes as part of our 3 day visit to Yosemite National Park. This was our 2nd visit to Yosemite so we decided to stay outside the park and see some nearby sights. We arrived late to Mammoth Creek Inn after a day walking around Hetch Hetchy. We arrived to the log firm burning in the lounge and were greeted warmly at check-in. Our room was fairly spacious and clean. The bathroom was large with a nice shower and bath and the bed was VERY comfy and large. The hotel lounge area had free hot drinks and treats at all times of the day. We paid a visit to the jacuzzi every night after a hard day's hiking - it was a welcome treat! The complimentary continental breakfast was delicious and a great start to the day. Overall a great stay. As an aside if you fancy a pizza during your stay, try Giovannis not far from the hotel, it's excellent!! Also make sure and visit the Devil's Postpile and Minaret Mountain while you are in Mammoth Lakes - well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    112
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
57
164
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our group of three adults stayed in the Master Loft Suite for one night of our 3 week tour of the Southwest. This was without a doubt, one of the best places we stayed on our whole trip, and one of the most affordable to boot.

We were all very pleased with this choice, especially after the quality of lodgings at our previous stop in Yosemite, this was a revitalizing stay!

The inn has a great setup, very close parking to the front door, big lobby with comfy couches & tvs, complimentary hot drinks in the lobby, spa, sauna, steam room & gym. Upstairs was another cosy lounge with a pool room up the stairs from that! The young man who served us when checking-in, didn't say much and was quite casual and brief, however was quick and efficient. The lady we saw when checking-out was very friendly.

The room itself was fantastic, and much more than we had hoped for. It was almost bigger than our house! It would've been great to have had time to stay for a week or so, unfortunately we were stopping for one night only. The master bedroom was absolutely huge, and the bathroom almost as big! The bed & pillows were super comfy. The twin-room was also very well decked out for a smaller space, it had it's own ensuite as well. The kitchen was big and good for eating in. The lounge was lovely with a huge fireplace at one end, that I imagine, would be cosy & toasty all lit up in winter.

If I had to be very picky about the room...
The flagpole out the front of the property, is attached to the wall of the master bedroom, and when windy (as it was the night we stayed) creaks and groans a lot, and can be quite distracting when trying to sleep. Earplugs fixed that though. Also, for such a completely decked out suite, the kitchen could do with having some of the small things provided such as salt and pepper, or tea towels. Wifi was also very weak in our room.

The only thing we thought that really let the property down, was the included breakfast. We found this to be lacking in selection, which was surprising, given how well the small details are taken care of elsewhere. We grabbed a bagel each, and a glass of juice, and headed back to our room to eat our own cereal which was more appealing than cornflakes.

Other than that, the location is good and is handy to shops and amenities. There is a Vons supermarket down the road, where we stocked up on groceries for reasonable prices.

All in all, we were very happy with Mammoth Creek Inn, and would definitely return if we're over that way in the future. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Splurge and go for the Master Loft Suite if there are more than 2 of you. It was great for our group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found the lodge at the last minute, It was a delightful find, the staff was helpful, accommodations clean and restful, short walk to restaurants, and view of the mountains breathtaking. Breakfast was simple but it was adequate, bagels, juice etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very comfortable hotel at a really great price. They had thought of everything a traveller needs and for the money, it was excellent. Clean, comnfortable bed and a good shower, and modern everything. Even has a small Spa, with Jacuzzi, Steam room and Sauna. Loved the range of Teas you could help yourself to in the Lounge. Short walk up the road to a choice of places to eat too. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Mammoth. Get the impression the hotel staff are really making an effort for this place to be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam, Israel
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Obviosly a winter SKI chalet, but we came in the summer, it was almost empty and we enjoyed all the attention, great service.
Breakfast was a little bit poor, but the value..... we pay half the price people pay during SKI season, which meant close to nothing for us :-)
It is classy, leather furniture, fireplaces, the wholeworks, would like to return in the winter to see how's it like....

Room Tip: Take a room not facing the backyard as it's not nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked Mammoth Creek at the last minute, we couldn't decide whether to opt for cheap and cheerful or go for something a little more up market. Choice in the area can be tricky because places get booked up. We went for middle of the road and couldn't have been happier with our choice.

We were delighted, we had a lovely welcome and were given a room on the 1st floor. The temperature had dropped dramatically and we were greeted with a lovely roaring fire in the lounge. We were offered a variety of suggestions on where to eat. We opted for Thai'd up just across the road, but there is plenty of choice in Mammoth.

Our room was clean, with a huge bed. We didn't have a view but we weren't that bothered since we weren't planning on spending much time in our room.

There is a lovely spa downstairs in the basement, we didn't use it as we hunted down the hot springs, but if we had stayed longer we would have made use of these facilities, I can imagine it would be exactly what you would want after a day skiing, or hiking.

Breakfast is a simple affair although exactly what we needed a bagel and coffee, if you want something warm or heated up there is a microwave. On our second night we bought back a bottle of vino and the guy on reception was more than happy to get us some glasses and locate a bottle opener.

If we come back to Mammoth we will certainly come back to the Creek Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here en-route to San Francisco and had a really pleasant and comfortable stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are nicely decorated and modern.
Ample breakfast selection, and gorgeous spa area too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.