We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Mammoth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mammoth Creek Inn to your Saves list
Mammoth Creek Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very comfortable hotel at a really great price. They had thought of everything a traveller needs and for the money, it was excellent. Clean, comnfortable bed and a good shower, and modern everything. Even has a small Spa, with Jacuzzi, Steam room and Sauna. Loved the range of Teas you could help yourself to in the Lounge. Short walk up the road to a choice of places to eat too. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Mammoth. Get the impression the hotel staff are really making an effort for this place to be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    110
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
57
157
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokneam, Israel
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Obviosly a winter SKI chalet, but we came in the summer, it was almost empty and we enjoyed all the attention, great service.
Breakfast was a little bit poor, but the value..... we pay half the price people pay during SKI season, which meant close to nothing for us :-)
It is classy, leather furniture, fireplaces, the wholeworks, would like to return in the winter to see how's it like....

Room Tip: Take a room not facing the backyard as it's not nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked Mammoth Creek at the last minute, we couldn't decide whether to opt for cheap and cheerful or go for something a little more up market. Choice in the area can be tricky because places get booked up. We went for middle of the road and couldn't have been happier with our choice.

We were delighted, we had a lovely welcome and were given a room on the 1st floor. The temperature had dropped dramatically and we were greeted with a lovely roaring fire in the lounge. We were offered a variety of suggestions on where to eat. We opted for Thai'd up just across the road, but there is plenty of choice in Mammoth.

Our room was clean, with a huge bed. We didn't have a view but we weren't that bothered since we weren't planning on spending much time in our room.

There is a lovely spa downstairs in the basement, we didn't use it as we hunted down the hot springs, but if we had stayed longer we would have made use of these facilities, I can imagine it would be exactly what you would want after a day skiing, or hiking.

Breakfast is a simple affair although exactly what we needed a bagel and coffee, if you want something warm or heated up there is a microwave. On our second night we bought back a bottle of vino and the guy on reception was more than happy to get us some glasses and locate a bottle opener.

If we come back to Mammoth we will certainly come back to the Creek Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here en-route to San Francisco and had a really pleasant and comfortable stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are nicely decorated and modern.
Ample breakfast selection, and gorgeous spa area too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on the way from Yosemite to Vegas. Great location, short walk to the restaurants.
Rooms are comfortable and there is a lovely spa which we found so relaxing.
Would definitely Reccommend. Great price!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on route from San Fran to Vegas when we couldn't find a great Yosemite location in the park and Mammoth is just at the end of the Tioga pass. We are so glad we did and that we booked the master loft with the two levels. Such a great break to have a table, kitchen and separate space from the children. The apartment was huge and we enjoyed playing pool and having the tea and coffee always in reception. Breakfast was not much but we just bought some cereal and milk from the nearby supermarket. We easily occupied ourselves with some interesting sites nearby. While it was the off season of fall, most things were open and I would really recommend it as a stop on your road trip.

Room Tip: Go for the two level master loft for a treat if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is second to none - great location friendly staff and top quality rooms.
All the usual amenities are available plenty of information about the town and surrounding area.
Rooms have selection of hot drinks and water and soft drinks plus confectionary
We had a wonderfull stay here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.