We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop from SF to Vegas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mammoth Creek Inn to your Saves list
Mammoth Creek Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stop from SF to Vegas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on route from San Fran to Vegas when we couldn't find a great Yosemite location in the park and Mammoth is just at the end of the Tioga pass. We are so glad we did and that we booked the master loft with the two levels. Such a great break to have a table, kitchen and separate space from the children. The apartment was huge and we enjoyed playing pool and having the tea and coffee always in reception. Breakfast was not much but we just bought some cereal and milk from the nearby supermarket. We easily occupied ourselves with some interesting sites nearby. While it was the off season of fall, most things were open and I would really recommend it as a stop on your road trip.

Room Tip: Go for the two level master loft for a treat if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    129
    58
    14
    7
See reviews for
62
205
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is second to none - great location friendly staff and top quality rooms.
All the usual amenities are available plenty of information about the town and surrounding area.
Rooms have selection of hot drinks and water and soft drinks plus confectionary
We had a wonderfull stay here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good hotel with good facilities however the area around it was a little run down and it was clear that it was the off season. Not very much to do or eat with in walking distance so spent most of our time in the spa and room. Friendly staff and clean rooms with excellent double glazing for a quite nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have to start by saying this is the best place to stay in Mammoth! I drove into Mammoth with my dog on Labor Day, without reservations or an itinerary. I found the Mammoth Creek Inn listed in the Visitors' Guide, and when I called the Manager, Michael, was instantly welcoming. The hotel is amazing! The rooms are clean and well furnished. The common areas of the hotel are wonderful. The front lobby is a great place to sit and relax after a long day, the upstairs sitting room is cozy and the third floor billiards room is a fun bonus. I spent the end of my evenings in the spa downstairs; there is a hot tub, sauna and steam room (something for everyone). I ended up spending 5 days at the Inn and I have to say I didn't want to leave. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about things to do in and around Mammoth. The manager remembered my name from the first time we talked on the phone and would always go out of his way to welcome me back from being out and about. The location of the Inn is fantastic! It's on the edge of a Wilderness Area with a creek and a wonderful walking path. The views from the Inn and the walking path are amazing no matter the time of day, but especially in the morning to watch the sunrise. There are also several restaurants and shops that are within walking distance. I can't wait to return this winter to snowboard with my friends, we're definitely getting one of the suites, which can accommodate a large group with the luxury of a full kitchen in the suite. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Mammoth, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Inn faces on one side National Forest land, which offers views and walks while still being but a few blocks from the heart of the town's services and restaurants. The service is friendly and not intrusive. The only downsides I experienced were that the upgraded but still old building is far from protected against noise and the continental breakfast is modest.

Room Tip: The suits look great for a largish family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the best! Superb everything... The whole place has been furnished and finished to a high standard, I like the spa area - looks really plush and is relaxing.

The lounge area next to reception is amazing and I have imagined how great it would be to return there after a day of skiing and  have a steam and spa then relax by the open fire in the lounge.
But it is ideal for summer too, we are staying another night!  The hotel is just on the edge of town, its a bit of a walk to the main street but there are plenty of shops and restaurants around. The staff have been fantastic and looked after us during our stay.

Highly recommend a stay here, I can't stop commenting how lovely it is

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We paid a little extra for a deluxe loft and it was worth every penny: large lounge and balcony with beautiful views of the mountain. It was great to have our own kitchen (after 2 weeks eating in restaurants on the rest of our vacation - there's a good Vons nearby). Large bedroom on the mezzanine level, with lovely big comfy bed. The kids really enjoyed the billiards room, and the spa (with jacuzzi, sauna & steam room, plus double rocking chairs) was very nice. The only complaint was that the kids said their sofa bed wasn't very comfortable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#5 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.