We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mammoth Creek Inn to your Saves list
Mammoth Creek Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Brigg, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is second to none - great location friendly staff and top quality rooms.
All the usual amenities are available plenty of information about the town and surrounding area.
Rooms have selection of hot drinks and water and soft drinks plus confectionary
We had a wonderfull stay here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    113
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
57
166
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good hotel with good facilities however the area around it was a little run down and it was clear that it was the off season. Not very much to do or eat with in walking distance so spent most of our time in the spa and room. Friendly staff and clean rooms with excellent double glazing for a quite nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have to start by saying this is the best place to stay in Mammoth! I drove into Mammoth with my dog on Labor Day, without reservations or an itinerary. I found the Mammoth Creek Inn listed in the Visitors' Guide, and when I called the Manager, Michael, was instantly welcoming. The hotel is amazing! The rooms are clean and well furnished. The common areas of the hotel are wonderful. The front lobby is a great place to sit and relax after a long day, the upstairs sitting room is cozy and the third floor billiards room is a fun bonus. I spent the end of my evenings in the spa downstairs; there is a hot tub, sauna and steam room (something for everyone). I ended up spending 5 days at the Inn and I have to say I didn't want to leave. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about things to do in and around Mammoth. The manager remembered my name from the first time we talked on the phone and would always go out of his way to welcome me back from being out and about. The location of the Inn is fantastic! It's on the edge of a Wilderness Area with a creek and a wonderful walking path. The views from the Inn and the walking path are amazing no matter the time of day, but especially in the morning to watch the sunrise. There are also several restaurants and shops that are within walking distance. I can't wait to return this winter to snowboard with my friends, we're definitely getting one of the suites, which can accommodate a large group with the luxury of a full kitchen in the suite. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Mammoth, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Inn faces on one side National Forest land, which offers views and walks while still being but a few blocks from the heart of the town's services and restaurants. The service is friendly and not intrusive. The only downsides I experienced were that the upgraded but still old building is far from protected against noise and the continental breakfast is modest.

Room Tip: The suits look great for a largish family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the best! Superb everything... The whole place has been furnished and finished to a high standard, I like the spa area - looks really plush and is relaxing.

The lounge area next to reception is amazing and I have imagined how great it would be to return there after a day of skiing and  have a steam and spa then relax by the open fire in the lounge.
But it is ideal for summer too, we are staying another night!  The hotel is just on the edge of town, its a bit of a walk to the main street but there are plenty of shops and restaurants around. The staff have been fantastic and looked after us during our stay.

Highly recommend a stay here, I can't stop commenting how lovely it is

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We paid a little extra for a deluxe loft and it was worth every penny: large lounge and balcony with beautiful views of the mountain. It was great to have our own kitchen (after 2 weeks eating in restaurants on the rest of our vacation - there's a good Vons nearby). Large bedroom on the mezzanine level, with lovely big comfy bed. The kids really enjoyed the billiards room, and the spa (with jacuzzi, sauna & steam room, plus double rocking chairs) was very nice. The only complaint was that the kids said their sofa bed wasn't very comfortable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Went to Mammoth for the day en route to Vegas and ending up falling in love with the area and booked a room last minute through the accomadating General Manager who provided us a great room and rate. Beautiful setting and amenities and outstanding service. Greeted and felt genuinely welcomed. Can't wait to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.