We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful ski experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mammoth Creek Inn to your Saves list
Mammoth Creek Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful ski experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you are picked up at the airport, to the room, to the "ski-in ski-out" service the hotel is great. Tom (chauffeur and concierge) and Michael (manager and guest services) make the stay so simple and pleasant. There are beautiful walks near by and some great resteraunts and shops within 5-10 mins walk. Simply excellent and our best ski accommodation we have experienced in the US and in Europe.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    112
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
57
165
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

There is nothing like "new," and they have great new rooms, gym, jacuzzi and steam. The lox at the gratis breakfast is a treat. The managers, Micheal and Sylvia, make us feel like welcomed family. Get the rooms with the unobstructed views of the mountains if you can.

They have some dog friendly rooms too. We took our dog for a hike down the river in the backyard of the hotel each morning. He was happy.

This is our new secret ski getaway! Don't sweat being in town, the shuttle is a NEW SUV. We liked this better than the village or juniper and we have stayed at each. Great stuff. Way to go guys and thank you!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the unobstructed views of the mountains if you can. But don't sweat it if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Every year a group of us (16-20) head to Mammoth Mountain for a ski trip. Last year we stayed close to the Village, but this year I planned for something different. To be honest, the in-building jacuzzi (who really wants to have to walk outside in the cold) and complimentary breakfast were big draws and they do not disappoint. My experience with the staff of the Inn was nothing short of wonderful. I mean, I had sent a list of arrivals and names and wouldn't you know it, the GM Michael greeted me by name at the front door. The GM deserves immense credit for creating such a relaxed and chill environment.
We had people staying in the Master Loft, a Deluxe Loft, Twin rooms, and Jr. Suite. Beds are comfortable--a nice touch, they had turned the heat on in the rooms prior to our arrivals--bathrooms are clean and modern. The group also liked the pool room on the top floor.
Another plus was that we were within walking distance to restaurants, bars, the movie theater, grocery store, and ski rental spots.
Besides two power outages during the winter storm (55+ inches), there were no real issues. One recommendation might be to use Schat's Bakery in their breakfast. Seems a shame to have something so delicious so close by and use packaged pastries and breads.
All-in-all the group and I agree, this was the best place to stay ever!

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor and right side of the hallway face the parking lot. You need to be carefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Granted, we've only been twice to Mammoth and stayed both times in Mammoth Creek Inn but I think it's safe to say that this is our favorite hotel. We didn't get the awesome room with a view on either time ( stayed at room # 213 last time, and #212 this time, just a regular view of the old building) , nor did the steam room or sauna were working during our stay last time ( steam room had a notice " out of order" but sauna seemed to work. We couldn't figure it out how to turn it on and the frontdesk girl wasn't helpful or didn't seem to care that much( but she was the only one!)). Yet the people who work there totally make up for any inconvinience. Thank you, Tom, Sylvia, Michael! You went out of your way to help us during the snow storm and made us feel calm and safe! Also thank you so much for tips on food and rental places!
We will definitely be back to Mammoth and Mammoth Creek Inn is our place to stay!
Francois and Irena

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I've been going to Mammoth for over 30 years and have stayed everywhere from the inexpensive hotels along Main, the Village and just about every condo complex around Canyon Lodge. I'm telling you this place is fantastic. They did an exceptional job remodeling and I think there are only around 20 rooms. Great free continential breakfast, wifi, and they just remodeled the downstairs with an enviable workout room, jacuzzi, steam shower an sauna. The shuttle is a black chevy suburban XL and ready whenever you are! There is a great deck to party. two common rooms for cocktails with friends or to hang with kids and a pool table in a loft area. They are on Old Mammoth Rd across from the Stove so its about a 5 minute walk to all the great restaurants and pubs. Michael the GM pays attention to every detail. There are only two cons I will note; the hot water can get just warm and the latest you can check out is 11.30. Forget the Westin or making your own bed in someone elses condo, stay here.

Mark
Newport Beach

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

im so happy i chose to stay at Mammoth Creek Inn. Its a charming, cozy, and well-taken-care-of boutique hotel. The hotel personnel went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The new jacuzzi, sauna, and fitness room are amazing. The iMac in the lobby was great for me, as i didnt bring my laptop with. The shuttle service was super convenient and the driver was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a warm, cozy, and hospitable stay in Mammoth.

Room Tip: they have gorgeous suites available, that sleep 6-8. I didnt stay there this time, but i hope to in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lax
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I so wanted to like the Mammoth Creek Inn. Great location off the beaten path.

So the good: the room was lovely. Clean, not too furnished. nice furniture, GREAT king bed. ipod dock, truly all that you would want. plush towels and robe. nice carpeting. three windows with very nice views. bathroom had Kohler and high end everything. remodeled everything.

the not so good. NO hot water. took a lukewarm shower after standing in the tub waiting for 10 minutes. Management claimed that it's the case during peak hours. Um, you're a hotel. Hot water is what you must deliver at all times. that's what we pay for. WIFI in room was so poor that my ipad kept kicking the network off. "Sometimes WIFI in Mammoth is not great" was the manager's response. after reading other people's wifi comments i believe that wifi is hit or miss in the rooms.

would i stay again, um, probably, but i would be careful about when i showered and would use wifi out in the lobby areas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.