We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and nice room in beautiful Mammoth Lakes Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Mammoth Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mammoth Creek Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Corona, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Good Location and nice room in beautiful Mammoth Lakes Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We just returned home today Sept. 6th from a great trip to Mammoth Lakes for hiking in the High Sierras and exploring the area. We spent our first 2 nights at a charming and very rustic cabin up at Lake George and our last night at Mammoth Creek Inn. I had been looking for a nice hotel room that would be dog friendly since we were traveling with our dog in a nice location in town. I made reservations in advance and Mammoth Creek Inn offers very comfortable and tastefully decorated room for a good price. Very friendly welcome at the Front Desk and the evening manager was also very nice and helpful. The lobby is very modern but still with an alpine flair. I had booked a Mountain View room and even so they only had a room with 2 double beds available at time of booking we had a very comfortable stay. The beds, linens and pillows are just a comfortable as a Marriott or Hilton. They provided lots of soft towels and the standard toiletries and 2 bathrobes which we used to walk down to their basement jacuzzi spa. This was really nice after several days of hiking and tired muscles. There was a fridge in the room that had some beverages and snacks available for purchase and extra room for the drinks we brought and wanted to keep cold. There is also a nice lounge area upstairs with area out on the deck and beautiful views of the mountains and a billard table in the loft area. For us the hotel was in a perfect location. The mountain view side is facing to Mammoth Creek Park and nature area with a nice trail along the creek and the interesting historic Hyde Cabin and the other direction of the hotel are lots of restaurants, bars and a Vons store etc. on Old Mammoth Road. We had a good and well priced Thai food dinner at Thaid Up and comfort food style breakfast at the cute Stove Restaurant across the Stree. We would stay at the Mammoth Creek Inn again for sure and our dog liked it there as well. They also have a Ski Locker and offer shuttle service to the ski lifts and other places if needed and the Mammoth Trolly stop is close by as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    93
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
129
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed in a large loft room which was clean, but well used furniture, carpets and appliances. Surprised by how warm the room was when we checked in. Continental breakfast was basic coffee, muffins, cereal and without any fruits. No real charm or anything out of the usual as a place to stay, but close to town and it is located near the free trolley bus line so very convenient to get around the small town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is such a quaint, great place to stay. I stayed here with my girlfriend and some friends and it was much more than we expected. The rooms were very clean, spacious, and nice finishes. The lobby is very cozy to hang around the fireplace. Plus the staff was extremely friendly and helped us with everything we needed, from where to go and even provided us with their private shuttle service. Very reasonable price point and great location right on Old Mammoth Road. Cant wait to go back in the winter for the ski season!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Pictures on the website are definitely misleading. Far from beeing a "Boutique Hotel" as it says on their van. Ask for a room with a view on the mountains otherwise you will be disappointed.
Bad isolation. Staff is nice and will try to satisfy your request.
Ridiculous breakfast options in the basement...go out and enjoy the view somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

I am an avid traveler, especially to Mammoth, and this hotel was wayy beyond my expectations. The staff was incredibly helpful, and the lobby was absolutely gorgeous. The billiard room was an added bonus, not to mention the complimentary snacks and breakfast. I enjoyed the use of the dry sauna after a long day and was pleased to see how clean and neat my room was made up for me. Definitely recommend and look forward to coming again soon for sure!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here with family for 2 nights during weekend in August 2011. The Inn was fully booked, check in time is 4pm. After long long drive arrived at 3.50pm, our room was not ready... waited for 40 minutes. Reception guy did apologise, but hey, respect your own check in times! And during our wait other guests arrived... and guess what... their rooms were ready. Also, the cleanliness of our deluxe loft was not perfect, room had funny odour, AC was not working, insted they have put 2 extra ventilators in the room, and they could do some maintenance from time to time. For over 200$ per night definetely not worth it. On the plus side, bed cas very comfortable, internet was free and very fast. Did not try the breakfast, which is also incuded free of charge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel's website does not do it justice. My friends and I have been here before in both the winter and summer months and have continuously remained impressed. Their deluxe loft is incredibly spacey. Two stories with nice modern furniture and a balcony with breathtaking views of the mountains. Staff is very helpful and price point is low compared to the countless amenities and superior renovations. Definitely recommend; Winter or Summer!

Room Tip: Deluxe loft was fantastic and worth the minimal increase in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mammoth Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Creek Inn

Address: 663 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Creek Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mammoth Creek Inn - a tradition in Mammoth Mountain lodging and located near sparkling Mammoth Creek just minutes from magnificent Mammoth Mountain in the spectacular Eastern Sierra - is infused with an ambiance of relaxed luxury and nearly four decades of endearing history. Accessible from all directions via scenic U.S. Highway 395, and convenient to Yosemite National Park and unsurpassed outdoor recreation, as well as to Mammoth Mountain's Eagle Express ski lift. Mammoth Creek Inn provides lodging year-round for discriminating domestic and international guests. Our Mammoth Lakes hotel is considered a home away-from-home for visitors enjoying this special destination for High Sierra skiing and snowboarding, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and myriad other recreational activities. Some of our units are pet friendly for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mammoth Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Creek Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.