We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Base Camp Cafe

Base Camp Cafe
3225 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
17609343900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 82 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Only stays open until 4pm. Awesome relaxing atmosphere. Great onion rings and handcrafted ham sandwich. Mexican foods, too. Also serves breakfast. Next door is Bleu wine bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words and stopping by The Camp! Enjoy the adventure... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Skip Harvey is most likely rolling in his grave”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Been to Base Camp twice this month. The former owner ran the place well. Don't know who exactly is "in charge" now, but the place isn't the same. The layout, for one, as there is one HUGE table for diners in the center (so you can sit elbow-to-elbow with strangers at various stages of ordering/eating/finish their meals), and booths on the sides. The outdoor tables are still there. The first time we went this month, we had to ask for napkins, silverware, etc. when our food was brought to us. The second time . . . although we counted five different servers in the establishment . . . we sat for 15 minutes without any acknowledgement, menus. We got discouraged and left. Oh well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Sorry the changes didn't work for you. It is still a work in process. Skip was a friend and colleague and I know he would appreciate we are working hard to save this place but there will be occasional bumps along that way. Safe travels...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“breakfast not so great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

i ordered the scrambles. but the potatoes were not cooked well.
the raw taste spoiled the whole thing . the omelettes were ok.
the Decor was great though.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hey thanks so much for stopping by glad the omelets and atmosphere was great. Will double check on those potato cook times. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“May be the best Ruben I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Looking for a place to get an affordable lunch in an expensive resort town, I was steered to the Base Camp Cafe. The menu is decently priced with a number of tempting selections, and I went with one of my favorites and upgraded my side to sweet potato fries. The fries were thin and crispy, the way I like them. And the Ruben. Piled high with meat and generous portions of cheese that strung out when I lifted the first half. Excellent dressing and kraut rounded out this scrumptious sandwich. Don't miss this if you're a Ruben fan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks so much for giving us a chance. That ruben rocks! We love it too. Hope you enjoyed our little paradise here in Mammoth / Yosemite. Adventure on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sandwich but service was terrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This place was recommended to us by a local bus driver for their sandwiches, totally agree they were great! However service, well there wasn't really any! The waiters looked bored and were very unhelpful! Not busy in there and they still forgot some of our order and the drinks order of the table next to us! A little to 'relaxed' in there, it came off a bit rude! Still food is great so if you want a quick snack and don't really care about service then this is the place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomezsMammoth, Owner at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We know our food is solid, but we are working through some staff transition. Sorry you didn't get our best there. The bus driver is right, we work very hard and won't let a service issue stand for long. Appreciate very much your giving us a chance and sharing your observations. Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Base Camp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Camp Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.