We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good start to the day, but too busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Base Camp Cafe

Base Camp Cafe
3225 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 934 3900
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 77 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good start to the day, but too busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We ended up here a couple of times for during our stay, once for lunch, once for breakfast.

There is usually always a wait for a table, just remember to go to the counter and put your name down for a table, or you'll wait longer than you should as there is nothing telling you to do so, and it's often difficult to get inside with the queues.

The staff were friendly enough and pretty efficient, and the place has a nice atmosphere and a good selection on the menu.

Breakfast was really good and the kids were both happy with their meals even the picky teenager, but the lunch was only average with a couple of errors to one of our orders.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainbow Lake, New York, United States
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“An Iceaxe, A Backpack and a Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We pulled off Rte. 395 to get gas and get a lunch. We got both, but the gas prices were so high, that part of the visit to Mammoth Lakes, CA was not that pleasant. What was pleasant, and WELL WORTH THE STOP was finding the Base Camp Cafe. They had a lunch special just for me: a cheeseburger and salad for $7.00! It was done to perfection, if you love a good cheeseburger, like I do. My wife ordered a Turkey and Avocado Salad. She gave it two thumbs up. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The decor was all about skiing and climbing with coiled rope and used packframes.
The area around Mammoth Lakes also deserves a close look, too. It's all very beautiful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive and what felt like altitude sickness (but more likely to be hangover) decided to stop here on a whim and glad we did. Great welcome and seated right away. First thing to come out was water for the table followed by the best sala and nachos I've had in a very long time. I can firmly recommend the onion soup it was perfect. The others in my party had jacket potatoes big enough to feed a family of four for a week!! The place seems a bit tired but was spotlessly clean, service quick and very friendly and the food was hot and full of flavour. Perfect!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Base Camp is one of our go-to places in Mammoth. Nothing fancy here but you are always count on a good sandwich, salad or soup. The vegetable soup is delicious and filling and the best you can get in town. The chili is also good but it's pretty spicy so if you like yours mild, order the soup instead. Prices are reasonable and there is a daily special that is a solid value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I had a late lunch here during a stop over in Mammoth. The food was excellent, well prepared and the service was good. I the fish and chips and substituted chicken noodle soup instead of a Cesar side salad for a reasonable up charge. The fish was light and flaky, chips fresh and tasty with a light seasoning. I normally hate seasoning on fries however, they got it right. The chicken noodle soup was probably the best I have had in a restaurant. My wife had the Cesar Salad with Chicken. We were both pleased with the food, service and pricing. We will definitely be returning when next in Mammoth. Our dog gave the food four paws up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Base Camp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Camp Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.