We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never had a bad meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Convict Lake

The Restaurant at Convict Lake
2000 Convict Lake Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760-934-3803
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dine at The Restaurant at Convict LakeJust 10 Minutes from Mammoth Lakes!The Restaurant at Convict Lake is widely recognized as the finest restaurant in the Eastern Sierra and a "locals" choice for special occasions. Dine in a romantic and casually elegant location just 10 minutes from Mammoth Lakes across from the Mammoth/Yosemite Airport.
Ladera Ranch, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have eaten there a few times now and as always never a bad meal. Must have bananas foster for dessert! Romantic and the staff was really terrific.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Make Reservations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent food and service. I've had dinner here twice, and it is one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. This restaurant has the total package: excellent food, atmosphere, and great service. Come here to dine, not just to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bananas Foster is the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I went there for dinner for my birthday. I really only go for the bananas foster and they did not disappoint. The food is good and all of my guest enjoyed it. The thing that I do not like with many restaurants is that they feel the need to sauce the steak. My filet had a sauce on it, and it was not that good of a sauce. I like my steak with just a bit of salt and cracked pepper. The service is beyond comparison. Mammoth has lots of restaurants, but most of them simply do not have all around good food and good service. They are hit or miss. This place you can order almost any item and you will have good food and the service is always good. I am sad to say that the making of the dessert got more interest than the actual dessert so I do not have a picture of the dessert. Needless to say, it was delicious. But watching it being made is a lot of fun. You will not be disappointed if you dine here. It is very cool to go in the winter after a good snow, as it is a beautiful setting. I also want to say that I really miss not being able to get Alpers trout. I hope it comes back because that is my favorite item on the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As a local, this is my personal favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have lived in the eastern sierras since 85 and eat here about 6 times a year, if not more. The atmosphere is 2nd to none and views are spectacular. We have had xmas parties here, birthday parties, entertained guest here and it is always a hit. The food is great and the service is the best in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Owner at The Restaurant at Convict Lake, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Patron,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide comment on your experience at Angels. We appreciate you patronage and any comments that you have.

Can you tell us the date of your visit.

Also, if you will send us your email to info@convictlake.com we will be pleased to send you a small token of our appreciation.

Best regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“The best food at "Taste of the Sierra" was Convict Lake Rest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

At the annual "Taste of the Sierra" the best offerings were from the Convict Lake Restaurant. We wanted to go to the restaurant itself but we couldn't get to it before we left Bishop. Next time!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Convict Lake also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to The Restaurant at Convict Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Convict Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.