We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Not the typical Mammoth Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feeney's Starlight Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Feeney's Starlight Cafe
452 Old Mammoth Rd. (Sierra Center Mall), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
(760) 914-1375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 81 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow! Not the typical Mammoth Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Been trying to get here since this winter. In the past the place was closed when we stopped by. So worth the effort.
Had an amazing pork and pickle sandwich with Onion Rings. Sister had the lunch special which was a ratatouille made with really amazing vegetables.
Fabulous and super knowledgable service. Both the chef and the waitress had amazing passion for what they are doing.
This place is certainly worth checking into. Only here for two days this week, but coming up in two more weeks so I will be back to try to shrimp and grits next.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go here to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Okay. I live here in a suburb of Mammoth about 15 miles away. I work here daily. I don't usually give '5 stars' because no one is perfect. If I could, I'd give it 4.5 stars. But I wanted you, the reader, to read this and go here to eat.
Located in the nearly dead Sierra Center Mall, on the east side opposite Mammoth Sporting Goods it is easy to miss, and easy to see why you missed it once you're there. The 'ambiance' is non-existent really, but you're not there to look at stuff on the walls, right? You're there to eat! And eat you will. Try anything. Seriously. Shrimp and grits? Amazing. Kim Chi Burger? Outstanding. (They mix chorizo in with the hamburger) Crispy, mini onion rings? Ahi Tuna burrito, (Ya baby!) Addictive.
Italian, vietnamese, all flared in with american style. This is fast becoming a local favorite. Service is always good, and you feel like it's home. The kitchen is right there! You can watch your food being cooked if you want. The chef is chatty, and friendly, telling you what he's doing. Have a suggestion? Let them know! Dinner menu is a bit more extensive, but lunch is the most creative and tasty you'll find in Mammoth.
Go here. Eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very interesting menu and worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We read the reviews and thought we'd give it a try. The chorizo shrimp pasta was very good, as was the "not only for kids" Mac n Cheese. The bow tie pasta was only ok but my daughter liked it. We also tried the Vietnamese Ramen, which was pretty bland compared to pho from a true Vietnamese place. We'll go back, to try other dishes, but it's pretty small, so have a back-up plan.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Creative little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The restaurant is hidden in an office complex and your GPS may take you past the place. You will be rewarded if you take the time to find it. The menu is the owner's creation which doesn't fit neatly into any category. We had a delicious lunch of ahi sashimi burrito and shrimp po boy. I was conversing with the owner/chef who has a passion for creative cooking. My best compliment for restaurant is that I wish this is in my home town. Wish this place is in San Diego. Will be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lax
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“excellent food, hand crafted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Feeney's is not your typical high volume Mammoth restaurant.
a. the menu changes daily and includes everything from superb pasta to ahi tuna burritos
b. everything is made from scratch, each dish custom cooked
c. james dollops love into every dish
d. Feeney's is not about charm and impressive decor. you, whether a local or from out of town, come for the highly varied food and individual attention

favorite place to eat in Mammoth. also a quick note, bring the kids, james and crew will custom build lunch or dinner for the young ones and they in turn will want to come back.

James, what are the specials today?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feeney's Starlight Cafe also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Feeney's Starlight Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feeney's Starlight Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.