We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nevados

Nevados
6060 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760-934-4466
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Fabulous food. Not cheap - but worth it. Excellent fish dishes. But excellent everything. Book early - it gets full.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    5
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A little pricey, but the food selection is excellent. Great and lively bar and nice eating area. Can get surprisingly busy but that only underscores its good food & drink. I had the Rack of Lamb and it was really good and a generous portion at that. I would also recommend the house salad. They had Halibut on special one night and we all ordered it and were just delighted by how good it was. Not to bypass the nice selection of appetizers, desserts and coffees. You owe yourself a visit!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Food in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Best Dining experience in Mammoth, I've been going to Mammoth almost every weekend this ski season. I've eaten at Nevados a few times and every time the service has been first class. I've had the Filet Mignon each time and it is the best I've ever had. The server, Clay, was exceptional. The first time eating the Filet Mignon, I was drinking Captian Morgan and coke. Clay suggested for me to put the Capt and Coke a side and brought me a glass of Red Wine. He said it would enhance the flavor of the meat. Great suggestion Clay.
The atmosphere of the bar is also something to rave about. Friendly bar tenders and they do not short you on the shots you pay for when purchasing a mixed drink. Very friendly and professional staff. I recommend this restaurant for your next visit to Mammoth. It's affordable and excellent food with a great presentation.

Cowboy Tom

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Way over priced for merely adequate food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

So much sauce on many items you cannot taste the actual food. been there 3 times and each time the bill was added up incorrectly, they hand write out the bill. If you like sitting at a bar with old types that drink way too much and order over priced cocktails it the place for you. So many better choices in Mammoth. Stay away from the crab cakes ( no taste) and the filet.
Petros, smokeyard, the mogul are far better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service, great wine pours : D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Definite the nicest place in Mammoth. While it was seemingly quiet at every other place in town, there was a lively crowd at Nevados. Great buzz in the bar area and a nice dining scene. Our waiter was very professional, sometimes a rarity in a ski town. I had a glazed salmon and it was excellent. I don't remember what my husband ate but he was happy. Everything cooked perfectly. We did not indulge in dessert, but the choice was nice. You can dress nicely to dine here and it's not a place for poorly minded children.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevados also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Nevados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.