We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High End Greek in Mammoth? Who knew?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's Taverna

Jimmy's Taverna
Old Mammoth Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA
+1 760-934-9432
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jimmy's Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 77 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Yasas! Jimmy's Taverna welcomes you. Join us for the freshest seafood, wood-grilled meats and the most innovative appetizers in Mammoth. Our chefs are classically trained, our service is superb, and our decor is gorgeous. Our world-class wine and spirit selections pair perfectly with our Mediterranean fare making every meal an event. Reservations are recommended. It's the closest you'll come to Greece while in California. Come on in, we've saved you a seat!
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High End Greek in Mammoth? Who knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Mammoth is hit and miss when it comes to dining out. There tends to be more emphasis on value than taste based on the local and LA ski crowds.

Jimmy's stands out as a destination restaurant. I love the interior. The seafood and the beef were fantastic and all the various greek delicacies were there as well

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place is to die for. I had no idea that greek seafood was even something to eat. I've always been a spanikopita kind of gal. But, the food is fantastic-- from the basic hummus and pita to the octopus, prawns and fresh squid. The dolmas are lovely and the lambkofta juicy and sweet. What do they put in it? A big recommend!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such great food, such great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The scallops were great, the appetizers fantastic. Gotta love the view and the wonderfully lighted dining room! It's such a warm, inviting atmosphere! You walk upstairs and it's just lovely!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice upscale Greek restaurant with fresh crafted delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a great meal at Jimmy's Taverna. Our favorite item was the saganaki, which is flaming cheese. We spread it on the house bread and it was delicious! It was the perfect amount to share for 3-4 people. We also had the hummus appetizer, beet salad the chicken gyros and lamb gyros. You can get your sandwich with a side of Kale, which was great or with oregano fries that my son ordered, which was also great. We really liked the greek yogurt, honeycomb and fruit dessert and the custard in phyllo was also delicious. The baklava was a bit too nutty but it was the only low point of the meal. Stephanie was our server and she was attentive, knowledgeable and very helpful.

Don't be confused by the entrance. There are two restaurants in one building. You go downstairs for the Red Lantern and upstairs for Jimmy's Taverna. We were a little confused but the host quickly stepped in and helped us out.

We were also charmed by the decor. The blue ceiling, cool lighting, and mosaic tile floor were great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Among the best Greek restaurants ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We spent three days in Mammoth Lakes and fortunately went to Jimmy's Taverna on the first evening. We came back again and again on the following days. Our kids are quite picky but they loved it! We tried almost everything on their menu and everything was at least very good, many things were excellent! We especially loved the octopus, fried cheese with ouzo and the gyro.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.