We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Postpile National Monument

Devil's Postpile National Monument
Pacific Crest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 934 2289
Website
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This obscure part of the National Park System features unique basalt rock formations.
bay area, ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was so glad the government shutdown ended in time so we could visit the Devil's Postpile during our recent Eastern Sierra Fall Color road trip. The monument itself was very cool to see, but the hike to Rainbow Falls really made the trip.

Definitely prepare yourself for possible altitude sickness if you haven't had time to acclimate before the visit. And have water or electrolytes to say hydrated for the hike.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    87
    34
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great geology; lousy services!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our second trip to this magnificent piece of geology in the last decade. I always time it to avoid having to take the mandatory shuttle, and the crowds. Midday Friday in mid-October had more than enough people for me! As a visitor to the State & National Parks for over 3 decades, I'm outraged at having to pay entrance fees everywhere now, $10 here, and seeing the facilities in such a poor state. The visitor's center was closed. Many bathrooms around, but only one pit toilet open. Ridiculous! No park employees at the trailhead the entire time we were there. And, the handicapped ramp access, just as you arrive at the Postpile, had its handrail disassembled and lying on the ground. I know the geology behind this rock formation, but nowhere did I see anything posted to educate the public. Finally, even though it's permitted, do not take a motorhome down here. Sure, it could be done carefully, but, as is usually the case, only the rental units with inexperienced RV drivers do it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so. bay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Easy and very scenic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The trail is very easy to walk and takes you to Devil's Postpile and further down to Rainbow Falls. Can't get lost on the very popular hiking trail. I've walked it four times and each time was just as enjoyable as the first time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh Bummer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was closed due to our delightful effective politciians. We got to the entrance. However, the fall colors were glorious

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Myself, my husband and three children thoroughly enjoyed an afternoon at Devil's Postpile. I must have taken 50 photo's, the trees were amazing, there was a field of tree stumps where the trees had been destroyed in a storm, we had never seen anything like it. The waterfall was also lovely, the walk was a bit long for our kids but it was worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Postpile National Monument also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Devil's Postpile National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Postpile National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.