We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and very scenic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Postpile National Monument

Devil's Postpile National Monument
Pacific Crest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 934 2289
Website
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This obscure part of the National Park System features unique basalt rock formations.
so. bay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Easy and very scenic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The trail is very easy to walk and takes you to Devil's Postpile and further down to Rainbow Falls. Can't get lost on the very popular hiking trail. I've walked it four times and each time was just as enjoyable as the first time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    87
    34
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh Bummer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was closed due to our delightful effective politciians. We got to the entrance. However, the fall colors were glorious

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Myself, my husband and three children thoroughly enjoyed an afternoon at Devil's Postpile. I must have taken 50 photo's, the trees were amazing, there was a field of tree stumps where the trees had been destroyed in a storm, we had never seen anything like it. The waterfall was also lovely, the walk was a bit long for our kids but it was worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A nice walk in the US outback, felt like I could have been a settler going back in time. Makes you think about the hardships they had to endure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Drive in and out not for the feint hearted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Really interesting rock formation worth seeing. During the peak summer season access is limited to the tourist bus. We were able to drive there ourselves - and it is an absolute edge of your seat drive along a steep, winding, single lane (but two way) mountain road.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Postpile National Monument also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Devil's Postpile National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Postpile National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.