We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devil's Postpile National Monument
Pacific Crest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 934 2289
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This obscure part of the National Park System features unique basalt rock formations.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was OK, but we recommend going to see it if you're also going to hike around the area and possibly picnic. Just for a stop-off that you drive the windy road, park in the overcrowded parking lot, and then take the short walk to, it's kind of average when you see it up close. I'm not usually underwhelmed by natural phenomena either!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    108
    41
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Few hours at Devil's Postpile National Monument”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived there after 2 pm, on 2nd week of October. So, there was no shuttle. We drove to the Devil's Postpile parking lot then did the round trip 0.8 mile hike, which is pretty easy. You can continue the walk for another 1.5 mile to reach the Rainbow Falls but we decided to walk less. The Postpile is formed only in a small area as exactly seen in every picture; that's it. Then we went to the Rainbow Falls parking lot and did the 2.6 mile round trip walk, again its very easy. The Falls is very pretty and on the way you will see the traces of damaged trees by forest fire and storms. We have also seen some Fall coloration. You may go down by stairs to enjoy the Falls, which I suppose is very exciting though we missed it since I was quite tired after the whole day drive from Bay Area. When you are ready to go back, keep 15-20 minutes time to stop at the vista point which is located at the outside of the immediate left of park entrance. You will definitely enjoy the view.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“long, treacherous drive from the entrance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

White knuckle, single lane for 2 ways traffic down a windy, scary pass to get to the place. But well worth it with a reward of crazy formations.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
250 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Looks like three times indeed is a charm. The first two times in the last several years that I tried to visit this national monument, it was closed because of snow. I just got back from Devil's Postpile, and the weather was 55 degrees with a blue sky. You travel on a winding, narrow road to get to this attraction. The postpile of rocks is very unusual. Because of the time of year, there were only about a hundred people in the entire park. Unless you have a senior or annual pass, it costs $10.00 to enter, which you pay at the ranger station. There is plenty of hiking and beautiful scenery to keep you occupied for several hours at Devil's Postpile National Monument.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the 0.4-mile hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

And worth the long and winding road down to the location. Much of the road is one lane with small turnouts along the way, so be prepared for that. The "postpile" itself is really quite amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Postpile National Monument also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Devil's Postpile National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Postpile National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.