We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few hours at Devil's Postpile National Monument” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Postpile National Monument

Devil's Postpile National Monument
Pacific Crest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 934 2289
Website
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This obscure part of the National Park System features unique basalt rock formations.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Few hours at Devil's Postpile National Monument”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived there after 2 pm, on 2nd week of October. So, there was no shuttle. We drove to the Devil's Postpile parking lot then did the round trip 0.8 mile hike, which is pretty easy. You can continue the walk for another 1.5 mile to reach the Rainbow Falls but we decided to walk less. The Postpile is formed only in a small area as exactly seen in every picture; that's it. Then we went to the Rainbow Falls parking lot and did the 2.6 mile round trip walk, again its very easy. The Falls is very pretty and on the way you will see the traces of damaged trees by forest fire and storms. We have also seen some Fall coloration. You may go down by stairs to enjoy the Falls, which I suppose is very exciting though we missed it since I was quite tired after the whole day drive from Bay Area. When you are ready to go back, keep 15-20 minutes time to stop at the vista point which is located at the outside of the immediate left of park entrance. You will definitely enjoy the view.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    90
    34
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sf bay area
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“long, treacherous drive from the entrance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

White knuckle, single lane for 2 ways traffic down a windy, scary pass to get to the place. But well worth it with a reward of crazy formations.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Looks like three times indeed is a charm. The first two times in the last several years that I tried to visit this national monument, it was closed because of snow. I just got back from Devil's Postpile, and the weather was 55 degrees with a blue sky. You travel on a winding, narrow road to get to this attraction. The postpile of rocks is very unusual. Because of the time of year, there were only about a hundred people in the entire park. Unless you have a senior or annual pass, it costs $10.00 to enter, which you pay at the ranger station. There is plenty of hiking and beautiful scenery to keep you occupied for several hours at Devil's Postpile National Monument.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth the 0.4-mile hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

And worth the long and winding road down to the location. Much of the road is one lane with small turnouts along the way, so be prepared for that. The "postpile" itself is really quite amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique structure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Really enjoyed seeing this area. Short .5 mile hike on good trail from parking and another 2 miles past we hiked to Rainbow Falls and Reds Meadow. Fall colors during visit made for great pictures.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Postpile National Monument also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Devil's Postpile National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Postpile National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.