We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski-in Ski-out Condos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Juniper Springs Resort to your Saves list
Juniper Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lift Lodging Package
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ski-in Ski-out Condos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The best part of staging at juniper is the proximity to the mountain! You could not ask for a place closer to the mountain and the luxury of ski-in ski-out is absolutely fabulous! My main complaint would be that there is no wifi in the Sunstone building which is a bit of a burden and quite unusual given this day and age.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Rachel L,
Thank you for your review of Juniper Springs Resort on Trip Advisor. The Sunstone building does indeed offer a great ski-in ski-out experience. We should have WIFI in that building running up soon.

Peter A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    136
    64
    30
    23
See reviews for
171
117
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

the service was a excellent. we arrived well after the check-in time and was given prompt service. the entire stay was wonderful. The room was better than expected. Having the fridge, dishwasher and all the dishes in the room made the stay so comfortable.

The best part was the ski in, ski out and eagle lodge was literally 100 yds from our back door. We were able to ski into about 50 feet from our back door and it was awesome.

Room Tip: a good tip is to get the 2 night stay and 3rd night free. it was an excellent deal. Also see what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear erice1911,

Thank you for your recent review of Juniper Springs Resort on Trip Advisor. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. Chair 9 indeed has some good powder!

Peter A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were regulars at Juniper Springs for several years after it opened, but the overheated rooms and spotty internet drove us away for a couple of seasons. We returned this year and I'm happy to report the heating problem has been fixed, and it is now possible to enjoy your stay with the windows closed and the fireplace on. We got some much-needed snow the week of our visit, perfect for enjoying the best part of Juniper Springs: two-minute walk to the bottom of Eagle Lift and easy ski storage when you ski/walk back at the end of the day. We always meet great people in the hot tubs, although I wish the few unruly small kids were supervised a bit better.
The one-bedroom apartment layout is perfect for our family of three and the internet works well throughout the property. The only reason NOT to stay here is if you need to deposit kids in ski school on the other side of the mountain, but lessons are available at Eagle and the slope is gentle enough for beginners, with advanced terrain only a few lifts away. No real restaurants within walking distance, so we cook in the condo or drive into town. Convenient underground parking. Shuttle bus can be tricky and leave you stranded. Already doing a little snow dance as we look forward to next year.

Room Tip: We stayed at the end of the hall on the second floor facing the hot tubs. Very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear reliantship,

Thank you for your recent review of Juniper Springs Resort on Trip Advisor. Welcome back and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Peter.A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The location of this hotel is great when there is snow. Fortunately, there was enough snow on our trip to be able to ski in/out. It appears with the slow ski season, the hotel isn't staffed properly. We just visitied for a few days after the best snowfall of the season, but the hotel wasn't staffed enough to handle the Sunday checkouts. Only one (stressed) person handling phone calls and check outs. Many people waiting for bell service. It was just faster for us to load the car by carrying out our own luggage.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear CalvaryMike,

Thank you for your review of Juniper Springs Resort on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you found our location ideal for skiing and thank you for your feedback about your departure experience. I trust the rest of stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

Peter. A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived late in the evening and without asking were upgraded to a fantastic room. I wish I remembered his name that upgraded us but was too tired after the drive. There is easy underground parking with simple access to the rooms. The room had been remodeled and was roomy and comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with all the utensils, blender, toaster and comforts of home. The hotel has a great game room for the kids, ping pong table and a nice pool with three spas. There are also two large barbecues if you would like to grill after a day on the mountain. There is a small cafe inside the hotel which has a little bit of everything. There is a ski/board rental shop in the lobby if you don't want to battle the lines at Mammoth's rental facility. The kids that work in there were very patient and helpful.

The lifts are right out the hotel lobby's doors. Has to be less than 50 yards. There is a ski school/daycare/ticket sales and a great bar/restaurant at the base of the lift.

I would recommend this place for anyone and the access to mountain biking and hiking in the summer is also fantastic. Did I mention how friendly the entire staff was? The front desk crew to the maids were all great.

Room Tip: If you like a view to the mountains ask for a southwest facing room. If you want to hop your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear thekid26,

Thank you for your recent review of Juniper Springs Resort on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team exceeded your expectation. Please come see us again soon.

Peter. A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here for the first time; spent 4 nights. Not being very familiar with Mammoth, I chose it for the promised ski-in ski-out aspect which was not as ideal as I experienced at the Summit at Big Sky earlier in the season but it was still very convenient. There are lockers downstairs for your skis, etc. and you can walk out the back door of the locker room, up a short asphalt path, and you are at Eagle Express as well as Eagle Lodge and ski rental shop. I also liked this place because I was on the trip with a friend and I was able to get a 2 bedroom unit with full kitchen, fireplace and BOTH bedrooms had king beds! (So often, you get one king and the other bedroom has twins.) Other convenience items: underground parking and it's only a 5 minute drive to town to hit the supermarket, Rite Aid, etc. There are 3 whirlpool tubs in the pool area, so that was nice; however, if the place had been full I suspect they would have been very crowded (two of them barely hold 2 people each).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for your review of Juniper Springs Resort on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. I have to agree with you that not many hotels offers the King/King option in their two bedrooms so I am glad we were able to make that accommodation. I hope you enjoyed your experience in Mammoth and we would love to see up again soon.

Peter. A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We are still here, arrived yesterday and are staying for two weeks from Australia. I'd read the reviews on Tripadvisor and phoned the GM direct to make sure that we got a good room - we are in a 2 bedroom town home. The room I was promised 109 was unavailable on check-in and we got 104 which is 100m from the run down but no big deal. The rooms are very well appointed and have everything you need, wi-fi works very well. The resort of Mammoth is really struggling, the season has been bad from a snow perspective and apparently half the staff were let go after Christmas. However, it's snowing now and the mountain certainly needs it. Hardly anybody here at the moment but I expect that will change if we get the promised dump of snow.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Wolst,

Thank you again for staying with us and I am pleased to hear the room was comfortable and well appointed. I hope you got to enjoy some of that freshly fallen snow we received.

Peter.A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#8 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.