We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but service is a little slow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Juniper Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Juniper Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Golf
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but service is a little slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The location of this hotel is great when there is snow. Fortunately, there was enough snow on our trip to be able to ski in/out. It appears with the slow ski season, the hotel isn't staffed properly. We just visitied for a few days after the best snowfall of the season, but the hotel wasn't staffed enough to handle the Sunday checkouts. Only one (stressed) person handling phone calls and check outs. Many people waiting for bell service. It was just faster for us to load the car by carrying out our own luggage.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear CalvaryMike,

Thank you for your review of Juniper Springs Resort on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you found our location ideal for skiing and thank you for your feedback about your departure experience. I trust the rest of stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

Peter. A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    118
    55
    27
    21
See reviews for
150
97
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived late in the evening and without asking were upgraded to a fantastic room. I wish I remembered his name that upgraded us but was too tired after the drive. There is easy underground parking with simple access to the rooms. The room had been remodeled and was roomy and comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with all the utensils, blender, toaster and comforts of home. The hotel has a great game room for the kids, ping pong table and a nice pool with three spas. There are also two large barbecues if you would like to grill after a day on the mountain. There is a small cafe inside the hotel which has a little bit of everything. There is a ski/board rental shop in the lobby if you don't want to battle the lines at Mammoth's rental facility. The kids that work in there were very patient and helpful.

The lifts are right out the hotel lobby's doors. Has to be less than 50 yards. There is a ski school/daycare/ticket sales and a great bar/restaurant at the base of the lift.

I would recommend this place for anyone and the access to mountain biking and hiking in the summer is also fantastic. Did I mention how friendly the entire staff was? The front desk crew to the maids were all great.

Room Tip: If you like a view to the mountains ask for a southwest facing room. If you want to hop your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear thekid26,

Thank you for your recent review of Juniper Springs Resort on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team exceeded your expectation. Please come see us again soon.

Peter. A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here for the first time; spent 4 nights. Not being very familiar with Mammoth, I chose it for the promised ski-in ski-out aspect which was not as ideal as I experienced at the Summit at Big Sky earlier in the season but it was still very convenient. There are lockers downstairs for your skis, etc. and you can walk out the back door of the locker room, up a short asphalt path, and you are at Eagle Express as well as Eagle Lodge and ski rental shop. I also liked this place because I was on the trip with a friend and I was able to get a 2 bedroom unit with full kitchen, fireplace and BOTH bedrooms had king beds! (So often, you get one king and the other bedroom has twins.) Other convenience items: underground parking and it's only a 5 minute drive to town to hit the supermarket, Rite Aid, etc. There are 3 whirlpool tubs in the pool area, so that was nice; however, if the place had been full I suspect they would have been very crowded (two of them barely hold 2 people each).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for your review of Juniper Springs Resort on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. I have to agree with you that not many hotels offers the King/King option in their two bedrooms so I am glad we were able to make that accommodation. I hope you enjoyed your experience in Mammoth and we would love to see up again soon.

Peter. A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We are still here, arrived yesterday and are staying for two weeks from Australia. I'd read the reviews on Tripadvisor and phoned the GM direct to make sure that we got a good room - we are in a 2 bedroom town home. The room I was promised 109 was unavailable on check-in and we got 104 which is 100m from the run down but no big deal. The rooms are very well appointed and have everything you need, wi-fi works very well. The resort of Mammoth is really struggling, the season has been bad from a snow perspective and apparently half the staff were let go after Christmas. However, it's snowing now and the mountain certainly needs it. Hardly anybody here at the moment but I expect that will change if we get the promised dump of snow.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Wolst,

Thank you again for staying with us and I am pleased to hear the room was comfortable and well appointed. I hope you got to enjoy some of that freshly fallen snow we received.

Peter.A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is located perfectly at Eagle Lodge Lift. We checked in, walked to rent skis and skied right onto the lift. After enjoying our day, we skied back to the lodge, checked our skis and enjoyed a drink at the bar and grill. An excellent location for families or couples. The room is roomy and has a fridge and full kitchen, so if you want to bring along groceries you are welcome to put them in your full size fridge. A nice fireplace, great small living room which has a couch that turns into an extra bed for the kids. Our kids were content to sleep on the couch! Location can't be beat. Service is very good. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Kimberly H,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation.

Peter. A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great location, right at the eagle lodge lift. Staff really great and helpful.
All the condos are individual as all individually owned. We were in room 404 lovely room, bed comfy, the table has lived a little, which means you can throw your boarding gear onto it without worrying about scratching it!
Nice pool and hot tubs.
Would easily stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Drewglasgow74,

Thank you for your recent review of Juniper Springs Resort. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured we will get that table replaced.

Peter.A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great Hotel/Condo
Great STAFF
Great Service
Great Room
Spectacular view
Nicer than I expected, phenomenal service.
Not a hotel but nice 1 king bedrm/1 bath/ 1 kitchenette 1 living room Condo
I will be back again next week
Exceeded my expectations!!!
$20 resort fee not a plus :( Talk to them...

Room Tip: Ask'em about resort fee. They might be able to work with you a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear J-SDCA,

Thank you for your feedback during your recent visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Peter. A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;