We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Juniper Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Juniper Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Golf
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed Thursday and Friday night, Jan. 24 & 25. Three of us had a 2-bedroom, so we could spread out. It was a good thing because the living room would have been crowded with any more. We had a nice view of the mountain, hot tubs, and pool. I liked the fact that the main bath had a large shower and no tub. (I hate climbing over a tub). Master bathroom has a tub, in case anyone needs it. The living room had a gas fireplace as a heater, and the bedrooms have electric baseboard heaters. We turned them all off and opened the windows when we arrived. We never needed to use the heaters, because the building stays warm. Kitchen was well-equipped. Good thing since there is no restaurant at the facility. We had really good beds, and the place was clean. Each closet included fans, and humidifiers...a nice touch.
I'm not as impressed as others seem to be with the Aveda toiletries. The Rosemary Mint shampoo/body wash made my sunburn & "my boys" tingle, and burn. ;-)
This hotel is not truly ski in/out from what we could see. Maybe with more snow? Even so, the lift is very close.
I would gladly stay here again, although I would look at some of the other areas of Mammoth as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you Futuremauian for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. While some of our rooms are true to the ski in/out definition, the ski lifts are adjacent to our building as you mentioned and the conditions remain great for skiing/snowboarding. Of course more snow is always a plus.

We look forward welcoming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    106
    50
    26
    21
See reviews for
138
88
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We got a 2 bedroom unit which had a pull out sofa in the lounge. It was comfortable but very small with little to no storage space. There was a tiny area to hang 3 ski jackets which left a lot ski gear lying around eg pants, boots etc. The pool and spa facilities were wonderful after a day skiing. Wasn't the ski in/ski out we had in mind but manageable -if you rent skies from eagle lodge rentals they will store your skies overnight so it is only a short walk to the lodge. Unlimited wifi was included but was slow in the room and especially on the weekends ,fortunately high speed wifi was available in the lobby. We would most probably not sty here again mainly due to the small room size. We have stayed at much better quality and better sized accommodation else where.

Room Tip: We got a 2 bedroom room with a pull out sofa-was too small for 5 people for 10days ,might be okay f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Juniper Springs resort with our daughter January 8-11. The holiday rush was over and the snow and ski conditions were excellent. This was our first time in Mammoth staying at a condo hotel. During our previous visits we stayed at regular condo accomodations without the hotel services. We were happy to say that all the glowing reviews were spot on. The check in was courteous, and they allowed us to check in early. They also encouraged us to check out the available rooms first. We chose a room on the 5th floor with a lovely view of the snow- covered mountains, pine trees & the pool/jacuzzis. The room was equipped with 2 flat screen t.v's and the kitchen had pots, pans and dishes which were new and clean. Everything we needed was provided---including placemats and cloth napkins, wine glasses and a coffee maker.
The lockers downstairs were extremely handy for ski storage, and the small business center was useful when the internet in the room was slow. We also appreciated the easy access parking garage which made it unecessary to freeze while going to our car! The ski in/out aspect was handy since we came back to our room for lunch. The towels and the bedding were of excellent quality and so were the Aveeda toiletries. The only negative was that they allowed people to use the jacuzzis until late at night, and some of the guests were extremely loud and boisterous! But overall, Juniper Springs is a well run organization and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you sonnet4 for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Unlike other condo accommodations, our Resort is staffed 24hrs to ensure your visit remains enjoyable at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Juniper Springs Resort, adjacent to the Eagle lift, has the best location. It's not quite ski in/ski out; rather, it's ski to the back, and walk out the front. Still, it's as close or closer than the parking lot. Probably the other best feature of this property in the closed, insulated parking garage. That's very welcome in cold, winter days.
While the rooms are small, they are well-laid out. The kitchen is fully stocked with the major appliances and dinnerware. The bathrooms are convenient and clean. The rooms are plenty warm in the winter. There's hardly any need to use the heater. The fitness room is adequate for a hotel, though you may not need it given the great outdoors. The pool and jacuzzi are heated in winter - a nice treat.
The beds are hard. I may be old-fashioned, but I think a confortable bed is a given in order to have a good night rest. Juniper Springs has overlook the importance of confortable beds and that includes the sleeper coach.
The notion of a resort is overstated. The internet connection is lousy or non-existant. The business center has only one old Dell computer again with lousy internet. This "resort" lacks other amenties such as valet parking, restaurant, night club, bar, etc. That's all okay, just don't call it a resort. And therefore, there's no reason to charge a daily resort fee.
All in all, this hotel offers an enjoyable stay with a great location. It's just they may have to work on some of the details.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you OCinterscope for your review. I am glad your room accommodations were adequate and comfortable. The Wifi can be sporadic at times but I am optimistic that a viable solution will be available in the near future that will increase data capacity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We got a good room on the ground floor with a fully equipped kitchen, a pull out couch and a double bed. Mosquito nets on the windows which was good. The hotel has two outdoor hot tubs and one pool which is very cosy in the evening. There's also a gaming room which is fun. This was the only place we visited on our long road trip where we could sit down all four of us by a table and have a normal dinner because pur room actuallly had a dining spot. Visited in summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We'Ve returned yet another season to mammoth lakes, and regret it not. The snow is perfect and the terrains around juniper springs are great.
Last visit I shared that the front desk allowed us to check out the room and decide which one to take. That has not changed. Our family is very much aware of which rooms are optimal and we ask for it. Nothing can compare to sitting down in front of a picturesque window with hot cocoa and watch skiers and snowboarders alike ski down like ballerinas or tumble down like clowns in a circus. The rooms at juniper springs are situated such that one feels as if u r watching a movie. Caution ask to see the room.
Last time I commented on the lack of heat regulation. There is always a gas chimney burning which makes the rooms very warm throughout the day, at times unbearably so. We have found that although the ability to regulate the temperature remains out of our hands, the lower room was cool and comfortable during the day, precluding having to open doors and windows.
The Internet remains a problem. Connectivity is hit or miss, mostly miss. The manager regularly checks posts, so Mr. Manager please address this issue.
We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath condo.. Size was adequate for three adults and a young teen. Beyond this, the condo would have simply been too small.
The one major issue with juniper is the lack of maintenance. Do not walk around in socks as they will dirty quickly. Make sure to pull out the covers on the sleeper bed as we found that the sofa bed is closed without changing. We always bring in extra linens.. The refrigerator hums and rattles and shakes and rumbles. That is simply deferred maintenance. The light bulb in the entrance is out, sometimes it's on, mostly out. Go in the room and check out the appliances if u intend to cook.. We do, as restaurants up here are a zoo. Lastly if you r going to take a hot soaking bath to take the cold out of the bones, don't assume the tub was cleaned.. Our tub was not washed down at all.
All in all, the only real problem with the hotel is the lack of cleaning which if everyone brings to their attention will soon bring about a change in labor, I hope..
We will continue to visit juniper and I will take my own advice and have the cleaning done right.
Happy skiing, snowboarding to all.

Room Tip: PS: the beds are lumpy and need to be upgraded. The mattresses are of very low quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for a family vacation with teenagers to take advantage of the epic snowfall in Mammoth. If you want utilitarian accommodations and are focused on skiing/snowboarding and don’t care about much else, this place is perfect. If you are looking for luxury, or other amenities…not so much.

Calling it a resort is kind of a stretch – self-contained it is not, and services are minimal – no restaurant, no bar, no room service, not close to much except the lifts. There is a coffee place that is open for breakfast and lunch, but again, minimal. There is a shuttle you can take to get to the Village or other places where there are shops and restaurants.

For families with kids, there are activities, a game room with ping pong table and video games (a big selection according to my teenage son), and a pool and a Jacuzzi. Having the lift within walking distance is great, especially if you have small kids – there is a ski school at the Eagle Lodge as well so you don’t have to take them all the way to the Village.

The rooms themselves vary greatly, as many of the condos are individually owned. You may get a well-laid-out, updated one…or, you may not. Unfortunately I was able to compare ours to another that had 3 flatscreen TV’s to our one, a kitchen that was much bigger and finishes were much higher-end than in ours. Our condo was fine and functional, but the other one was better.

Wi-Fi is slow and intermittent, so if you plan to use the Internet a lot during your stay, be prepared. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Not sure if I will stay again – would rather stay in the Village where there is more to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.