We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Skiers with Kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Juniper Springs Resort to your Saves list
Juniper Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lift Lodging Package
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best for Skiers with Kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for a family vacation with teenagers to take advantage of the epic snowfall in Mammoth. If you want utilitarian accommodations and are focused on skiing/snowboarding and don’t care about much else, this place is perfect. If you are looking for luxury, or other amenities…not so much.

Calling it a resort is kind of a stretch – self-contained it is not, and services are minimal – no restaurant, no bar, no room service, not close to much except the lifts. There is a coffee place that is open for breakfast and lunch, but again, minimal. There is a shuttle you can take to get to the Village or other places where there are shops and restaurants.

For families with kids, there are activities, a game room with ping pong table and video games (a big selection according to my teenage son), and a pool and a Jacuzzi. Having the lift within walking distance is great, especially if you have small kids – there is a ski school at the Eagle Lodge as well so you don’t have to take them all the way to the Village.

The rooms themselves vary greatly, as many of the condos are individually owned. You may get a well-laid-out, updated one…or, you may not. Unfortunately I was able to compare ours to another that had 3 flatscreen TV’s to our one, a kitchen that was much bigger and finishes were much higher-end than in ours. Our condo was fine and functional, but the other one was better.

Wi-Fi is slow and intermittent, so if you plan to use the Internet a lot during your stay, be prepared. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Not sure if I will stay again – would rather stay in the Village where there is more to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    131
    62
    27
    21
See reviews for
160
108
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was initially worried about the service I would receive based on reviews I saw on Trip Advisor and Yelp. I usually stay at Village Lodge, but because the price was much better at Juniper, I decided to take a chance. (I also appreciated that Managers answer every negative review personally, and I believe that they genuinly care about guest satisfaction.)

When I arrived, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The person checking me in appeared to be new, but the supervisor was right there with him, helping him along. I mentioned to the supervisor that I have stayed at Mammoth properties before and that I understood some rooms were better maintained than others. She explained that they try to maintain consistency in all rooms, but she said that she knew of a room that has a really nice "owners touch." She had the person helping us, assign us to that room. (This may only have been possible because the resort was not full). I was very impressed that one of the shuttle drivers who was standing nearby actually ran up to the room without being asked, checked it out, and then came back down to assure me that we would be happy in the room assigned. The room was everything we expected. We found it to be clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and professional.

I really think that having a great stay, starts with the guest communicating what they are hoping for in a friendly, genuine way. The staff, from managment to shuttle driver, really want the guests to have a great stay and it showed in the way my family was treated. Thanks for the great stay and caring service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just stopped for an overnight visit on our way to Yosemite. I liked the fact that it had all the conveniences of home with a full kitchen. I liked the parking garage. The location could not be any better if you came to the resort to ski. The front desk was extremely helpful and friendly.
We had a very pleasant experience during our short visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

It was our first time staying at Juniper Springs Resort and we absolutely enjoyed staying at this resort. The staff was very professional when I called to ask for early check-in, and when we arrived they were very courteous. The 1-bedroom suite was spacious for our family. The kitchen was convenient so we were able to make our family meals. We definitely recommend Juniper Springs resort to anyone planning a vacation to Mammoth.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Located in a quiet area away from the main village of Mammoth Lakes, in winter this would be fantastic accommodation with the chairlifts up to the ski fields literally next door. In summer, it’s pretty quiet but that’s ok too because the peace of the high Sierra is a joy to behold.

The 2 bedroom condominium was of decent size – both bedrooms had king beds with beds that were fairly high. The pillows, like many hotels, were too soft. The beds themselves were also too soft, we found ourselves with rather sore necks after each night’s sleep. Only 1 iPod dock (of the 2 in the condo) worked – this was disappointing.

We didn’t spend much time in the condo but the little time we did spend was pleasant enough. There is no cooling in the room (not that much was needed) but the bedrooms did get very hot in the evenings with all the appliances turned on even with heating off.

Depending on where you are located in the resort, the WiFi can be very hit and miss – it was fine in the lobby but in our room it was non-functioning.

The car park is reasonable enough but the spaces are quite tight so if you have anything larger than a Camry size car, you ought be careful.

The selection of Aveda toiletries was really nice; you’ll need the moisturiser because the air is very thin and dry there.

All in all, a decent choice if you don’t mind being a little bit away from the main village.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, Californie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our first time to Mammoth Lakes, the resort was really nice. It was clean and the staff was very helpful! After checking in, there was construction going on on the balcony of our room, we called the front desk and they immediately relocated us to another room. It's not a cozy, romatic resort, but it was nice to have the extra space for lounging instead of sitting on a bed in an actual hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

To me, a resort is a vacation spot that has everything you need to enjoy your stay, like restaurants and recreation. Juniper Springs "Resort" is just another individually owned, commercially managed, condo complex. (There were someones personal toiletries in the bathroom- yuck) Recreation consists of one small pool and three hot tubs. Restaurants-none. You have to leave the location or cook your own meals. The restaurants listed on their website are actually at a different lodge that is managed by the same company. The coffee and mercantile shop is a small room at the hotel that has very limited selection and is open for a very limited amount of time. If you stay here, make sure you see the room before you agree. Since all units are individually owned, all units are decorated differently. You could get a very nice unit with granite counter tops and lovely furnishings, or, like us, laminate counter tops and a denim couch. Perfect maybe for a family with toddlers, but not for someone expecting a "resort". We went during the summer. Maybe it's my own fault for not realizing what this "resort" is. But I am wiser now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.