We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Juniper Springs Resort to your Saves list
Juniper Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lift & Lodging Package
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Located in a quiet area away from the main village of Mammoth Lakes, in winter this would be fantastic accommodation with the chairlifts up to the ski fields literally next door. In summer, it’s pretty quiet but that’s ok too because the peace of the high Sierra is a joy to behold.

The 2 bedroom condominium was of decent size – both bedrooms had king beds with beds that were fairly high. The pillows, like many hotels, were too soft. The beds themselves were also too soft, we found ourselves with rather sore necks after each night’s sleep. Only 1 iPod dock (of the 2 in the condo) worked – this was disappointing.

We didn’t spend much time in the condo but the little time we did spend was pleasant enough. There is no cooling in the room (not that much was needed) but the bedrooms did get very hot in the evenings with all the appliances turned on even with heating off.

Depending on where you are located in the resort, the WiFi can be very hit and miss – it was fine in the lobby but in our room it was non-functioning.

The car park is reasonable enough but the spaces are quite tight so if you have anything larger than a Camry size car, you ought be careful.

The selection of Aveda toiletries was really nice; you’ll need the moisturiser because the air is very thin and dry there.

All in all, a decent choice if you don’t mind being a little bit away from the main village.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    128
    62
    27
    21
See reviews for
158
104
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, Californie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our first time to Mammoth Lakes, the resort was really nice. It was clean and the staff was very helpful! After checking in, there was construction going on on the balcony of our room, we called the front desk and they immediately relocated us to another room. It's not a cozy, romatic resort, but it was nice to have the extra space for lounging instead of sitting on a bed in an actual hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

To me, a resort is a vacation spot that has everything you need to enjoy your stay, like restaurants and recreation. Juniper Springs "Resort" is just another individually owned, commercially managed, condo complex. (There were someones personal toiletries in the bathroom- yuck) Recreation consists of one small pool and three hot tubs. Restaurants-none. You have to leave the location or cook your own meals. The restaurants listed on their website are actually at a different lodge that is managed by the same company. The coffee and mercantile shop is a small room at the hotel that has very limited selection and is open for a very limited amount of time. If you stay here, make sure you see the room before you agree. Since all units are individually owned, all units are decorated differently. You could get a very nice unit with granite counter tops and lovely furnishings, or, like us, laminate counter tops and a denim couch. Perfect maybe for a family with toddlers, but not for someone expecting a "resort". We went during the summer. Maybe it's my own fault for not realizing what this "resort" is. But I am wiser now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here quite by chance due to a power cut in the hotel booked during a Western Tour, what a great upgrade it was, the rooms were georgous well equipped if you wanted to self cater, and well placed for local amenities. The outdoor pool was lovely and well used. A great short stay,just one night but we really did not want to leave this very pretty place,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay. We enjoyed the free shuttle into town. The room was clean and well appointed. We liked that there was a separate bedroom, as opposed to it being a studio apartment, with everything contained in the four walls. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful -- so much so, that we wondered what the desk personnel were doing working there. They seemed way too smart. (Not that working in reception is a brainless job!) Anyway, we'd stay there again if we returned to Mammoth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family has gone up to Mammoth the last 2 years scheduling our trip around the Mammoth wine and food festival. We've stayed at Juniper springs both years and liked it very much. We found the accomodations very comfortable & clean. We got a 2 bedroom unit (233) and booked though Mammoth Front Desk which I guess is a seperate management company then the onsite Juniper springs people. The negative to that was we had to pick up our keys at a gas station. Not a huge deal but not quite as convenient as having everything right there. Also, we were leaving and thought we had all our stuff but we left and locked ourselves out. The front desk at the resort doesn't have access to the rooms but thankfully the maintenance guy was there and they were able to verify who we were with the 3rd party management company so we could get my daughter's shoes.

We stayed for 6 nights so we really appreciated the kitchen. We made use of it daily for breakfast and a few times for lunch and dinner. We enjoyed the pool and spas and made use of the BBQ in the pool area a couple of times. I did notice that they had only 1 BBQ this year when there were 2 there last time as I recall.

There was a coffee shop so it seemed but I don't think I saw it opened once. So there wasn't a place to buy anything without taking a drive. Mammoth is small anyway but it was close proximity to places around and the lakes where we did our hiking.

The kids used the game room quite a few times and it was nice to have the DVDs available at the front desk to bring up. I do like being cool at night and the portable AC provided worked fine. That is after we realized the heat had been cranked on in the master BR. We couldn't figure out why it was so hot even though we had the AC right in our room. The heater control was behind the armoire so we couldn't see it had been pushed all the way to the highest setting.

The maid service was typical for a vacation rental, every 2 days I think and they did a good job.

We love mammoth and will be back next summer too. I don't know if we'll stay in that room again but we'll likely stay at Juniper Springs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There hasn't been information about additional 'resort fee' of approx 20euros ($25). Upon check in, receptionist gave us a paper which we had to sign without any info about this fee. For amount we payed, we could choose something much, much better in Mammoth Lakes. Rooms and corridors were not clean, and furniture (with exception of LCDs) looked outdated. Bed sheets were raptured. Definitely not worth the money and not up to four star hotel standards

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.