We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with the bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Juniper Springs Resort to your Saves list
Juniper Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lift Lodging Package
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good with the bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We are currently staying at the JS resort. There is an incredible amount of snow, so snowblowers and snow plows are going 24/7, yes at night. We are slope side and hear it through the night, yes this is to be expected at a ski resort so not a huge deal unless you have kids who can't sleep. Fortunately we didn't. Two major problems for us are the horrible internet, and the incredibly HOT rooms. I spoke to the front desk about both and was told; there is not enough bandwidth for the entire town of Mammoth, so if you wanted to work from here forget it, unless you do it mid day when everyone is out on the slopes. The problem with heat; even with heaters all turned to OFF, you still have to open windows (even at night), the desk clerk said that it is because the building is so well insulated and we are on the 4th floor so we get the heat from the units below. On to the good, our room is clean and well kept, no aged furniture or stuffy smells. We have nice beds (2 br) and comfy living room for the three of us, if there were more people along (condo sleeps 6) it would be tough to spread out and relax. Only a sofa and 2 person chair. Bathrooms are really big for such a tiny condo. Kitchen not well equipped. We DO almost all of our own cooking, I wished we would have had pan for baking cornbread, measuring cups and large serving bowls. ALso no saran wrap or foil provided. Pretty bare bones, but we are managing.

I would stay here again and recommend it to our friends because of the close location for skiing. Can walk to lifts. But I will also not take for granted that some of the basic kitchen stuff would be there.

Room Tip: Our upper floor room was HOT all the time. Maybe a lower floor unit would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
I really appreciate your feedback and I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your vacation. We are actively seeking solutions to all of the problems that you addressed. Please feel free to contact the front desk directly in the future and we will ensure that your requests and needs are addressed before arrival. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    131
    62
    27
    21
See reviews for
160
109
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was the second place we stayed at during our trip to Mammoth. The hotel is a very large complex with several different types of accommodations. We checked in at the large main building which is at the end of Meridian Blvd and can't be missed. Our room was situated in the large building behind the main building. To get there take the access road and pull up to a security access point to be able to activate the garage door. It was comforting to know the car was secure while we were there.

Our room was on the 2nd floor which is where the main large lobby was (free wifi access here). The lobby was very nice and also led to a large outdoor terrace looking out to the woods. Also on the same level was a medium sized outdoor pool with BBQ area. The room itself was nice and large with a separate bedroom. There was a kitchenette with nice appliances, utensils, and cookware. In the same large space was a metal/glass dining table with chairs, sofa bed, and TV console with flat screen TV. The bedroom came with a large king bed, a couple of night stands, and a TV console with flatscreen TV. The room also had a small step out balcony.

Now, just like the other hotel we stayed at, the room was unseasonably warm. We closed the shades to help keep out the sun and opened up all the windows, the balcony door, plus the front door to cool down the room because, again, like the other hotel there was no AC or fan. In the evening it was cool enough to finally close the doors and windows.

All in all we had a nice stay, but if we do go back we will try to do it during cooler temps.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orang County, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We got a room that is dirty, noisy and the whole Mammoth just look like a ghost town this year due to low snow.

Hotel manager won't give us credit when we were told by front desk due to my wife illness to leave hotel early - plus there's no snow anyway.

I called Amex for a charge back - bad service.

We've been staying there for four years multiply times a year, my son is only 8 years old, but we decided we will never go back again.

We probably go back to Westin again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at with us. I am sorry to hear that your wife became ill and your stay was cut short. If you decide to give us another chance, please feel free to contact me directly at 760-924-1102 and we will do all that we can to ensure that your next vacation experience is an unforgettable one. Have a great Spring and Summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Nice resort, ski in ski out steps away from the chair lift. One room studio condo with kitchen for cooking. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

There aren't many ski-in ski-out options in Mammoth, and although this is close there is a short walk to/from the Eagle lift. The rooms are nice, well appointed, and well located, but there is a lack of attention to detail and signs of wear (dead batteries in remotes, using the wrong-colored caulking to repair bathtubs, tired furnishings, etc.). WiFi is terrible as Mammoth is severely lacking in available bandwidth, and the satellite system for the TV is hit or miss. The property is in dire need of food services, and would do well with on-premises restaurants, but other than that it was nice.

Ski properties are subject to a lot of wear and tear, so keeping that in mind, overall I'd give Juniper Springs a B+ for its location, friendly staff, and property quality. The room was very quiet and comfortable, and we would definitely stay here again.

Try Moguls in town for a GREAT meal. So goo the first night we went back the second!

Room Tip: The rooms stay very warm - don't crank the heat up! Try to get on the top (5th) floor - People...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends and we took 4 condos in total. They were all individually owned and furnished differently - but all very nice. The facilities are good. The condos are truly ski-in ski-out. There is a shuttle to take you into and pick you up from downtown Mammoth - but we usually had quite a wait for it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

great location for skiing and boarding however i personally prefer having options to stroll around in the village at night. my husband preferred this location though. easy to rent skis, much easier than other options i've used in the past. i would say only issue was funny smell in hallway and at times in room. biggest issue was the people upstairs. constant pounding above us after returning from slopes and all night until i could finally fall asleep. complaint to front desk on last night was met w/ response that since they did not manage that unit they really couldn't do anything about it...huh? also, my son left a sweatshirt. i called front desk. they were too busy to help but would call me back...no rtrn call. i also called housekeeping and left a detailed message...no rtrn call. i guess someone is enjoying his nice penn state sweatshirt.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.