We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Juniper Springs Resort to your Saves list
Juniper Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lift Lodging Package
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

There's something weird about being in a ski resort in the middle of summer. But Mammoth Lakes is fab. We stayed at Juniper Springs in a deluxe condo with two king-size bedrooms, sitting area and kitchen. It was very luxurious and just what we needed after a busy time driving around California. Really clean, great TV and playstation stuff. Short driving distance away from the town and we didn't use the resort facilities, but we enjoyed chilling in the condo and had a wonderful night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    131
    62
    27
    21
See reviews for
160
109
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here in the summer of 2011 and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel after some of the less than positive comments on Trip Advisor. The facilities are good (pool, jacuzzi, games room, free DVD rental) and the condo we had was very well equipped and very clean. My only criticism if you stay here in the summer is be prepared for the heat in the rooms - there is no air conditioning and we found it unbearably hot at night. But, we had a really pleasant time here and if you stay in the summer it's excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. Unfortunately this summer has been very warm and I do regret to hear about this disrupting your stay. However, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed all of the amenities our resort has to offer! We hope to have you return to stay with us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed two nights here. It was the first time visiting Mammoth Lakes and going through the village, the hotel is at the very end of the street and looks very stately and impressive! (nice curb appeal) Checking in was simple and easy. I overheard the room rate given the man checking in earlier and I have to say I was very glad I used an on-line website as my rate was less! The underground parking is great and I was able to find parking close to the elevators. We had a one bedroom overlooking the front of the hotel, with a king size, plus a sofa bed. It was ample for the four of us. The kitchen was fully equipped with dishwasher, sink, (soap for dishwasher and handwashing was also available) microwave, electric oven, pots, pans, utensils, plates, bowls, cups and glasses, and even had cotton kitchen towels and paper towels. There is an eating area with full size table and four chairs. Also there was a coffee machine with reg and decaf packets of coffee, packets of cream, sugar, sugar substitute and a fully functioning refrigerator/freezer (with ice cube trays) large enough for week-long vacations. The Vons is only 5 minutes away in town. This was a definite plus! The bathroom had a hairdryer, Aveda shampoo, conditioner, soap and room underneath the sink to store toiletries for four women quite amply. Two televisions, one in the living room and one in the bedroom, with a balcony off the livingroom. The sofabed was as comfortable as sofabeds go, perhaps a little worn. Also, I think another person could have slept on the adjoining couch too as the room came with plenty of blankets. There was also a fireplace but we did not use it. Heaters were in the bedroom and kitchen, though no air conditioner. I was told a/c was not necessary and even in August it was comfortable w/o one. There are two ceiling fans which we used to get the air moving as it did get stuffy at night. My only complaint is with all the decorations on the walls! I mean, in August there were still two evergreen trees, stuffed animals (Christmas decor), hiking "gear", and even an old gondola seat at the foot of the kingsize bed and other unecessary decor throughout which took up alot of space and made moving around the rooms difficult! I hit my hip on the corner of the dressing table several times trying to get to my side of the bed. I am guessing these are timeshares that are rented out so perhaps these are the personal choices of the rental owners, but the space could have done without all that extra stuff. The staff were pleasant and cordial and ever helpful when it came to offering advise on what to see and do. There is also a free shuttle bus which brings you to town and I think it runs in the evening only. The driver was very kind and friendly. The resort has a small pool and a jacuzzi, too! I can imagine the resort is quite busy during the ski season as the location is excellent with the lifts on-site! Also, there are a few hiking trails behind the resort and of course the one which parallels the street. I saw a golf course nearby and the resort is surrounded by trees which lends a feeling of woodsy outdoors to the ambiance. All in all, a very comfortable place to stay, pleasant and helpful staff, convenient with the kitchen and the lifts, free shuttle bus to town and underground parking. The cons: no restaurant on-site except for a coffee "stand" and the room was cramped due to all the heavy decorating! We did try to use the ironing board but discovered it was broken. I called the front desk who said they would send someone up but that someone never showed up. Luckily it was no big deal. Also there is a resort fee which came to $20/day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augie2009, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a wonderful and detailed review! We are happy that you enjoyed all of our features and amenities. You are correct in assuming that each condo is uniquely decorated by its corresponding owner. Next time you stay with us we would be happy to find a condo that offers more modest decorations. Please come back anytime. You would love all the additional amenities we offer during our snowy winters including our on-site restaurant and bar, rental facility, ticket office and lifts. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My family stayed at Juniper Springs for a 3-night stay in Mammoth. The location is pretty convenient to both shopping and restaurants on Old Mammoth Road and Main St, as well as the Mammoth Lakes. The full kitchen was helpful for preparing breakfast for the kids and storing the trout we caught in the freezer. The room was what you'd expect: clean and with a good supply of towels. My kids (2 and 4) liked hanging out on the balcony. The only problem with the room was the lack of Air Conditioning. Summers are pretty hot and the rooms heat up quickly. Two fans were present in the closet and helped a little, but nothing beats good A/C. The evenings are cool, but the door to the balcony had no screen, so we didn't want to leave it open all night.

We were in the rear building, which had its own pool and spa, which was convenient. This pool seemed much less crowded than the main building's pool, so if you want to avoid potential crowds, request the other building. My kids spent every late afternoon in the pool and loved it.

I got the room for $100 a night on Priceline. We stayed at the Village last year at this time and the accomodations at Juniper Springs are comparable, but you are farther away from the restaurants and shops located right in the Village. There are no shops or restaurants on site. at Juniper Springs.

If you get a good rate and want to avoid the Village, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: The pool was less crowded at the rear building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augie2009, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us! I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location, well groomed atmosphere, pool area and competitive pricing. In order to experience the best possible service we can offer, please refer to 1-800-Mammoth when making your next reservation with us. Have an incredible summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rena, Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This was our first time to Mammoth Lakes and we stayed at Juniper Springs Resort. It was wonderful. We stayed in the 2 bedroom and with two teenagers it was great with 2 bathrooms. The kitchen and living room was like being at home. All the conveniences and just perfect. Had a wonderful time and the hot tubs were great late at night. Nice and warm and beautiful with the snowy mountains in the background. We will be back some day soon! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Recommend the 2 bedroom if you have a family. Lot's of room and just perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We are so happy that you enjoyed your first visit to Mammoth! and thank you for the wonderful review of the resort! Here at Juniper Springs, we strive to create at atmosphere that makes you feel as comfortable as you do when you are at home. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just completed our 5th visit to Mammoth Lakes. This visit we spent three nights at the Juniper Springs Resort in a one-bedroom condo. The unit (#423) was well appointed, and very clean. The bedroom had a king sized bed that was very comfortable, and the choice of sleeping pillows was good. The living room area had a comfortable sectional sofa, and the sofa bed was fine. The living area was a little short on space, especially when the sofa bed was open. The kitchen facilities were adequate, but we did not cook any meals. The bathroom was of a standard size, but the counter area around the sink was very small. There was underground parking (level 1) that had easy access to the resort's lobby. The only negative was not with the resort, but with the other guests that allowed their young children to scream or talk at the top of their lungs. Overall, the resort was very nice, a step up from the condos at the Summit and much better than the Quality Inn.

Room Tip: Go with a 2-bedroom unit for 3 or 4 adults for more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your time while staying here at Juniper Springs. Next time you are in Mammoth, it would be our pleasure to have you come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is very convenient as it is a ski in/ski out property. The rooms are clean and the location is great. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.