We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chamonix Condominiums

Chamonix Condominiums
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chamonix Condominiums to your Saves list
Chamonix Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   803 Canyon Blvd., Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed at unit #7 and though the decor was dated (from the 80s) and the appliances were old, everything worked, we had lots of hot water (with a great massaging showerhead), we had free Wi-Fi, and it was a very short walk (<5 min) to the Canyon Lodge lifts. Parking in the Canyon Lodge lot was not much closer than our condo. The person who said you had to be an Olympic athlete to make this walk was completely wrong - they must be one lazy, fat slob if they thought this walk was long. We've had longer walks from parking lots to lifts at other mountains - Snowmass and Steamboat Springs leap to mind.

We didn't need much service but when I called for directions at 1am on a Friday night I was quickly connected to a customer service rep who cheerfully gave me directions to the condo. We also had just gotten 2 feet of snow that night but the next day things the lot was plowed and we had no trouble getting in and out. The condo was stocked with the essentials so all we had to buy was food.

All-in-all we got a great value - about $175/night (including weekend) - taxes and security deposit included. This was by far the best price for something this close to the mountain.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stay frequently at Chamonix, and over the past three years have seen remarkable improvement. The clubhouse, pool and Jacuzzi area has been completly remodeled, and the new management company keeps the place clean and the snow plowed.

I stay in the same unit time after time because it was recently remodeled. Not all the owners in Chamonix have remodeled their individual units, but the ones that have been remodeled are very nice - be sure to ask when the unit was remodeled, and take a close look at the photos. I always ask for Unit 19, and I book it through 101 Great Escapes.(Chamonix discountined their on site rental program, so now you need to book through a variety of agencies, so rates and level of service varies from unit to unit).

My kids and I always walk to the lifts at Canyon Lodge. Because Chamonix is so close to the lifts, people who are not staying there try to park there and walk to Canyon Lodge. I did see some cars that did not have parking passes get towed. There was always a space for me to park, and the lot was always plowed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

By looking at their web site you would think here is a moderately priced nice enough looking little condo complex that would be perfect for a winter weekend getaway. Think again people !
The first lie they will tell you is that Chamonix is a mere 200 yards away from the canyon lodge chair lifts and easily walkable . In reality it is closer to 1000 yards up a hill. I'll put it this way , an Olympic athlete would be challenged to do this trek wearing ski boots and carrying gear let alone the average weekend skier with kids in tow. If you are thinking we will just drive to the lift keep in mind that you will not find a parking spot within a mile of the lift after 8 am.
Secondly once you walk in the door of your run down unit you will be treated to a 20 year old television that only gets about half of the channels clearly and remote controls that don't work. You will turn on the antiquated , noisy heater that will give you an 85 degree room or a 20 degree room. Nothing in between ! When you decide to give up on all of that and just go to bed you will be delighted to snuggle up on filthy , old urine stained blankets and comforters that have clearly never been washed.
The people that run this property management company , Central reservations of Mammoth are very nasty and unapologetic but very quick to tell you that if you violate any of their prison like rules such as not taking out your garbage or having an extra guest in your unit they will do anything from fine you hundreds of dollars to having you arrested(for the unexpected guest)
There are plenty of great places to stay in beautiful Mammoth lakes. Do yourself a favor and don't even consider this one ! I would recommend sleeping in a tent over Chamonix or dealing with Central Reservations of Mammoth.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Every moment we were there.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralresofmammoth, Owner of Central Reservations of Mammoth at Chamonix Condominiums, responded to this review, February 4, 2009
We are very surprised to hear of your disappointment with our rental services! We are consistently known for our excellent customer service skills and would love to further discuss your experience with our company. Unfortunatly we have just come across your review nearly a year later but would love to speak with you regarding your stay. Please contact us at 800-321-3261 or by email at reservations@mammothlakes.com. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

We decided to head up to Mammoth a few days before New Year's Eve. We
knew that the Mountain was going to be very busy and that we would be lucky to get a place at all. We called Mammoth Reservations and they had one spot open at Chamonix. It was a large unit. More than we needed and the location was great. Walking distance to Canyon Lodge. While the complex is nice, the unit we were given was so old and dated. Didn't feel clean, tacky interior. Completely depressing. I hear other units are much nicer so be sure to ask what you are getting. They still charged us holiday rates for this dump! Basically
we were paying over $400 a night for a parking spot! We did try to move but the mountain was sold out. It would have been nice to get a discount. I guess this is what happens when you book last minute during the holdays. YUCK!

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

Booked Chamonoix Condo through Austria Hof Hotel. The condo was remodeled and like new. The clubhouse was also remodeled with new saunas, spas, billards and foosball. Short walk to Canyon lodge. Everyone was friendly, and sevice was great.

  • Liked — Best location for Skiing, Great accomodations
  • Disliked — Had to pick up the key across the street at Austria Hof Hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

This was an absolutely AMAZING Condominium Complex!!!

Beautiful pool, many spas, and a sauna! It was very family oriented too, with a video game room for the kids, a business center with wireless internet, usable in the condos, and an Adult Room, with a fireplace, wide screen TV, and large couch.

Also, the rooms themselves were very top notch, with nice fireplaces, cozy lofts, and comfortable bedrooms.

To add to the experience, the Condos are only a two or three minute walk from the mountain...

  • Liked — It was very close to the mountain
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

The snow was awesome. The lodge is walking distance to the lifts. The management did an excellent job clearing the recent 10 feet of snowfall. The spa was clean, the people friendly. We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chamonix Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamonix Condominiums

Address: 803 Canyon Blvd., Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chamonix Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Chamonix Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamonix Condominiums Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamonix Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.