We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location / price / atmosphere combination for skiers & great restaurant in house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenhof Lodge to your Saves list
Alpenhof Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
PITTSBURGH
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best location / price / atmosphere combination for skiers & great restaurant in house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I should not start to review a hotel by reviewing the restaurant, but...Petra's is fantastic. Much more subtle, intense flavors and less sticky sweetness and higher quality than the nearby, more famous Nevados (which is also a 2 minute walk). Burgers is also next door. The new ski center plaza (gondola, more restaurants bars, ticket office, stores) was easy walking distance even for my 80 year old mother, who still insists on carrying her own skis.

Unless you want to spend $400 a night on a condo, this is literally as close as you can get to slope access, and now there's even a ski back trail to the plaza, so you don't have to gondola down in the afternoon. I'd say this is more convenient than the Mammoth Mountain Inn, and you're sleeping at a lower elevation, which is healthier and more comfortable, and you're not at risk of a road closure.

The Alpenhof is a small, independent, skier-focused inn. There's a ski rack in each room, windows that open, good light, good curtains, solid, nice, rustic wood furniture. It is not a new building--that's part of the charm--but many of the rooms seem to be newly renovated.

Yes, there are quirks. The front desk is unmanned for about 15 minutes some afternoons, while the front desk people take deliveries. My husband and I had a running joke about a detectable lump under the (new) carpet in our room--we took turns standing on it, and trying to guess what was underneath. Their wireless router is a sort that Macs do not connect to easily (though much of the time, you can pick up free signal from the village). The free breakfast is always the same: cheap, prepackaged-type mini muffins and doughnuts, apples and oranges, two sorts of juice, coffee/tea, and packets of instant oatmeal. If you're there to ski, and running late, it's really all you need--besides, you also have a free fridge in the room if you prefer to make sandwiches. In summer, some of the rooms are probably hot (no A/C, sunlight in some rooms) but this should not be a problem for any part of ski season. We were there over St. Patrick's day, and we did hear crowds of drunken revelers passing back and forth. In summer, with open windows on all sides, I can imagine the noise might be a problem on a Friday or Saturday night. You can't have "central" and "secluded" at the same time. For us, the convenience was totally worth while. We flew in, had no car, stayed 6 days, had no problem getting around.

The alpenhof has some really nice details. Hand painted flowers and mountain scenes on doors and walls. Access (from the end of a hall, or if you are lucky, from your room) to a balcony that's intensely sunny on a spring afternoon. Very helpful staff (except for the brief periods where they are absent). The duvet-type quilt is high quality, warm and light, though it's a bit odd that they sandwich it between two sheets, instead of using a duvet cover. The heating and fridge were quiet in our room and in my mother's room. The toilet and tub part of the bathroom is tiny and the lighting's pretty basic, but they have decent tubs, with an outside sink, for efficient pre- and post- skiing prep. There are a couple of well-lit mirrors, which makes it easy to get the sunscreen right (important when you're that high up and that far south). I prefer an in-room ski rack to a ski room. The staff were willing to receive and hold packages for us, and also willing to ship packages back to us, which turned out to be slightly cheaper and certainly more convenient than paying baggage fees to the airlines. I was pleased to see lots of CFL bulbs, and also pleased that they left the occasional incandescent in places where the light quality was an issue.

As to the other reviews... If you're really type A, realize that if you and the doughnuts arrive at the same time in the early afternoon, it may take a couple of minutes to get someone back up to the front desk. Ring the bell, don't freak out, and everything will be just fine. Some of the complaints are actually about a different hotel, the Austriahof, which my mother says "had that sour cabbage, mustiness, and old cooking water smell of a pre-war German boarding house" when she stayed there 20 or 30 years ago. Some complaints may be legitimate--Mammoth is great in winter, interesting and vibrant but sometimes hot in summer, and sort of empty and icky looking in fall, after the arts and summer sports people leave, and before the snow returns. Don't blame that on the hotel, for crying out loud.

Anyway, the three of us were delighted, and will definitely stay there again when we go back to Mammoth. I have already recommended the hotel to friends, and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    81
    32
    17
    10
See reviews for
41
79
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

If you look around Mammoth Lakes, you'll be stunned at the high prices of lodging. Alpenhof is much more reasonable and is in a very good location - walking distance to the gondola, and many restaurants and shops. If you're more interested in skiing than all the fancy accouterments, then this will work for you. We had an inoperative gas fireplace, but the owner made good on it. In the end we were pleased and well taken care of. Our two room suite was spacious enough for 2 adults, and even had a corner sofa that could accommodate a couple of kids for an even better value. It is a modest sort of place that reminds me of some of the places we used to stay at in New England. It is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed there on a last minute trip to Mammoth Lakes. The hotel is cute and affordable but there was no A/C and it was very HOT in the room at night. The carpet is cheap and scatchy. The sheets were also poor quality and rough. Not a good nights sleep. At checkin, the employee was very honest about a MINIMAL breakfast. Store bought mini-muffins and donuts, bad coffee and orange juice. The price was great but I would rather pay more for a more comfortable stay. We will go to the Best Western next summer and happily pay the difference!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poortugaal, Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Rooms are outdated, like Austria in 1970's. Breakfast is minimal and there isn't a braeakfastroom. Noice from people coming from cellar bar. In summer half of restaurants seems to be closed and not much fun in mammoth lakes. There is a small pool but in the afternoon it is dirty again by insects.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We stayed at the Alpenhof for 6 nights in January 2009 having stayed there five years ago. We were not disappointed at all. The location is perfect - right across the road from the village gondola. The hotel is not luxurious but the room we had was very large, was spotlessly clean and had its own sitting area. The staff are very friendly. It's not luxurious but in terms of value for money it is excellent. We would have no hesitation in staying there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms quite dated
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stopped by overnight on our way home from lake Tahoe. The personal service was fine - the guy at the desk was friendly and I had high hopes of the room. I paid over $150 dollars for a room with a king bed on a weeknight, but I was sadly disappointed - it was small, the furniture was rickety and shabby, and the bathroom was teeny. It was, however, clean, and the attached wine bar was fantastic. if you stay in Mammoth, visit Petra's, but skip the Alpenhof.

  • Liked — The wine bar next door
  • Disliked — The crummy, rickety furniture and tiny bathroom.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

This hotel was part of a Virgin flydrive - I have since complained to them about the standard and location. The town was for the most part, closed, what it is like with snow, I don't know and we really wouldn't care to find out. Everything in that town was more expensive than anywhere else we stayed and had a real soul destroying dreariness to it - it was a really unnecessary stop in the trip. Most of the shops had closed down and remained empty.

The actual hotel is a complete dump, where no one ever manned reception, there was no bar open, no restaurant, nothing. The morning we were leaving there was actually no water when we switched on the shower - there was no breakfast room and coffee jugs and mini, dried up muffins, were left on a counter in the pokey, dreary reception area.

A security man patroled the corridors with a big dog in the evenings which made us think there were security problems in that area - there were noisy local teenagers outside, drunk, after midnight - they must have been very bored in that place though.

There was a food store located opposite and a take away burger bar, but nothing else was open. Such a waste to visit this otherwise stunning area, on a place like this.

Hotel had a horrible, dirty, boiling hot spa tub in the dingey, dank, concrete floored basement which was way too hot to use. A dirty cover was left trailing in the water.

I saw bad reviews before we went, but thought some people complain about anything and everything and decided to stick with the booking. But really it was a real waste of time being there when there were so many nicer places to visit and definitely, the bad reviews for this awful hotel were justified. I have urged Virgin to reconsider using this soul destroying place, for the tour in future.

  • Liked — Nothing, the place is a dreary dump.
  • Disliked — Everything was shabby and dirty. No bar, no restaurant, room was not cleaned at all on our two night trip.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhof Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.