We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot beat the convenience to the Village and Gondola for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenhof Lodge to your Saves list
Alpenhof Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cannot beat the convenience to the Village and Gondola for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2006

Walk across the street to the Village and the Gondola. Rooms are large but the walls are a bit thin. If possible, chose your neighbors wisely (e.g., if you see four snowboarders crammed in a room next to you that think the hallway is just part of their party zone, move). The staff is very accommodating. Excellent wine bar in the building (Petra's). Beer bar in the cellar for low budget drinks and company.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    74
    27
    17
    10
See reviews for
40
71
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2005

Was not at all impressed by this accommodation. Although the rooms were adequate there was a very serious electrical fault on a bedroom socket that was a distinct fire hazard, but the management did NOT fix it, nor did they change faulty bulbs. Indeed the reception staff were particularly offhand in general.
The "breakfast" was available in the very small reception area with only two available seats, despite there being a dining room downstairs.
I would not recommend this hotel at all; the only one I found unsatisfactory on the whole three week holiday

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for a week in October 2004. The room was huge it had a large sitting area as well as king size bed.

The staff were friendly and the room was clean. It is in a pretty good location - quite a few restaurants in walking distance. For the price it was definitely worth it.

I'd stay there again if we go back to Mammoth.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2004

This place is in the perfect position for convienence vs. price/value.
great rooms with fireplace, small fridg & wetbar. good heating in/out bathroom.
great In house bar/resturaunt, maid service was good.
lastly, the hot tub is the best in california. Its the perfect after ski/snowboard hot-tub. big, Hott, very turbulent.
location....A1 skipped across the street to all i needed for 3 days.
gondola to the mountain & the bar.!!
the rate was a bit hight during the holiday period , but welll worth it.
you wake up and get gourmet coffee b/fast, catch gondola ski/board from 830 am-1130am catch gondo back to room napp until 1:30pm. gather lunch and head back up to the mountain no problemo.
After sleeping in the extra comfy bed, walk across the street to the party @ whiskey creek/ lakanucki / and Dublins (fever) all stumbling distance away.
you can beat the non-holiday mid-week rates for value.
Its the best place to be for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2004

This is a family run hotel which is warm and friendly. The rooms are basic but clean and have what you need.
The location is ideal and it has the best bar in town which has a mixture of tourists and locals.
The hotel restaurant, whilst not the cheapest was most definitley the best I ate in during a two week tour of america. Lovely surroundings and amazing food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2004

My boyfriend and I stayed here in February 2004 and loved it! I did not get in my car once, which is great because the roads are icy in Mammoth. The cellar bar is cool, there is a convienant store right across the street and a yummy restaurant, that has an awesome happy hour, only one block away. The village, where most the restaurants and bars are located is only a short walk, which is perfect for the cold. The best part, is the gondola right across the street. Have fun and tear it up on the mountain!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2004

Stayed here one nite during family travels down the Eastern Sierras.

We had a large (older) room in the main building. One King, two queen beds (comfortable). This worked out fine for wife and two kids. Private door to huge front deck facing street.

Pool is small-medium size and was refreshingly cool (as opposed to heated) during our August nite stay. I think they just topped it off. Hot tub is part of pool. Roll over separating wall from hot to cool.

Pleasant people. Met several from Europe.

I'd stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhof Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.