We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenhof Lodge to your Saves list
Alpenhof Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great spot close to all the action. Pretty expensive considering some of the facilities need an update. Shower runs hot and cold, bathroom barely big enough for one person, no swinging of cats possible. That said great hotel, clean and close to restaurants and ski lift. Breakfast is a little primitive, but suffice.

Petra's restaurant is attached to the hotel, book early for a table, food is very good. Clock Tower cellar bar below hotel offers great choices of beer. We had seen comments about noise being a problem but have to say we didn't hear anything at all.

Generally service is great, friendly welcome and staff in the main couldn't do enough for you.

Room Tip: Room 201 looked good, we stayed in 303 and bathroom was a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We like to receive our guest’s feedback to help direct us how to improve our services.

We do offer a wide variety of rooms (12 different types) to suit our guests needs. We have some small footprints with our Queen rooms, like room 303 and much larger footprints with cabins that have 2 bedrooms with a kitchen – and many choices in-between.

So glad to hear that you were able to enjoy Petra’s Bistro and Wine Bar! It’s certainly a staff favorite!

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    76
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
40
75
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in Mammoth on our way to Reno. We found Alpenhof to be cozy and nice . The room was big with King bed , refer, table and chairs . The bathroom area was small and narrow. The staff was helpful and nice . The breakfast bar was above average it came with the room. The highlight though was the Bar downstairs a the the lodge . We ate there while we watched the playoff game. The bartender was great funny and very knowable about the 170 different brands of Bourbon they featured. The bar was jumping all night we met some very nice and funny people from Austria who were on a Harley Davidson vacation riding there bikes all over California that just happened to be in Mammoth that weekend. Would stay here again .

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side that faces the parking lot , ventilation from the indoor spa vented out by roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments!
Clocktower continues to add more choices to their extensive lists and remains a great place to hang out. If your ever around during football season the Sunday football breakfast/lunch menu is great (they open at 9:30am).
Hope to see you in Mammoth again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Portal, Ca.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

older hotel, room was basic but nice,and clean. a little noise from parking lot at hight, and lots of creaking floor boards. reminds me of visiting the area in the 80s
you get what you pay for.
easy walk to whisky creek
bar in basement, and restaurant out front
breakfast was a plus but not till 730

Room Tip: back side away from parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We hope you get a chance to try our property again as we continue to take feedback and use it to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The room was large, but a bit dated. We had one of the lower rooms and you could clearly hear the guests on the upper floor moving. So it is a bit noisy.

Breakfast was included, basic, but sure was good enough for us.

We ate at the pizzeria in the village, which was a very nice place to eat and drink.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We have been working on renovations for the past 7-8 months (and still continue to do so) for all of our guestrooms, including new bed linens, new lighting, local artwork, flat screen TV’s as well as other in-room amenities. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Alpenhof Lodge and we hope you’ll come back to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

My room was small but nice. It was very clean. Bathroom was really small, but it's an older local motel, what can you do. After reading a few other comments, I have these notations. Even though I had au great stay, I can see how others might not. Being September, it was a bit chilly, 50's during the day and 27 at night. The heat in the room worked fine. There is no AC. Additionally, there were no screens on the window, which I saw others had commented on. It may not ever get that hot up there, not sure. There probably are bugs, since they are everywhere, so they should add screens. The restaurant was nice, a little pricy. The breakfast was included, and very good. It was about what you get at a Hampton or Fairfield. Great location, walk to everything, all local restaurants and the lift up the mountain. Lift wasn't operating, must be off season. I imagine it runs in the summer fir tourists.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! The gondola across the street in the Village at Mammoth is an access gondola to Canyon Lodge in the winter months only (and during some special events in the summer). There is a gondola located at Main Lodge (about 5 miles up the hill from us) that offers scenic rides to the top of Mammoth Mountain during the summer months. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a lovely lodge style hotel in mammoth. Stayed there before the snow and skiing season started. The welcome was lovely, cookies in reception very nice touch. Room was spacious, well decorated and clean and tidy, only down side, no room safe. The lodge was also clean and tidy and had very helpful staff. Complimentary European style breakfast was most welcome. I nice out of the busy city kinda place to stay, loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Our staff and management were happy to have you as our guest. We will continue to make renovations as winter season is approaching. We hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just a one night stopover between Death Valley & Yosemite for the Alpenhof. After a pleasant 4 hour drive we arrive at the Alpenhof, parking was plentiful and free (you put a tag on your mirror in the car). Check in was easy and we even got an extra Suitcase Stand.We were in room number 102 and the short walk was not a problem despite having stairs. The room itself was comfy and very clean with a King Sized bed and once again the fridge was a much welcome sight. As we had eaten lunch in Lone Pine all we fancied was some bar food and so downstairs to the Clocktower Cellar Pub. It was early evening and the bar was fairly empty and we get talking to the barman who is very knowledgeable and passionate about his drinks, he tells us the difference between Bourbon, Rye and the Great Scottish and Irish whiskies.
We ended up trying and buying a few and also the local stout beer was good as was the cocktail he made from a recipe we googled in the bar. We just shared a plate of Chicken and potato balls but this was enough before we played some games of pool and table football. When we left the bar had got very busy, so go early to check out the spirits. In the morning you do get a Continental breakfast (which was more than adequate) but we had to eat at the bar as all the tables were full.
The only real negative came upon check out when the young lady on reception really couldn't care less!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Alpenhof as well as your experience at Clocktower Cellar. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience at the front desk. This is not the behavior we expect from our staff and we will make the necessary adjustments to improve. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhof Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.