We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to the mountains is going home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenhof Lodge to your Saves list
Alpenhof Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Going to the mountains is going home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The town of Mammoth Lakes recently erected large portal signs on the main road entering town. As you leave, a quote from John Muir can be seen. It says, "Going to the mountains is going home." This stuck me as how I felt after a four day stay at the Alpenhof. When I am staying there, I feel home.

Robert and Kirk always make me and my family feel like an extended part of their family when I am staying with them. Even when it has been a few months between stays, their warm, welcoming manner makes it seem like I had never left. I can't think of another hotel I have ever stayed at where this is the case. The Alpenhof is truly a special place.

Even if it is your first time, there are plenty of reasons to like the place. Across the street is a gondola that takes you to the Canyon Lodge of Mammoth Mountain. The nicest shops and restaurants are across the street. I didn't move my car the entire time I was there! It was still covered in snow we got the first day I checked in when I left.

The rooms are clean and nice. The beds are comfortable and the room I stayed in this time even had a nice comfy chair that I finished a great book in. The morning breakfast is a very nice surprise with beautiful pastries, fruit and shelled hard boiled eggs. Very cool.

I started staying at the Alpenhof because it is above the best bar in Mammoth - the Clocktower Cellar. But over the years, I can't say which one I like more.

Room Tip: I like 201 because it is a corner room that opens to a huge deck, but that may not be for everyone s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments! It's always such a pleasure to have a guest return to stay with us - it's the best compliment we could have - and so many of you have become friends over the years! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    76
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
40
75
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After staying at many locations at Mammoth Lakes, we decided to stay at Alpenhof since it's location to the Village and Godola looked so convenient since it is located right across the street. Not only we were thrilled with the location, we absolutely loved the cottage and all the amenities that were provided. Being in sales I travel quite a bit and have to say everything was top notch from the location, complimentary breakfast, upscale bar and restaurant viewing the village and finally a HOT tub that was actually therapeutic vs just a warm bath. In addition, the personnel really made us feel at home and not like a number. We will be certain to stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Options to have your cottage is very nice with a full kitchen to really make it a great group experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. The cabins are some of our best units! We are working on some renovations (new photos, lamps, bedding, etc) so you’ll have something new the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited the Alpenhof with friends for a spring ski trip. Let me first say, this is a great hotel and we couldn't have chosen a better locale. From the minute we arrived (in the Mammoth taxi arranged for us by the hotel) we were treated well and felt "at home".
Location: The hotel is located right across from the village which has the gondola up to Canyon Lodge (one of 3 lodges in Mammoth), the walk to the Gondola is only about 5 minutes or less and can be done in your ski gear. Next to the hotel are multiple restaurants, including a cute burger place. In the village there are even more restaurants, including a delicious Mexican restaurant with great margaritas and about 200 different types of tequila.
Lobby/Restaurant: The lobby is small, but well-maintained and always has water/cookies available. The hotel has 2 different restaurants attached to it. The first is Petra's which is an upscale wine bar off the lobby. We enjoyed our breakfast each day in Petras. There is a comfy fire in the corner, and a full bar. At night, we had a drink and laughed with the bartenders. The other restaurant , the Clocktower, is more a "pub" and it is located in the basement, under the lobby. We played pool there and sampled some delicious brew. Both of them had oustanding service, great ambiance and made our stay really special.
Breakfast: As other reviewers have stated, the breakfast is really quite good and very satisfying. My favorite part was the oatmeal, you have to try it!
The Room: We did the 2 bedroom cottage because we were 2 couples, and it is really like a sort of cabin which is a separate building from the hotel. The rooms of the cottage have wood walls, and there is a cute gas fireplace to heat the place. There are 2 queen beds, a sitting room and a small kitchen off the side. We were a little confused because there is a traditional coffee maker, with no coffee, sugar or creamer. They could have provided that like most hotels do when they provide a coffee maker, so please bring your own and filters if you stay in the cottage. The shower was also ungodly small, it barely fit one person. But, overall, it was really adorable and we liked the homey cabin feel of the place.
Service: The service was 4 out of 5 stars, only becuase there was some confusion about our transportation back to the airport. It appears they had booked entirely incorrect times for us with Mammoth Taxi, and we were lucky we checked this out with the front desk or we might have been late for our flight. Otherwise, all of the front desk people were helpful and kind.
Cost: The cost was very good for the location and the accomodations, we saw some of the other similarly priced hotels and they are much farther away from the gondola and not as nice.
Overall, we were extremely satisfied and highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to pick a cottage, most are separate from the hotel and double-check all taxi reservations with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I’m glad you were able to experience the Clocktower Cellar and Petra’s during your stay as well. It sounds as if you had a great vacation. We look forward to seeing you again.
Stacy
General Manager,
Alpenhof Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've been coming to the Alpenhof for a very long time (MANY years before the Village gondola was built). The price was always reasonable for the location, until recently. The motel was recently on the Travel Channel's "Hotel Impossible" where they basically told the owners to get new TVs, paint one wall in the room, get new clocks, and to include free breakfast in Petra's. It is the first time we have ever seen inside Petra's and the free breakfast was very much appreciated! However, we used to pay about $130 this time of year (during the week, after Easter, mushy snow conditions) and we ended up paying $190! The free breakfast was good, but cold (ham, bagels, cereal, etc). We were also upset that the old 1970s pool table next to the jacuzzi downstairs was gone and the room sealed off! Why? Why couldn't the owners just bought a new pool table and painted the walls? We loved playing pool at night. Also-we are really tired of the drunks and smokers outside of Petra's late at night waking us up every visit for years. The free breakfast does NOT justify a $60 increase, off-season, during the week! For only a few bucks more we can stay at the Westin across the street, which is 4-star hotel with a HUGE heated, outdoor pool and 2 BIG jacuzzis. Sorry, but the minor changes are definitely not worth the huge increase in price-we're going to the Westin from now on.

Room Tip: If you stay in the "main" lodge, stay in a room that faces "Burger's" restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. While we have not completed all of our planned renovations, we are working hard to do so before the start of our summer season. Our rates are dictated by the season, not our renovations. Our intent in making these changes, have only been for the benefit of our guests. We always appreciate a return visit. This year, the Easter holiday fell during our peak winter season which typically runs from late December through mid-April, therefore the rates were more than you have experienced in the past. We understand you feel our rate was not a value to you this time, but I do hope perhaps you’ll choose to come back and visit us again.
Sincerely,
Stacy Schaubmayer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The staff at the Alpenhof Lodge demonstrated impeccable service and unmatched dedication to ensure that our stay was memorable any pleasant. I highly recommend for anyone hitting the slopes at Mammoth.

Room Tip: Choose one of the back cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It's always nice to hear that our guests have had a great experience. We hope that you can join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is truly excellent! Older facility but clean and very nice rooms. Great location, almost
across the street from the village gondola. Breakfast is good too. What really set this
place apart is that my wife broke her leg and later was sick in the room. They called the
paramedics and changed the bed in the middle of the night. The night desk clerk could
not have been more helpful. The entire staff was super, will always stay here when in Mammoth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We hope your wife is healing quickly!
Stacy Schaubmayer and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Alpenhof is well placed for the lifts and the village and newly refurbished rooms are excellent value for money. Bar food is very good and the apres ski atmosphere is the best in the village. Continental breakfast is greatly improved and sets you up for the day. Overall great value for a skiing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! Hope you can make it up for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhof Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.