We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to start my day...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alpenhof Lodge to your Saves list
Alpenhof Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great way to start my day...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After checking at after midnight for the first time, it was awesome and refreshing to enjoy a relaxing breakfast next to the first in the lodge dining room. Quality food, comfortable couch, warming fire…a great way to start my day before hitting the slopes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed our NEW breakfast!! From here on out we will continue to serve our complimentary continental breakfast, just off the lobby, in Petra's Bistro. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    26
    16
    10
See reviews for
39
68
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed one night here between Christmas and New Years 2012. We would have stayed longer but the hotel was fully booked. Our room was number 20 at the very end. It was quiet, very spacious and the bed was comfortable. We paid $247 with all taxes and fees during the high 'holiday' season. Compared to what some of the other places were charging during this season we thought it was good. There were at least two structures we could see, to get to our room, you walk along an exterior hallway. Some of the rooms had fireplaces, ours did not which was fine with us. Attached to the hotel is a wonderful restaurant called Petra's I would recommend highly and across the street is 'the village' with a number of restaurants to choose from. It is just a short drive up to mammoth ski lodge and a good choice when skiing at Mammoth Mountain. I think the skiing was even better than Tahoe, there were so many runs to choose from and the snow is good this season.

Room Tip: most of the rooms seemed cozy and rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in the 2-story "back" lodge. It was in the 90s F and the room had no AC. DO NOT STAY HERE IN SUMMER! The 1 portable fan didn't help. There is a back door that did NOT open! Front door needs a screen door for air and to keep bugs out. Very hot all day and night. The room was very dark. Manager: you need to put in some more lamps and fix the back doors so they open for air! This motel has been way too noisy the past 2 years. Too many loud drunks at Petras/Clocktower- screaming all night, smoking, trashy people. This is a good motel for winter though because the village and village gondola are across the street.

Room Tip: Don't stay here in summer! Too hot, no AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and enjoyed our time very much. There were 2 couples so we had 2 rooms on the first floor of the outside section (not in the rooms above reception). Both rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and suited our needs perfectly. The bed was huge with clean bedding. The rooms were a bit stuffy and warm at first, but we left the doors open for a while and put the fan on, so that cooled them down nicely. I can imagine this place being cozy and warm during winter! The decor of the rooms fits in perfectly with the whole European ski lodge theme. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was plenty of parking. We saw a bear cub walking through the parking lot! The hotel is very conveniently located across the road from plenty of restaurants and is near to the Main Lodge. All in all, I recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Family run Lodge. King rooms good size. Shops within walking distance. Only thing I would say is we discovered that one in five people may suffer from Altitude Sickness because of the Altitude at Mamoth Lakes .Lighting in seating area very poor, to use a laptop one had to sit on the bed

Room Tip: King Rooms are a nice size, with separate seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

had a good stay room clean and comfortble very good location

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Alpenhof Lodge is a great, family friendly place to stay in Mammoth! The rooms were spacious, updated with modern furniture and very comfortable and quiet. The restaurant and bar on site are very convenient and provided some nice entertainment. This family owned and operated lodge is one of a kind and you are welcomed from the moment you enter the door. The pride of ownership is obvious as they were working on updating the pool in anticipation of the summer crowds! The location is fabulous, within close walking distance to the village. Overall, a great place to stay with children or for a couple get-away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mammoth just across the street from the Village at Mammoth. Steps to the Village Gondola for access to Mammoth Mtn. Ski Area during the winter months and less than an hour away from the gates to Yosemite via Tioga Pass in the summer months. Amenities include free WI-FI, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, jacuzzi and sauna (winter) and outdoor swimming pool (summer only). We offer a variety of room types, from Single Queen or King rooms to 2 bedroom cottages with kitchens, to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhof Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.