We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chic, minimalist, modern coffee place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar

Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar
3343 main st. Suite F, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 000 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 77 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great chic, minimalist, modern coffee place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited this coffee shop two times during our recent trip to Mammoth. My husband said the latte they made was the best that he ever had. I had mint tea that was delicious and a coconut bar, which I had only intended having a few bites of but it was so good I ate the whole thing.

Their decor is very modern and chic. It's spare and clean and just feels good to be there. They've got fun music playing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    5
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not my cup of coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Skip the Americano coffee-- it's as weak as water and overpriced. Only reason to come back is free WIFI.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best coffee in the USA ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was sorely disappointed with coffee in the US. However this place had some of the best coffee. I even bought some to bring back home. Loved the rustic feel of the place, the service was the best. Even got some great advice on an alternative way to get to Las Vegas. Thanks for refueling me and showing that you can find great coffee in the USA.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Weak coffee, not impressed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A big empty space, not cozy. Met friends for business at 8 AM. Only one employee on duty, no coffee condiments available unless you asked for them. Pastry offerings were sparse and several days old, no other food selections available. Coffee, unfortunately was very weak. Friends have raved about this place in the past, I have never been sure why. I am sure I won't return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“<3 <3 <3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Best coffee I've had in a while. The vanilla latte with almond milk is phenomenal. Don't ruin it by adding sugar...the natural flavors from the espresso, vanilla and nutty zing from the almond milk is perfection...and made with a little "love".

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.