We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in Mammoth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar

Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar
3343 main st. Suite F, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 000 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 74 restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great coffee. Sparse decor and tables with good music. Great selection of coffee and teas. Friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    24
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
So. Cal.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Can't walk past this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I just can't walk past this store without going in for a cup of coffee--you can smell fresh ground coffee out the door and into the parking lot that just pulls you in. It's usually a bit of a wait since each drink is hand-crafted but worth it. Modern decor is a little too sterile for my taste but I appreciate that they were able to create a distinct environment pretty unique in Mammoth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Was Optimistic, But Disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had high hopes for this coffee house given the rave reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, my mocha was only average. It was made with powdered chocolate and overpoweringly chocolately. They do serve drip coffee, which seemed to attract the largest purchasers when I was there. Also, I've noticed a trend in Northern California where they only serve one size of coffee, the equivalent to a tall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a great place for those that enjoy great coffee! The decor is simple, clean and sophisticated like the coffee. There was a group of five us so we had to wait for everyone's drinks, but it was worth it. Each cup of coffee is handcrafted and that takes a few minutes, but who doesn't need to take a few minutes to sit back and relax. I would definitely go back if I was in the area again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful and modern, this place is a breath of fresh air in Mammoth. Because I'm vegan, I normally order soy lattes and they don't carry soy but do carry almond milk. I gave it a try and wow....the flavor, the heart shape in the foam and the richness was unbelievable!!! This place is a must.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.