We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar

Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar
3343 main st. Suite F, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 000 0000
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Tinley Park, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a great place for those that enjoy great coffee! The decor is simple, clean and sophisticated like the coffee. There was a group of five us so we had to wait for everyone's drinks, but it was worth it. Each cup of coffee is handcrafted and that takes a few minutes, but who doesn't need to take a few minutes to sit back and relax. I would definitely go back if I was in the area again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    21
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful and modern, this place is a breath of fresh air in Mammoth. Because I'm vegan, I normally order soy lattes and they don't carry soy but do carry almond milk. I gave it a try and wow....the flavor, the heart shape in the foam and the richness was unbelievable!!! This place is a must.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great cup of brew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great coffee, little slow because each cup is hand crafted, so it is nice to slow down and enjoy it..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Best in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This spot has the best coffee in Mammoth that I tried. It is fresh ground pour over coffee made upon order. There is no burnt taste. People are generally use to the burnt and over-brewed coffee rather than the true flavour.

The atmosphere is minimalistic, but that is fine with me. Great wood furnishings. Staff was friendly and nice. Do not have much food offerings, but what I had was really good. Free wifi.

It would be nice to have a larger size for coffee, but that can be the only complaint.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for morning coffee. Interesting place, a little bit stark and open but the coffee was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.